We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay In A Great Area!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay In A Great Area!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our kids and grandkids were in the Tahoe area for some skiing and my wife and I decided we'd escape from them for a day or two so we picked the Cedar House Sport Hotel which was just aorund the corner from their house. It was a great choice.

We've traveled extensively through Europe so the bedding, showers and other assorted items came as no surprise. Everything worked perfectly and our hosts were very accommodating to the few requests that we had. The included breakfast in the adjoining Stella Restaurant was a real treat, particularly since we had just spent two nights in one of the inexpensive chain motels that also provide an included breakfast. The only thing in common was the word "breakfast."

Room Tip: Everyting is set back from the road, so there probably is not much difference in the location of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edlexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    51
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
54
115
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

An amazingly peaceful setting and top drawer service and accomodation, this hotel definitely lives up to the hype ! We picked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews as ranked #1 in truckee area, for the last few years in a row. Located conveniently, it is upclose from the busy historical downtown Truckee for shopping and dining, and within a short 15 minute drive to Northstar Ski resort. We were a bit apprehensive at first, as this was our first time stay ever in Truckee/northstar area, for early-spring skiing. We were impressed the minute we walked into the lobby. Jeff and Patty are terrific hosts, and so are all of their wonderful staff who are exceedingly good at taking a lot of care and attention to details, making their guests feel well looked after and comfortable.
Our small family of three decided to stay three nights during the Easter weekend; we checked-in friday afternoon. Their website's winter special offer, gave us the 3rd night free. This was an icing on the cake. On saturday, there was a wedding booked in the hotel, so most of the rooms & suites were already booked, but we were lucky enough to get the last double queen room, although we definitely wanted the luxury suite. May be next time...
Everything, from their modern european furniture, the tall and high steel beam and wooden structure, to comfy german-bedding, felt all very warm, lovely and welcoming.
On Easter Sunday afternoon, we enjoyed taking a 3-hr. snowshoeing family-tour at the Northstar Ski and Telemark center. This scenic back country tour was a great outdoor workout. The hotel staff at the front desk can assist you with reservations to any nearby activities. They also offer discounted price for the ski lift tickets.
Best of all, they have complimentary full breakfast buffet that was so delicious and had plenty of healthy options. This has to be the best breakfast ever ! at any hotel. We were blown away, how they love to serve the best quality, locally grown and gourmet homecooked food.Their complimentary Hors d'oeuvres in the evening are to die for. The homemade cookies ( yummm), and their homemade Bread's aroma 'n taste are beyond compare.
Lastly, we enjoyed the easter night dinner at their on-site restaurant, Stella. Food & Wine Club famed Chef, Jacob Burton certainly has a menu item for every palate. Can get a bit pricey. But well worth trying. We ordered 3 different entrees. I actually wanted to try chilean seabass or any local caught specialty fish entree, but they weren't serving fish at the time. My lamb entree was a bit dry for a rare-medium cooked rack. All 3 of our entrees also lacked a side of fresh veggies. But we were hooked to their brick oven bread, baked fresh and tasted crusty heavenly. Our teenage son enjoyed the fabulous flourless chocolate dessert oh so very much; the best for the last. The waiter was super friendly and upbeat; before we left, he gave me a loaf of their famous bread and my son three lovely peanutbutter-choco balls with a hint of mint. Now, this is called service with a treat hard to beat !
All in all, this environmentally-friendly facility, that's built green, is also so very comfortable & hip. For making you feel right at home, We say Kudos to Cedar House for attaining such excellent hospitality. We surely will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTravelBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

the wine in the lobby, the duvet covers, the pet friendliniess, the little jacuzzi, the restaurant, all perfection. Best there is up in Tahoe. We love the games in the lobby, the modern chic decor, the people, warm and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medanichangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Or darn near. Very friendly and helpful staff and proprietor. Excellent full buffett breakfast at Stella with housebaked breads, porridge, eggs and good bacon. Well equipped liquour and coffee bar in the lounge and tasty cookies in the PM. The site's restaurant, Stella, has some of the finest food preparation we've experienced, but it's rich so be prepared.

Rooms are not large, but nice sized. Lobby decor is "Ski Lodge/Industrial" with innovative trusses and fittings connecting bold timbers. Room decor is "modern mood". Very nice linens with twin duvets on the queen sized bed. If you shop around, you'll find that the Cedar House has competitive rates, especially considering the amenities and service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Second floor is dog free, although the main floor rooms are well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

have stayed here three times now over a five year spread and they have maintained a high quality level. The rooms are nicely furnished and finished. I enjoy the bedding. It is nicely located in close proximity to ski resorts that we like to ski at.

Room Tip: The architecture fits nicely with the environment. A very "green" small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Cedar House Sport Hotel is really a fabulous property. We were there in October, which is the super slow season for the Tahoe area, but the staff still did everything to make us very comfortable. The restaurant wasn't opened, but the front desk person was nice enough to pour some wine and cocktails at the cute little bar in the main lobby.

We were traveling with our English Setter and they treated him wonderfully! Our room had a dog bed, and goodie bag complete with cookies, tennis ball, and poo bags.

The room was really comfortable. The bed was one of the best hotel beds ever. The decor was urban rustic, and felt really upscale but not too cold.

Cedar House is right across from the 50/50 brewery, which is a great restaurant. Next time, we definitely want to try Stella.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A very nice, dog friendly hotel with awesome customer support.
I usually stay at less expensive places but I went to Cedar house for a special trip and had a great time. Breakfast is delicious, the rooms are very comfortable and did I mention the wonderful customer service?

I have one tiny complaint.... We were in a double queen room. The beds are very cozy but I'm not sure why there are 2 skinny twin comforters per bed instead of a big queen? The beds would be much more comfortable with a large comforter and perhaps an extra twin for those who prefer more warmth.

Highly recommended if you are able to afford the rooms. Perfect for special occassion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
339 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
618 reviews
4.2 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar House Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Sport Hotel

Property: The Cedar House Sport Hotel
Address: 10918 Brockway Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-2054
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#4 Family Hotel in Truckee
#4 Business Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Sport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar House Sport Hotel fuses innovative architecture with the best of contemporary design, creating 42 rooms and suites in a hip European style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedar Hotel Sport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing