We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Helpful, comfortable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedar House Sport Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Save
You added The Cedar House Sport Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Helpful, comfortable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here with a photography class late summer 2012. The hotel is tucked back off the old highway between Truckee and Lake Tahoe...easy to miss is you are driving by. No real views of the area from the hotel, but they have created a lovely garden experience in the courtyard. The rooms are somewhat spartan...decorated modern Euro style and the linens were soft and luxurious. The hotel is complemented by the associated restaurant STELLA...a wonder in this mountain community. Home made breads and pastries, excellent breakfast choices and dinners were divine....We haven't had food like this since we retired from the Bay Area. Staff is friendly, helpful. We enjoyed the late afternoon tea and appetizers also. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mszig11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    45
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
48
102
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rough and Ready
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

From check in to check out this was a wonderful experience! We enjoyed the afternoon cookies in the eco gorgeous lobby, and appreciated the lack of charge for water in the room (can't believe most places charge for WATER). Attention to detail is evident in all aspects of this facility. Love the linens and the shampoo/conditioner, provided teas and coffees, but mainly love the excellent service and Stella, the best hotel near Lake Tahoe. Highly recommend this hotel and restaurant. AND it's affordable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was beautiful and very interesting. The grounds are pretty and the view was wonderful. Breakfast was better when we got there earlier on Monday, rather than Sunday, but that's to be expected, I guess. The eggs were very dry and crumbly, but that's typical of restaurant eggs (don't put milk in scrambled eggs and that won't happen!) One problem I could see in the room was the tension pole they use for clothes hanging by the door...one piece of wood juts out and at my height (5'4"), and since it's a light color, it's not visible when you walk over and bend down to put something in the corner...three times I hit my head on it and nearly cut my scalp because it's sharp. That was not fun and made me pretty mad. Also, the refrigerator actually kept me awake with the very loud buzzing and whooshing noise it made. Sounded like a dishwasher, so I had to get up several times to turn the thermostat down so it would stop, but it was only temporary. Queen bed...not the same size as a US Queen, seemed like a Full (I bet it doesn't measure 60" across, probably 54" like a Full, mattress only, not the platform.
Dog treats and toys were great, dogs loved them, which is unusual because they are very picky about treats, but they gobbled them up. One dog bed had a large hole chewed in the cover, so I had to report it, to make sure they knew my dogs didn't do it.
We do appreciate how dog-friendly this place is and will definitely come back and stay, maybe next time in a King room or a suite, but this time was last minute, so that's all they had. Still a nice place to stay, even with the problems. The staff were super nice and friendly.

Room Tip: European beds are very small, try to get a King, since the Queen is more like a full. Too small for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonYamamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cedar House Sport Hotel combines the simple elegance of European design with a very attentive and friendly staff to ensure your stay there is terrific. The venue is exceptionally clean and well-kept. The grounds are meticulously maintained. Their onsite restaurant, Stella, crafts mouth-watering meals and desserts. Definitely a place to put on your must-stay list!

Room Tip: The hotel is dog-friendly but you must call ahead to confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixelPrincess_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just attended a wedding there and the hotel and its staff were all lovely. The couple who own this property takes care of it very well and welcome their guests like they are welcoming people into their home. The hotel is fairly new and the restaurant on site is excellent. Breakfast is usually included in the hotel fee and the rates for the rooms are very reasonable. We had a wonderful time here and would definitely recommend shelling out the extra $20-$30 for the larger suite-type rooms. The town of Truckee is only a 2 minute drive away (definitely drive as the road is dark and there is no sidewalk) and there are some great small town bars and restaurants to enjoy after a long day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great place! You immediately notice that the owner loves his place and want to give his visitors the ultimate experience. The rooms are more than pleasant, the service is superb, the five o'clock tea (no charge) is charming, breakfast is unusually reach and tasty, the architecture is wonderful. We also bought there ski passes in a reduced price to Squa-valley.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omerdekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very modern architecture. European style bedding and chic room. Excellent breakfast included at their restaurant, Stella. Local staff very friendly in hotel and restaurant.
Just outside historic town of Truckee about three quarters of a mile. Easiest to drive to town rather than walk. Sport oriented. Rates can be a tad high when compared with other hotels in the area. Excellent experience overall.

Room Tip: You don't want to look out upon the trailer park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mornayway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
4.2 mi away
Northstar Lodge, Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar House Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Sport Hotel

Property: The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Address: 10918 Brockway Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-2054
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#4 Business Hotel in Truckee
#4 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Sport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar House Sport Hotel fuses innovative architecture with the best of contemporary design, creating 42 rooms and suites in a hip European style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedar Hotel Sport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing