We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Truckee Donner Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$214
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $409/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $487/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Redlight(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$1,289
$1,160
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort at Squaw Creek(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village At Squaw Valley(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
$224
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
65
99
40
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
99
40
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkyogurtdonersugar bowlconvenient locationour room was spaciouseasy drivestayed one nightclean hotelmemorial day weekendpleasant staytahoe cityhot tubfree breakfastoff the highwaycoffee makerwould stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 233 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived later in the evening, were warmly welcomed to a lovely, relaxing, very clean, comfortable accommodations. The beds were like floating on clouds. Even though the facility was full we never heard any noise and we had a room by the elevator. The breakfast selection was good and varied. Coffee was excellent. We will definitely stay there in the future and highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear PJW,
Thank you for sharing you review of our Lodge on Tripadvisor. We are always glad to hear when we exceed our guests expectations. We hope to see you back in Truckee soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

While planning a road trip from Sacramento, I searched for hotels close to Lake Tahoe. I read reviews about this one and booked it. We arrived very late at night. The hotel was nice in appearance on the outside and was nice on the inside. The desk person was very pleasant as well. The room was very nice...we only stayed one night, but I could have stayed there much longer. I woke to a view of a bright, blue sky and large pine trees from the big window...and I got up to see that there is a stream out back as well.
The hotel was easy to find and very convenient for driving to/from Lake Tahoe. The breakfast area isn't huge, but there is plenty of seating and the hotel offered enough food like any other Holiday Inn type hotel.
No need to wonder about this hotel...for the price, location, and proximity to Tahoe, this is your best bet. I'm working on another trip to Lake Tahoe and plan to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Y. R.,
Thank you too for your great review and comments about our hotel and service. We look forward to seeing you on your return trip and if there is anything we can do to improve our service and value category rating, please let us know. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We come back to the Truckee Donner Lodge every Memorial Day Weekend to enjoy a comfortable place to stay while we produce the Truckee Home and Building Show just a mile down the road. It is so impressive to see the same friendly staff throughout the hotel each year. They truly know how to keep good people. The staff is accommodating, warm and extends themselves during our stay in so many ways. During our recent trip we called for a 3 a.m. wake-up call to get out for an early departure fishing excursion. We were so touched when we came down to the lobby to find that breakfast had been set out early just for us. This is the kind of personal care that has kept us coming back for about six years now. Additionally, the rooms a nicely appointed and very clean. The beds are comfortable. We get good Wi-Fi reception and there is nice working space in our room. Breakfast is great, offering a good selection of hot and cold entrees including fresh fruit. The location is excellent being right on the edge of Donner Memorial State Park for hiking and water recreation, while still centrally located near everything in the Town of Truckee. We enjoy walking along the river that exits from Donner Lake and flows right along the side of the Lodge. On this trip we were able to see a beaver dam crossing the waterway. Being right off Hwy 80, it is quick to head over to Lake Tahoe, up to Donner Summit or even down to Reno.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Pam N,
Wow, thank you for the awesome, detailed review about your recent stay. We always look forward to having you stay with us! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband & I took a train ride to Truckee, on May 2013, & stayed at the Truckee Donner Lodge. We enjoyed our stay over there. It is a good value. The rooms are of good size, clean & nicely decorated. The staff are very friendly & helpful. It is in a good location, right off I-80, and more importantly in spring, it is close to a lot of trail heads. It's, also, close to Donner Lake. They serve a free, good breakfast--eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuit & gravy. The only thing it lacks, which I wished they have, is a restaurant & bar nearby. For this reason, I gave it a a rating of 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Tripper121212,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff works really hard to give our guests a wonderful experience. The restaurants are all in close driving distance but many of our guests enjoy being next to the hiking areas just steps from our front door, We hope when you come back to Truckee, you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Truckee Donner Lodge. This is actually the old Holiday Inn Express. It is very conveniently located right off I-80, and is 2 exits West of the main Truckee shopping / restaurant area.

The hotel is clean and functional, with a decent breakfast (bagels, eggs, cereal, etc...standard Economy hotel fare) and complementary wifi with good connection speeds. There is also a pool and hot tub.

The hotel is very convenient to Sugar Bowl and not too bad for Squaw, etc.

Overall, an excellent choice for overnight stays while skiing, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivekSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckeedonnerlodge, General Manager at Truckee Donner Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear VivekSub,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, We are very glad we met your expectations and found us to be an excellent place to stay for Truckee and Sierra activities. We hope to see you again soon.

P.S. We hope you take advantage of all the summer activites in the Sierras!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews