We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steaks ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cool Hand Lukes

Cool Hand Lukes
Ranked #6 of 96 Restaurants in Tulare
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Step back in time at "The Coolest Joint in Town", for a taste of the Old Wild West. Featuring the best in Steaks, Ribs, Chicken and Prime Rib,Seafood & more. Cool Hand Luke's promises large servings, a full wine list, a one of a kind saloon and the best dining value available. Open for dinner 7 days a week, and open at noon on Sundays. Happy Hour All Day Everyday! "Every Guest Leaves Happy"
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best steaks ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is by far the best restaurant in Tulare. The ribeye and skirt steak are excellent, as well as the calamari. Great dinner salads and rolls. We go here every month. Treat yourself.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    53
    21
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ok Food But An Excellent Tume”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The atmosphere was very good. It took awhile to get in even though I called ahead and made a reservation.

Our server was Excellent! She made the evening. The good was flavorful but I wasn't impressed with the quality of the meat.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Rib-eye steaks and Prime-rib dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I always enjoy eating at this Cool Hand Lukes restaurant. The service is very good. The bar seems to always be busy during football season as several televisions broadcast the games. There is a happy hour nit to be missed. The best part is the great food. The beans and sourdough bread appetizer nearly fills you up before your main course arrives. The prime rib and rib-eye steaks are cooked to perfection and if you can squeeze a desert down, they have some of the best. Prices range from $12.00 for a dinner and up depending on what you order. It is a good family restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leachwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Evening drink before bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Comfortable and welcoming for drinks before bed. Children very welcome. Evening meal little expensive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nastiest Ribeye special for $35.00?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

To begin with On 09/01/12 We arrived at their building which is behind a building off the main road.So if your walking from the Comfort Inn As we did not only is it a little scary (the neighborhood) but you could die trying to cross the road. It was a bit crowded when we arrived and was greeted as if we were looking for a handout instead of dropping a $100. We were told the wait would be considerable and we should go to the bar and be seated right away which we did and were, the bar was not crowded at that time. My wife ordered the Prime Rib for 20 something and I got the best I was told a rib eye special no price was mentioned and with the noise level getting louder and just off the road after 8 hours I neglected to ask. Well the steaks arrived w/o the orders of onion and mushrooms and only the second time my waitress made an appearance. Well wifey stated her steak was OK and mine tough stringy as if the steaks were aged on the hoof instead of hanging. when I finally got hold of my waitress as she was chatting with the bartender I complained she stated she'd see what she could do, after waiting another 10 minutes my wife almost done with her steak mine looking at me wondering if it was for comsumption or shoe leather as I was. Well I finally got their attention by knocking the A1 sause off the table and it breaking on the stone floor. When I got someone I again asked politely to have a new steak or the manager I got the look, waited another 5 minutes. No show and seeing i haven't eaten all day my blood sugar low rage high I had to eat or pass out So I ate the nasty thing and never saw staff again. I felt sick and left maybe the food didn't poison me and maybe it did. As I later found out the mrs. paid the bill as she is a gently person and not only doesnt confront anyone she had me sick outside. when I found out later (doing bills) that garbage cost me $35.00 (the steak) I just had to write and tell the world.. I know they wouldn't reimburse me and I know they will if they even bother to answer this say that we never ever knew...I say BS If others had a better experience then me and better food review I say you don't get out much and don't expect much for your money. There is a place next to the comfort inn that looks like a greasy spoon but they do know how to cook I'd go there folks and save yourself $40. this place lives on its name and drinks maybe not on its cooking. Cost to me 2 steaks and two cups of coffee $70.00

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank neohiobiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cool Hand Lukes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing