We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Birthday & our Anniversary trip to Truckee. We absolutely loved the hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedar House Sport Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Save
You added The Cedar House Sport Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Birthday & our Anniversary trip to Truckee. We absolutely loved the hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Birthday & our 29th Wedding Anniversary Getaway surprise from my husband! We absolutely loved the hotel! The hotel room, hot tub, restaurant and customer service was all incredible. It's like a cozy mountain cabin with 42 rooms and friends who want to make sure you have a food time. We WILL be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blessed3025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    45
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
49
102
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I wasn't sure of what to expect with this hotel, as it seems I had booked one of the last rooms in the city (for a hotel that takes dogs). The room was spotlessly clean. They made us feel immediately welcome and even left a dog treat and a dog toy for our lab.

The only reason for not giving this a 5* is because the insulation between floors seemed a little thin as we were able to hear the person above us walking around most of the night. That said: we did not hear anyone in the rooms next to us, so the insulation in that regard seemed pretty solid.

I was also a little disappointed in the breakfast buffet, which looks phenomenal in the pictures, but disappointing in person (on the same scale as a 2* hotel: eggs in the warming tray, oatmeal, coffee, a couple of breads). We ended up eating breakfast in town both mornings instead of having the breakfast.

While breakfast was a disappointment, the "happy hour" was fantastic! No free wine, but great wine selection and nice anti-pasta choices (as well as cookies that were far too addicting!).

We will definitely return to this location if we are ever find ourselves back in the Truckee area.

Room Tip: If you don't have a pet, ask to be on the top floor (pet owners are on the ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved our stay. We made our reservation the day before our stay and upon arrival were upgraded to a nicer room. We were in a second floor king overlooking the inner courtyard which was very nice, I couldn't have picked a better room. Because our reservation was last minute the hotel's restaurant was booked for that evening. Instead we decided to go with pizza since we had just mtn biked for 4+ hours and were ready to just hang out. We were given a great recommendation and got a pizza to go and hung out in the lovely courtyard and had a quiet mellow evening. Although with so many great dining options in Truckee it felt a bit decadent just hanging out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved the place, dog friendly, owners always around and really care for the beautiful buildings. paintings from local artists, furniture is European, almost Swedish, coffee in am and wine in . Amazing restaurant on the property, Stella's. we loved our weekend stay and recommend to our friends. Rooms are nice size and quiet. Take a look at the architecture and all the building materials. Very unusual.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillOnaghAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

4 nights at the Ritz, ended up staying one more day and needed a place to sleep. We'd been to Stella earlier in the week (fantastic restaurant located on hotel property)and remembered the hotel had a cool vibe. Luckily, someone was cancelling their reservation on the other phone line at the same time we called. Score! We arrived just before 10pm to smiling faces at the front desk. They offered us water and power bars, and showed us to our room. Rooms are small, but efficient, with a super comfy bed! We enjoy the European style of duvets rather than sheets, but if you don't, they will gladly supply you with sheets. Great water pressure in the shower and nice snacks in the mini-fridge. The total bonus was the morning breakfast served in Stella! I enjoyed steel cut oats topped with an abundance of fruit, fresh baked brioche and some tasty sausage. Hubby had eggs, a veggie and potato hash, fresh squeezed OJ and several cups of coffee. We would return to this hotel again and again for the friendly atmosphere throughout!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchick14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I made a reservation based on previous Tripadvisor reviews, and my expectations were met. The owners, desk staff and housekeeping staff were most gracious. The breakfasts and happy hour offerings were quite good. The accommodations were more than adequate and quite comfortable. When I made the reservation, the room seemed a bit pricey, but compared to other hotels in the area, there is little comparison. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fourdiamondseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Cedar House in June 2013. This is a charming hotel with a emphasis on service and comfort. The owners are truly involved in the operation of the hotel and go out of their way to assure that guests enjoy their stay. The facilities are up to date and very clean. The owners have compiled a wonderful list of hiking trails and things to do and provide complimentary trail bars and water to support your journey. The included breakfast was excellent, with a wide variety of items to select and well prepared meals. I encourage guests looking for comfortable modern accommodations with charms and caring to consider the Cedar Sport Hotel for their vacation stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
4.2 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar House Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Sport Hotel

Property: The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Address: 10918 Brockway Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-2054
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#4 Family Hotel in Truckee
#4 Business Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Sport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar House Sport Hotel fuses innovative architecture with the best of contemporary design, creating 42 rooms and suites in a hip European style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedar Hotel Sport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing