We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B is wonderful surpassed only by the owner's hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Truckee B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband, myself and 21 year old daughter stayed here for four nights. Mary and Tino are the most cordial owners of any B & B we've ever stayed at. Mary made the
greatest breakfasts and we took the opportunity of take a sunset cruise on Donner
Lake. We brought two friends along and Mary, Tino, my family and friends all had a
wonderful time. Our friends and we are thinking of returning for a week to enjoy beautiful
Donner Lake and Tahoe as well as Donner Lake Inn and the hospitality provided by
Mary and Tino. This is a great place to stay if you are in the Tahoe/Donner area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DL2010Litleton_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

Everything was well arranged, and the innkeepers were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie75Berkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Inn in the "Sanford Court" room. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a smile. Mary and Tino are very warm and accommodating innkeepers. The room was quiet, clean and cozy and the breakfast was spectacular. Though I have no other B&B experience to compare it to, I am almost afraid to try another elsewhere in fear of disappointment. The Inn is easy to find and very close to downtown. It’s within walking distance to Donner Lake and many restaurants. I would definitely stay again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalfani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My husband, 3 year old son, and I had a memorable stay at the Donner Lake Inn over the Easter weekend. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted so warmly from Mary, she offered us drinks and snacks right away and really succeeded in getting my family to unwind in her home! After chatting with Mary that first night, my husband and I returned to our room feeling like we've known Mary for years, like she was part of our family!
We stayed in the Kensington Room, which was cozy, especially liked the gas fireplace in the room.
Breakfast was delicious! Pancakes from scratch, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, it was all good.
The location was great, easy Hwy 80 access, and very close to downtown Truckee.
Somehow the Easter bunny managed to find us at Donner Lake Inn, the eggs were waiting to be found at 7:30 in the morning! Our son was so delighted-he has not stopped talking about his "hunt"! (Thanks, Mary)
We were so pleased with our stay, we can't wait to go back and create new family memories-the Donner Lake Inn will be included as part of our annual snow trip tradition!

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank MADB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

There is a reason this B&B is the highest-rated in the area - comfortable rooms, great location, friendly host, tasty breakfast, convenient location. While she makes it seem effortless, Mary clearly works hard to make sure her guests have a fantastic stay - no request is too small and there are too many nice touches to list here. She welcomes guests with open arms. I can definitely see making a visit to this B&B a yearly event...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CowGirlCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We just returned from 3 nights at the Donner Lake Inn and had a fabulous time. The location is minutes off of Hwy 80, right across the street from Donner Lake and only about a 10 min drive from Sugar Bowl Ski Resort. Mary was super accommodating and makes the BEST breakfasts (and afternoon snacks and cookies). Our son loved all the snow play area around the Inn and going up to the main room to watch a movie on the big screen. We met some other friendly visitors, ate tasty food in Truckee (per Mary's recommendations) and had a great time enjoying all the fresh snow. I would highly recommend The Donner Lake Inn for a great getaway - we look forward to trying it out over the summer!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We spent the Valentines weekend at the Sqrirrel's Nest cabin from Donner Lake Inn. We had a good time, we felt that we were home away from home...I had never slept in such a COMFORTABLE bed away from home...their beds are AWESOME!!! The cabin is very cozy and hommy and it has evrything that you need...just bring your own food and you are ready to have a wonderful time.

Mary and Tino were very friendly and welcome us rightway, explained us how to get around in town and how evrything work at the cabin. They have the best collection of DVD over 200...something for everyone!

We went with our 11 yr old daughter (it was her bday) and our 17 months baby boy, beside my best friend, her hubby and 3 kids.

We are planning in going back...if you are thinking in staying there call them and make that reservation you wont regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mely1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
9.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 13 in Truckee
83 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Donner Lake Village
Donner Lake Village
#8 of 13 in Truckee
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10070 Gregory Pl, Truckee, CA 96161-3643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range: $199 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain lodge across the street from Donner Lake sits on two acres of forest along Gregory Creek, just 2 miles off Interstate 80. Each guest room in a separate wing has a private entrance, gas fireplace, flat screen TV, and private bath. Families will appreciate comfortable public rooms with fireplace, books, games, free WiFi, and the year-round hot-tub. Public beach and boat launch are a block away, and major downhill and cross country ski areas are within a half-dozen miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing