We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still serving up GREAT American Food”
Review of Apple Annie's

Apple Annie's
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Tulare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fresh and bursting with flavor is what Apple Annie's has to offer. We are located in the Central Valley of California serving the greater City of Tulare. We provide great tasting food that's prepared fresh with the highest quality of ingredients. Treat yourself today with a nutritious meal from our delicious menu. At Apple Annie's you are sure to enjoy the great atmosphere, friendly service, and affordable prices.Take your taste buds on an unforgettable journey at Apple Annie's
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Still serving up GREAT American Food”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

When traveling through California, we normally plan our trips so we can have lunch or dinner and then breakfast after spending the night in Tulare. We have NEVER been disappointed in the food here or the service. There are huge portions so splitting a meal is a good option for most eaters. The ambiance is kind of "country kitchen" type, there are booths which are large and comfortable. For your entertainment there is a model train that travels around the restaurant on tracks elevated well above the tables where everyone can get a good look. Have eaten here many time before and will continue to do so as long as the food & service stays top quality. This should be rated the top restaurant in Tulare (IMHO)....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    85
    30
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Baseball Regionals”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews on Apple Annies and I think the reviews do not give this place enough credit. This place is an old school atmosphere, the service was excellent. Our drinks were never half empty. The food is Diner Food but it was very good. This place was very clean. If you want good diner food this a good place to go.

Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
367 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“surprise!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

great food and service. after Ihop experience this was great. fresh fruit and great breakfast potatoes. felt like a local, line of bikes parked out front-biker friendly decor dated, the 80's weren't the old days for me, but my kids would enjoy it. eat mucho leave filled

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmosphere, Great Staff, Great Owner”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

While driving up from San Diego to our home in Northern California, we spent the night in Bakersfield and the set out for brunch in this gem of a restaurant off of Hwy 99 in Tulare, CA.

Taking its name from the character, Apple Annie, in the 1961 movie, “Pocketful of Miracles”, this restaurant has incorporated this theme in its menu, décor and famous desserts and apple muffins.

The menu is basically a better version of a Denny’s or iHop with better food and very reasonable prices – frequently cheaper that those other two.

Most of the staff are very long term because they are treated very well by the owner (who was not only chatting with guests but also assisting the staff in serving foods, pre-bussing and doing whatever it took to lead by example and do what was best for the guests and his staff.

If you are ever planning to drive up Hwy through Tulare, be sure to stop at Apple Annie’s!

Note: Last I saw, they were open 6 AM – 9PM Monday – Saturday but they were only open from 6AM – 3PM on Sunday.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“not much more than a diner”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

As a couple of recent reviewers noted, I was also expecting more based on some glowing reviews here. Apple Annie's menu is nothing more than a typical diner (sandwiches, breakfast, a few entrees, some 'Mexican specialties', appetizers) - offering lots of choices, but not necessarily specializing in any of them.

We ordered zucchini fries as an appetizer, a couple of different sandwiches and chili, and all were OK. Nothing great, but not too bad, either.

Service was quick and friendly and the restaurant was clean. Soft drinks were fine and refilled as needed.

Overall, an OK place if you're looking for a sandwich or quick bite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeandGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Annie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing