We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Greenwood Resort - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Truckee Donner Lodge(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$149
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$196
$174
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$149
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Donner Lake Village(Truckee)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
21
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa great place to spendgreat fitness centerworkout roomtahoe mountainvillabedroompoolaccommodationstoiletriesnorthstarsnow
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 29 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We actually stayed in a custom cabin within the community, but were able to use all the Old Greenwood resort amenities for a rental fee ($250 per week) for all of us who stayed in the cabin (a total of 10 of us). The Pavilion is very nice. We all had dinner at the restaurant, my wife and her sister had a spa treatment (which they said was amazing) and my kids enjoyed the kids room and the spa (which they keep nice and warm after skiing). Even though we didn't stay in the townhomes that they rent (which prices are way higher) we were able to take advantage of the FREE shuttle that took all of us from the cabin we were staying at to Northstar ski resort, and they picked us up and brought us back to the cabin later that day. I've heard Old Greenwood is amazing during the summer (the pool and golf course), but we still had an amazing time here. We found the cabin we rented on craigslist and were extremely satisfied with the cabin and our stay. I think the website is crownpointpm .com. All in all...Highly recommend Old Greenwood.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We spent a week at Old Greenwood last summer after spending a few days with friends the year before. It is the premiere Tahoe destination in my opinion. Summer days at Old Greenwood are incredible. I would hit the gym every morning. It's a first class gym with top quality equipment. We then would hike or bike a little bit. We would then hit the pool by 11:00ish. The pool area is a dreamland for kids... and adults. Just a great place to spend the day. At night you can leave the kids at the child's center or hang out at your cabin. Just an incredible place. Oh ya, and the golf course isn't so bad either! I highl recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DodgerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We are actually still here at Old Greenwood. We've been snowed in here and rained in here a few days out of our week here (we are here on a fractional trade) and we are sooo impressed by this place. First of all, the service is top-notch. Winter is their slower season but this place is still well-staffed. They cleared out our driveway daily (when needed) and were on top of moving snow so we could all get in and out of the property. The Pavillion (their lodge) was great. They have a heated pool which we used and jacuzzi. Everyone here was so friendly and very helpful. We travel a lot and don't get this kind of service in Mexico. This was like being at the Four Seasons. Our Townhome was a 3 bedroom, 4 bathroom with a 2 car garage. This place was HUGE. There was only three of us and we didn't even go upstairs. Few fireplaces in the rooms which we used a lot. I can't say enough about this place. We are told by everyone here that this place rocks in the summer. It has a Jack Nicklaus golf course and so much to do with the kids. The other benefit we had was going to Northstar to board you get to use the Alpine Club (they are a ski valet) where you can lounge and you have to be a member to get into. You can keep your gear here overnight and relax here when you are done on the mountain. Also, the member card gets you to Schaeffer's Camp mid mountain which is a MUST. Again, high end but not stuffy. You take off your boots and put on slippers, they even have little slippers for kids of all ages. The service here was great. The guys at Alpine, Bruce & Guy treated us all like kings. Their Lodge has a great fitness center with daily classes, a restaurant and a spa. Also, kids room with games, pool table and computers. Also, free internet in your home/villa. Lots of organized activities (snowshoeing, snowmobiling, kids movie night, kids camp, etc.)

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelPro4You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

I saw a review of Old Greenwood on this site complaining about service and cleanliness, and could not disagree more. We have had a fractional since last year, and have stayed there 4 times. Every time the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, service at the pavillion restaurant area was great, and the cabin we stayed in was clean and beautiful. These are not your typical beat-up or run-down cabins you quite frequently find in the Tahoe area; they are luxurious and if all you wanted to do, was sit around and look out your window, you wouldn't be happier. We have not used the childcare (our kids are 12 and 15), but find it hard to believe staff members are throwing children from buses as stated in the other review . . .. I am not even really a golfer (yet), but would recommend Old Greenwood to anyone who is interested in a high quality Tahoe resort experience.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank Not-ez-2-plz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

This is a review of the resort at Old Greenwood and not the golf course.
If you do not care about child safety or good service, then you don't need to read any further.
The resort has been extremely disappointing. Service is not the top priority. The cleaning service is very unpredictable. We have had been checked into townhomes where the showers have a thick amount of mildew on the tiles and the glass doors. Additionally, we found dirty sheets in the master bedroom with a man's underwear tucked into them. When we complained, the management made us feel like we were expectin g too much. The service by the pool is equally bad. On the weekends, it takes hours to get service and when they finally come around, young rude waiters come to wait on you. On the weekdays, there's no pool service for the common people. But I consistently saw a few families being waited on hand and foot. I think these people must be the ones that haven't actually bought a fractional at the resort yet. If you've already bought a fractional here, you're treated like dirt. Finally but most importantly, the childcare is not safe. DO NOT PUT YOUR CHILD IN THE CAMP!!! Their safety standards are not high. We saw one poor boy get sent to the hospital after being thrown from one of the buses they use to transport the kids to and from their camp activities. This place is ridiculous. I'm giving them 2 stars only for the location and the golf course that my husband loves.

2  Thank TravelsAl0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews