We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this World Cupcakes”
Review of Treat Box Bakery

Treat Box Bakery
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Truckee
Restaurant details
Oakley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Out of this World Cupcakes”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

When I walked into this bakery I was instantly in heaven!! I was there to pick up 150 cupcakes for a wedding reception, but was ever so tempted to try EVERYTHING in there. I will be sure to stop there next time I'm in town!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, CA
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Best burger and donuts in town”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We've stopped in from time to time for some fresh, yummy donuts (they have cakes, pie and ice cream as well), and burgers. Again a friend told us about their burgers and how good they were so we finally gave it a try and we'll be back. Best burger we have had that we didn't make ourselves in a long time. We'll be back!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ggintruckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Yummy, old school donuts, cakes, pastries & sandwiches”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Every eatery does not have to be decorated contemporarily or brimming with the latest culinary bites to be GOOD. Treat Box has neither of these, but what it does have are traditional, old school donuts (maple bars, chocolate, jelly-filled), super fun cookies for kids (made in the shape of bears, fish, etc. with colorful icing), coffee cakes, sheet cakes (again, think basic with sugary-goodness frosting) & even bagel & croissant breakfast & lunch sandwiches. No, you are not going to be wow'ed when you walk in & look around, but you will be when you try the pastries if you accept them for what they are (simple, basic, traditional).
We have been coming here for at least 30 years & have never been disappointed. But, we've also never expected Treat Box to be what it is NOT (a modern bakery with cutting-edge pastries). We even wentsofar as to have them create a "donut wedding cake" for us 6 years ago & each donut was warm when delivered & delicious.
But, if people want to give negative reviews for this basic but tasty, backstreet find-- well, that's ok. Just means less tourists will visit one of our secret places!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent donuts, Truckee classic”
Reviewed February 27, 2010

IF you like FRIED donuts, apple fritters, etc. this is an excellent place. If you don't as the prior reviewer clearly didn't, stay away. They have been in business in Truckee for as long as I can remember, so at least 30 years. They are a local favorite breakfast stop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a1anlosaltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ugh.Miserable bakery. Have no idea how they can stay in business. Commercial bakery without much pride in their...”
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Ugh.Miserable bakery. Have no idea how they can stay in business. Commercial bakery without much pride in their product, err baked goods. :-(

Helpful?
1 Thank twm3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treat Box Bakery also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Treat Box Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing