We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Truckee Donner Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stayed here for 1 night in May.
well, this is an outdated facility, but they were rennovating the last floor. The place is well kept. My room was clean, and had a nice view to the woods.
The breakfast was fine. The only problem I had was the price I paid . Well, it's Tahoe area and everything is expensive !

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Truckee Donner Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 233 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

I planned a trip to visit my friend in Donner area for his birthday. I was traveling with my family. It was going to be a Fri-Sat-Sun thing, so we made the Advanced Guaranteed Reservations. These are completely non-refundable for ANY reason, but on the other hand, they guarantee your room "regardless of the time of your arrival."

We were unable to make it up on Friday night but did arrive on Saturday. When we went to the hotel, we were told that there was no vacancy for us. When I told the front desk clerk that we had prepaid for a guaranteed reservation, she just smiled at us and said "It doesn't work that way" with the definite implication that we were mere retards to her. When I asked for a refund based on the fact that they sold our room out from under us, we were refused flat out. The "manager" wasn't available, and calls to Travelocity proved to be as satisfying as talking to a con artist. We were put on hold, passed on to someone else, and when push came to shove, they could neither give us a refund, nor find us other accomodation. So much for that laughing garden troll and his jolly antics... and their assurances that they will "make it right, right away!"

Travelocity was horrible to deal with, and Holiday Inn Express franchise, run by McDermid-Hoseit Corporation was equally callous and just downright infuriating.

Unfortunately, there were no other accomodations in the town that night, and we ended up crashing in the car in my friend's driveway -- his place was filled to overflowing with other birthday party guests, including his mom and dad from out of town.

The long and the short of it is this: the hotel does NOT honor its commitment to guaranteed reservations, and their attitude is basically, "Tough break sucker". It was only after the weekend was over, and more phone calls, and faxes to Travelocity customer service, that we received a refund for the night we did not stay.

AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS. If you make a reservation, you may just arrive with no place to go, and no room waiting for you. It happened to us, it could very well happen to you, someday, sometime.

When you are in the area, please do stop by and tell them their "rip-off" reputation precedes them.

I can document all of this if anyone dares to challenge the veracity of my statements.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoGus2SantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This is a nice hotel for skiing at Sugar Bowl, located about 15 minutes away. They also sell discount tickets to the local ski resorts .... and the tickets for Sugar Bowl include their 2009 weekday special of free lesson and rental with lift ticket.

Many motels catering to skiiers get absolutely abused by the weather and snow and equipment. But, the HI express looks pretty good. The rooms are in good condition - carpets not stained, walls not scratched, furniture not damaged. The rooms are large and include coffee maker, mini refrigerator and microwave oven.

It was nice to have a hot breakfast of eggs, meat, various breads (bagels, english muffins, bread, cinnamon rolls) and coffee/tea/cocoa, plus fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, milk. Not outstanding, but good enough to fill your stomach before skiing. The items were kept well stocked and the area cleaned. Yes, the breakfast room is a bit small, but trays are provided if you want to take the meal back to your room .... and take-away bags are available.

In the afternoon/evening, chocolate chip cookies are also provided - one of the best I've tasted. Not too sweet, and crispy !

Staff were very helpful. After having a full house the previous night, they worked to get us checked in by around 10am. We had some questions about the discount lift tickets and they immediately called for us. The wireless works well and they do have one desktop in the lobby in case you don't bring a laptop.

We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but several skiiers did take advantage of them.

There is one restaurant nearby, but it was closed. There are several restaurants about 10 minutes away, as well as a Safeway and Rite-Aid and gas stations.

All in all, a convenient place to stay with decent amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

This was an average economy hotel. Our room reeked of air freshener but was pretty big. There aren't a lot of restaurants within walking distance. It was fine for an overnight.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank zxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

The Holiday Inn Express Truckee is your typical HI Express. it is located adjacent to the Donner lake state park in the North Tahoe region. the hotel was clean and the staff was nice. there was a problem with the power for the breakfast area, the circuit breaker triped a couple of times during the week.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank palmettostateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

During my snowboarding trips to Northstar, Sugar Bowl, and Squaw Valley, I've stayed at the Best Western, Hampton Inn, and HI Express. They're all pretty similar, but I like the HI Express the best.

First, I usually find that the HI Express is the cheapest of the three. The rooms at the HI Express are much larger than the ones at the Hampton Inn. The service has also been friendly and efficient. The rooms have been comfortable, clean, and are in excellent shape. The free wireless Internet is fast, and easy to access.

My only complaints are about the breakfast. The quality isn't that great, the seating area is too small, and their coffee is horrendous. But, it's still a great, comfortable stay after a fun day of snowboarding.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank triiiangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights. It was a very nice, quiet, clean and comfortable room. The breakfast was pretty good too. It was located relatively close to Royal Gorge where we xc skied. Also, it is about a half hour from north Lake Tahoe. My only minor complaints were a couple of the people who work there were not very friendly -- and we were promised chocolate chip cookies every afternoon and they were available only one of the four. No biggie.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank shastabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 13 in Truckee
83 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,873 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
6.5 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truckee Donner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truckee Donner Lodge

Address: 10527 Cold Stream Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-0513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range: $140 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Truckee Donner Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Truckee amidst mountains, lakes, alpines and meadows, the Truckee Donner Lodge is a warm relaxing space so you can rest and recharge. Our lodge combines modern luxuries and contemporary decor with the traditional amenities and architecture of a country lodge. Whether you are on the ultimate ski vacation, traveling for business or just need a weekend getaway, the Truckee Donner Lodge offers exceptional amenities.Our guest rooms and feature rooms are simple and serene. Each appointed with a large flat screen TV, refrigerator, coffee pot, wet bar and microwave. Complimentary hi-speed wireless access is available throughout the lodge.Share your day's activities with friends in our lobby with fireplace; or, relax your muscles and admire the stars from our Hot Tub. Cool off during the warm summer days in our outdoor pool—the views of the alpines are magnificent.Wake up each morning to a deluxe Hot Continental Breakfast. Our breakfast bar offers a wide variety of choices including hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit yogurt, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, bagels, toast, and muffins.It’s all delicious, all complimentary and all waiting for you at the Newly Remodeled Truckee Donner Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Truckee Donner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truckee Donner Hotel Truckee
Holiday Inn Truckee
Truckee Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing