We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ski Destination for the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Ski Destination for the Family”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am a single father of four young skiiers. My oldest brought a friend and the six of us spent spring break in Iron Horse North. We rented a 1 bedroom unit for 6 nights. As part of the package we bought 4 lift tickets for each of us. That worked out perfectly. The accommodations were very nice. Each condo has its own ski locker at the building entrance which is very convenient. The locker was sufficient for our clan's 7 pair of skiis and a snowboard. Free parking in the garage under the condo is easily accessible.

Almost ski in ski out. It was about a 75 yard walk from our unit. They provide carts that skiis and such can be stacked on and pulled to the gondola. Sturdy carts that carried 6 pair of skiis and my princess. Great Bear lodge and Catamount lodge are closer (but further from the pool complex). The pool and hot tub complex is nice with locker rooms and a lounge area that has a pool table, foosball table seating and a big screen TV . There is also a work out room. We didn't use these as there are numerous activities in the village complex - shopping, ice skating, gas fire pits to roast marshmallows, pottery painting etc. The dining is ski resort priced but the condos have well appointed kitchens.

My only complaint was the dryer in our unit did not dry very well.

Great skiing btw. All in all this was a really good place to take the family for a ski vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you Matthew G for taking the time to review the Iron Horse Lodge for Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I do apologize that the dryer did not work to your satisfaction. Based on your review we did have our maintenance team take a look at the dryer to make sure it is working properly now. We hope to see you again this upcoming winter season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in summer and despite it being the quiet period, we loved the surroundings and amenities available.
The apartment we had was in the North side with a separate master bedroom, en-suite bath, kitchen area, dining and lounge with a balcony facing the ski village resort below. Kitchen was surprisingly well equipped with a dishwasher, oven, hob, 2 door fridge & freezer. Next to the entrance is a small utility cupboard with a Whirlpool washer & dryer opposite (detergent included!). This was super convenient as we arrived in the middle of a 15 day vacation around California and it was a welcome relief to have some clean laundry! The apartments are individually owned by private landlords, but managed like any hotel minus the daily cleaning service. Cleaning is complimentary for those staying 6 nights or more. Ours was rather carefully decorated with lots of wooden furniture & cabinets, a comfy leather sofa and arm chair. It also had a gorgeous fireplace for those cold winter nights. What more can one ask for?!

Carpark is located in a secured underground facility with lifts taking you directly to the apartments and Northstar village level (where all the shops and restaurants reside). The village has a cozy ski resort feel with plenty of sports shops for all those arriving without ski gear so no worries. Cafes and restaurants make this such a convenient locale. There is even a ice skating rink so those with little toddler can definitely enjoy a family holiday with plenty for everyone to do. Even saw a mini cinema next to the reception area.. The lift is 2 steps from the main entrance (and few more steps to apartment lift lobby) so I can't wait to book a week here in winter.

The resort is about 2 miles up Northstar drive and there isn't much around beside the village area. The closest attraction is about 5 miles away at the North tip of the lake where there are plenty more dining options and also a great Safeways which had some lovely staff who were so welcoming and chatty. We also played golf at Northstar which was 2-3 miles away, so bring your clubs if you are into golf (there are some superb courses around Tahoe).

Overall we had a fantastic time at Iron Horse Lodge, Northstar. My only gripe was the relative remoteness of the village but the accommodation more than made up for this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staceleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a wonderful stay & enjoyed the accommodations. Let us know when you'll be visiting next so we can pass along suggestions of nearby places to eat, shop, visit-- beyond those here, at the Village at Northstar.
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a great time very clean love the quiet atmosphere and there is so much to do around the area minutes from Lake Tahoe. We were able to go waterskiing, tubing, river float trip, mini golf, bungey trampoline, biking, swimming, hiking, roller skating, and the fitness area had a pool table and fuseball. The only thing we didn't get to do was ride gondolla to top of mountain there were lightening strikes and then a downpour of hail.

Room Tip: May want a two bedroom if you have kids I heard those come with bunk beds, we just had one fold out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to submit a review, LaurieB12. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay at the Village & hope you'll visit us again soon (& are able to enjoy a scenic gondola ride).
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vashon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Being steps from the gondola is a huge advantage. Having a ground floor ski locker is another plus. And how about two outdoor jaccuzi's and a steam room? Big kitchen in the condo and interesting restaurant choices very near.
Someone probably paid nearly a million bucks for this condo, (all these different condos seem to be managed by the same company, and some of them are nearer the gondola with more "romantic" views than Iron Horse..our place had a partial parking lot view), but for a reasonable rate, you can enjoy a lot of luxury. The bedrooms are small with incredibly big, comfortable beds (we had a two bedroom), kitchen opulent and bathrooms spacious. There were tiny signs of wear, which is expected, but worn carpets, tiny stains and tears in fabrics keep me from going with 5 stars. I booked through Expedia because I couldn't get a booking person on the phone after several tries and their website showed them full, which was not the case.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vashonsialnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're happy to hear you had a wonderful stay & enjoyed the great ski access from your residence. We hope to see you again this winter!
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here. We love the proximity to the ski slopes and nice village feel location with many shoppes and restaurants. fabulous decor. Only thing that I wish was that they should at least include cleaning service For one day out of the week to tidy up and clean bathrooms. Otherwise, it's perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesvacation97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for your review & feedback, lovesvacation97. We're so glad you've stayed with us twice & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

we stayed in a 4 bed unit in iron horse south in early January 2013. it was a fantastic experience. the unit had an exceptional fit out and northstar as a family ski destination is perfect. our group included 2 kids under 3, the village location worked really well for them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
We're happy you enjoyed your stay in Iron Horse & hope to see you again soon..
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Staying just 5 days at the Iron Horse in a 2 bedroom 3 bath unit made my 7 year old say he never wants to stay in a different hotel again. We all absolutely loved the unit. We've stayed in many condo-style places before, but the IH was the most comfortable and well-appointed by far.

We especially appreciated the attention to detail, in the room and by the staff. The room had everything we needed including full kitchen tools and amenities, bedroom furniture that included a chaise lounge, ample lighting fixtures, humidifiers, and very luxurious bedding. Truly felt like home. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Not to mention generous with the lobby coffee and hot chocolate for me and my family.

List of other great things: underground and secure parking, access to all Northstar Resort fitness centers and hot tubs/swimming, DVR on main tv, ski lockers, washer & dryer in unit, Northstar Village restaurants and shops, ice/roller skating.

Loved it so much, we're already planning to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spaek68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much Spaek68 for taking the time to provide a review of your visit with us at Iron Horse Lodge. We look forward to hosting a return visit for you and of course your 7 year old too! So glad he enjoyed his stay as well! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
7.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
24.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging

Property: Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
Address: 4001 Northstar Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Horse Lodge, slopeside in the Village at Northstar, offers luxurious one, two, three and four-bedroom condominium accommodations. Residences include a complete kitchen (or kitchenette), great room, fireplace (most) and outdoor terrace showcasing expansive views of the surrounding mountains or Village excitement. Located mere steps from the gondola and set among boutique shops and restaurants, Iron Horse Lodge guests have access to a year-round, heated, outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs, fitness centers, steam and locker rooms plus complimentary underground parking and private ski storage lockers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Iron Horse - Tahoe Mountain Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing