We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could I not like a B&B on MY Street!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Truckee B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I have been the the Donner Lake Inn many times. We have stayed at "The Squirrels Nest" too... Love the hard wood former basketball floors. At the Inn, Tino has done a lot of upgrades over the years. It's always like spending the weekend with old friends. Food is always great.

Truckee is a fun town to shop in. There is a lot of history in the area. Skiing or boating or just a great hike by the lake is fun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the Inn with my small daughter during the holiday period between Christmas and NY. The place is really nice, Mary and Tino are very warm people and the inn itself is clean, tidy and cozy. Will stay there every time i plan ski vacation in the area

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickgpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here with my wife and four children a couple days before Christmas. My children particularly enjoyed the family room, which was festively decorated. While there was no snow, the kids were able to stay entertained with the countless DVDs and board games provided. My family also enjoyed the homemade breakfast that Mary, the hostess, prepared. The hosts were very welcoming and recommended numerous restaurants for our family to dine in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel95014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This inn is very welcoming. The beds are excellent and our room was quiet with a beautiful view into the trees on the property. The owners are very warm people and provide a lovely common space for reading. The deck off the breakfast/great room is very relaxing and a good spot to bird-watch! The great room is prettier than the photos on the website. This is a perfect place to stay when we want to be near downtown Truckee.

Room Tip: See the website.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rollster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband, myself and 21 year old daughter stayed here for four nights. Mary and Tino are the most cordial owners of any B & B we've ever stayed at. Mary made the
greatest breakfasts and we took the opportunity of take a sunset cruise on Donner
Lake. We brought two friends along and Mary, Tino, my family and friends all had a
wonderful time. Our friends and we are thinking of returning for a week to enjoy beautiful
Donner Lake and Tahoe as well as Donner Lake Inn and the hospitality provided by
Mary and Tino. This is a great place to stay if you are in the Tahoe/Donner area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DL2010Litleton_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Everything was well arranged, and the innkeepers were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie75Berkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Inn in the "Sanford Court" room. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a smile. Mary and Tino are very warm and accommodating innkeepers. The room was quiet, clean and cozy and the breakfast was spectacular. Though I have no other B&B experience to compare it to, I am almost afraid to try another elsewhere in fear of disappointment. The Inn is easy to find and very close to downtown. It’s within walking distance to Donner Lake and many restaurants. I would definitely stay again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalfani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
9.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 13 in Truckee
83 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Donner Lake Village
Donner Lake Village
#8 of 13 in Truckee
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10070 Gregory Pl, Truckee, CA 96161-3643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range: $199 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain lodge across the street from Donner Lake sits on two acres of forest along Gregory Creek, just 2 miles off Interstate 80. Each guest room in a separate wing has a private entrance, gas fireplace, flat screen TV, and private bath. Families will appreciate comfortable public rooms with fireplace, books, games, free WiFi, and the year-round hot-tub. Public beach and boat launch are a block away, and major downhill and cross country ski areas are within a half-dozen miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Donner Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing