We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Truckee B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Wonderful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Donner Lake Inn with our three student sons at the end of March. Paul and Mindy were fantastic hosts and incredibly welcoming. We found the rooms really comfortable and as there was still snow outside it was lovely to have gas controlled "log burners" in the rooms which you could regulate really easily. We were there principally to ski and it was very easy to get up to Sugarbowl. We were on the slopes in about 20 minutes and had the option to go to several other resorts.
Mindy is a fantastic cook. The evening cakes were delicious and the breakfasts absolutely fabulous. They definitely set you up for the whole day - even with teenage boys! We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful forest setting and facility with a warm and professional reception. It's been a quiet few days before the weekend crowd, so we've had special treatment. Of course, it is a great location just across the Donner Pass Rd from the lake but just far enough to get away from the highway noise of the infrequent traffic.

The common room is big and comfortable with a wood fire going and nice big screen TV. Breakfasts are superb and always freshly prepared for each seating. If you take a late seating you may not want lunch as the breakfast is so good.

This is the best B&B we've been to out of many very good B&B's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and it was amazing! The Oesterman's were great company, very accomodating and fantastic cooks. The rooms were nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. I have special dietary needs and Paul had restaurant menus to look at, even going as far as calling the restaurants to see if I could be accomodated. They also modified my breakfast, which filled me until dinner. They had recommendations of things to do, wonderful stories to tell, and boardgames they pulled out just for us. They even took a picture of us and emailed it to us to remember the trip by. My husband loved our stay and definitely plan on returning again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at the Donner Lake Inn B&B. This really was the ideal retreat for us. Mindy and Paul are living their dream as innkeepers. Paul was there over the weekend and Mindy was our hostess for the remainder of the week and we had the loveliest time. Mindy's warmth, attentiveness to our needs and good conversation made for an absolute treat. Every morning greeted us with delicious homemade breakfasts (and Mindy did an outstanding job accomodating to my husband's gluten free diet requirements, think fresh baked gluten bread and the like). An afternoon cup of tea or glass of wine with appetizers awaited us each day. Donner Lake Inn is nestled in the woods with a creek running at the back of the property, just a few feet from the hot tub. After each day of nordic skiing, we soaked our weary bodies and listened to the sounds of the nearby creek. Very nice. Our room was comfortable and cozy. This was the ideal retreat for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RifkaCaliforniaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We found the Donner Lake Inn B&B on TripAdvisor and thought wow... all 5 stars? I'm happy to report its all accurate and am enjoying the individuality and uniqueness of this comfortable wonderful special place. When in Donner stay here. Mindy and Paul will take care of you and respect your privacy... very pleased

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldygdvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Donner Lake Inn is a great get-away spot. It is not far from the bay area, but feels a million miles away. It is very peaceful, yet close to skiing, the cute town of Truckee and Donner Lake is a short walk away!
Each breakfast is a treat prepared fresh each morning. It was nice to return in the late afternoon and enjoy some wine and cheese in the great room.
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjorgies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent B & B with good access to Donner Lake. The B & B is well maintained with attractive rooms & common areas. The beds are comfortable and the linens and towels are of excellent quality. Thick robes are provided and the rooms are heated with gas burning stoves. There is a new hot tub on the property and we enjoyed it under the stars. The owners (Paul and Mindy) are relatively new owners but are everything you expect from the owners. They were very friendly and helpful and their personalities are great. They provided wine, cheese and crackers in the evening. The breakfast was fantastic and honored Vet's day with Red, White and Blue French Toast as well as other breakfast choices.
We have stayed at many B & B's and this ranks among the best that we have been at.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be comparable in amenities and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
9.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
9.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Donner Lake Village
Donner Lake Village
#10 of 14 in Truckee
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10070 Gregory Pl, Truckee, CA 96161-3643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain lodge across the street from Donner Lake sits on two acres of forest along Gregory Creek, just 2 miles off Interstate 80. Each guest room in a separate wing has a private entrance, gas fireplace, flat screen TV, and private bath. Families will appreciate comfortable public rooms with fireplace, books, games, and large-screen TV, free WiFi, and the year-round hot-tub. Public beach and boat launch are a block away, and major downhill and cross country ski areas are within a half-dozen miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing