We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Truckee Donner Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$203
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$649
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$205
$175
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
65
99
40
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
99
40
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkyogurtdonerconvenient locationour room was spaciousstayed one nighteasy accessclean hotelmemorial day weekendpleasant staytahoe cityhot tubfree breakfastoff the highwaycoffee makerwould stay here againskiing
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 233 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I found the staff to be excellent, friendly, and very knowledgeable of the are. The rooms were very clean, well appointed, and quiet. They had a great complimentary breakfast!!!
Would highly recommend and plan on returning next month....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Jon B,

Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review of our lodge. As you experienced, our staff team works really hard to meet and exceed our guests expectation. I am glad we exceeded your expectations and look forward to seeing you in August. Thank you so much for staying with us we truly appreciate the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was photographing all day and was not able to book a room until 10:00 PM. Fortunately this lodge had one room left with a King bed on the third floor across from the elevator ($116/night). The woman at reception was pleasant. The room was clean and very basic, with ample towels, a choice of pillows (soft and medium). The room had a refrigerator and coffee pot. Breakfast was what you would find at a Holiday Inn, on a reduced scale; self-serve, small dining area in lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesPicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear LesPicker,
Thank you for your review. I am glad that our staff was able to accommodate you at such a late hour as July is a very busy month for us. It sounds as if you had a good stay with us. Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over 4th of July. Hotel was busy, however service was very efficient. Rooms are clean and beds are super comfy. Nice and close to Donner Lake and downtown Truckee. We did not use the pool area. It did look very nice and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memoies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Memoies,
Glad you had a wonderful stay! Our staff really works hard to give our guests the best experience. Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, arrived late at night, the older lady at the desk was so very helpfull to our family. She brought extra towles, pillows for our family at 2 am in the morning, she ialso very informative about the local area. The rooms were clean, the breakfast filling... We will be back as long as Lisa is at the front desk!
Joan and Jack from Michigan

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Brenda H,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our lodge! Our staff team is very guest focused and we are glad that they exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. Truckee is a wonderful area and hope you were able to enjoy all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I originally picked this hotel for the price and was not expecting much. But was pleasantly surprised it was so clean and quiet. Not a lot of amenities as far as gym or spa etc. But the pool was clean and peaceful. It is right next to the freeway and we heard NO freeway noise. The breakfast was simple but filling. You can walk to the State Park next to the hotel and to store and food. A bit of a walk but not far. Hotel was quiet. Did not hear a lot of noise from other guests. I would highly recommend and will be back to stay again. Great value for families.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neenach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Neenach1,
Thank you for staying with us and our pleased that we exceeded your expectations. Our goal is to provide our guests with a great stay and accommodations. Being next to the State park is one huge benefit to our guests. They have excellent trails which is just footsteps from our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Check out our website at www.truckeedonnerlodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews