We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Nearby Hotels
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Truckee Donner Lodge(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$149
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$149
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donner Lake Village(Truckee)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
481
160
51
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
160
51
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast staffgreat hotelcomplimentary breakfastwafflesgas stationconvenience storestay there againthe breakfast areamountain lodgecookiesclean roomsfresh fruita great stayfront desk staffnorthstar ski resorteasy accessconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 718 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The wife and I traveled to Truckee for a weekend getaway. We found the room quite pleasant, clean and cozy with the gas fireplace. The staff was helpful and answered all of our questions. The arranged a cab for us that was very prompt. All in all I would give them an A+

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Jack & Wife,

Thank you for staying with us and posting such a wonderful critique.

You can't beat an A+ and that is for what we strive in all that we do. We stress to the staff that cleanliness is must, from of course the rooms, but also the front desk, and lobby. We are glad you found our hotel to be clean.

Hopefully another weekend getaway is in the works.

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Hotel is great and staff even better. Love the breakfast crew! Rooms are very nice and clean. The hallways and pictures in room filled with local knowledge. Ease of access to highway and Truckee. I love staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank phamic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for the great review and we appreciate the compliments. Clealiness is always #1 but it takes a great staff to make it all happen.

I believe that our staff is doing a great job, too. Everyone works together and our breakfast has really stepped up during the busy winter mornings.

We're so glad that you love it here, because we love having you here.

Again, thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Wife & I checked 3 different rooms before selecting Hampton Inn.

The desk service was great, gave us the best deal he could. We were there mid-week. It was a clean recently renovated room on the 3rd floor.

I suggest you turn the thermostat way down, before you fall asleep. The heater will wake you up at night. It's loud, they're so loud you can hear the neighbors heater too.

The room is well insulated, I suggest using the extra cover supplied. In winter, dress warmly for sleep. Don't use the heater, or use ear plugs.

We also turned off the little fridge, it's noisy too.

Other than the noise, a good value and location. We were at Northstar during the day, a short drive. This location is good for access to Truckee too.

Breakfast was good. Fresh fruit, lots of carbs and sausage when we were there. Clean area, friendly staff.

Other than the noisy heater & fridge, 2 thumbs up. We have these fridge & heater/AC noise problems at a lot of hotels in this price range....

Room Tip: choose upper floor off main road, turn down thermostat the heater is loud, turn mini-refrigerator off for more quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB_trip_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

JB & Spouse-

We appreciate you're choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites, sounds like you enjoyed yourself other than the heater. As you pointed out, its often better to just turn the heater way down and bundle up, we always have extra blanckets if you need them.

Thank you for pointing out the friendly service you received. I think we have a very strong, service oriented team. I will pass on your compliments.

Hopefully we get to see you again soon.

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you are going skiing at Northstar and the Hyatt, a Ritz-Carlton, and Village (all right on the mountain) are full, which they often are, the Hampton is a decent alternative, and is only a few miles away, down at the airport. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. The only bad part was the free breakfast, which is usually pretty good at Hamptons, but the hot food at this one has been pretty bad both times we have stayed there...truly a case of "you get what you pay for". Other than the poor restaurant, recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Steve-

Thank you staying with us and reviewing our hotel, in a mostly postive light.

I glad that your found our rooms clean and the staff friendly, which is important at any price. I will admit our free breakfast is not for everybody. This morning we served turkey sausage and omlettes as our hot items. Of couse, we always have waffles made to order and oatmeal as our other hot options. Many of our guests have been asking for bacon which had not been well received previously but we are bringing it back. Some items which most Hamptons do not have but we do are individual fruit cups, granola, and greek yogurt.

We look forward to your next visit when the Ritz is full!

Thanks again,

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Title says it all!!! No Fridge in the room for Baby's Bottle & Dirty Duvet cover & the MOST uncomfortable Bed I have ever slept in ! A Far cry from any other Hampton We have stayed at ! This Place clearly does not represent the Hampton Brand well , nor the Beautiful Lake Tahoe Area . I have never been so disappointed ! They didn't even ask about my Honors Points .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Wayne-

I am sorry that your experience at our hotel was unacceptable. I apologize.

Thank you for speaking with me on the phone and giving us the opportunity to make amends and give you complimentary accomodations for your party of 5. If I get complaints about our beds is that they are too soft not your experience that the bed was too hard.

Again, thank you for accepting our apology and accepting the free night.

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews