We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Truckee CA, United States
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

You could not ask for any hotel better than the Truckee CA Hampton Inn. The staff is excellent. The rooms are very clean and always neat. The breakfasts are varied and wonderful. If there are any questions, the staff will get answers and have a smile on their faces. This is an outstanding Hampton Inn with great management!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wendell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Wendell,

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel and writing such a great review.

Our staff takes pride in our rooms and our breakfast. I appreciate the fact that your found them to your liking as well as our staff being "excellent". As to the management, we let the staff do a great job and stay out of their way.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    135
    45
    14
    9
See reviews for
211
186
28
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel does not welcome disabled people. The disabled parking is at the back door, and the back door is locked. If you are mobility impaired, this hotel's plan for you is this: park your car at the front door, walk to the lobby, check in and get your key, walk back out to your car, park your car a second time, walk back in to the hotel. This hotel completely misses the point of disabled parking, which is to minimize the required walking for mobility impaired people. There is also disabled parking in the front, but it is too far from the entrance to be useful. This hotel could become accessible simply by unlocking the back door. This would not be a security issue, because the back door opens directly onto the lobby. I tried to discus this with the surly desk clerk, who made it clear to me that she did not care about my comfort.
I picked up a newspaper on the way in, but could not read it, because it was too dark in the room. I know, most cheap hotels have gone to 25 watt bulbs to save money. However at least one lamp should be bright enough to read by. If you are traveling on business, don't plan on working in your room. Even the desk lamp is a 25 watt bulb.
The room was adequately clean and quiet, so you might like it. However if you are traveling on business this hotel won't meet your needs. And if you are mobility impaired, you are not welcome here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SQ1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer-

I am sorry that you found that our hotel was “not for me” but I am happy that you found us quiet and clean.

Most of our arriving guests prefer to enter the lobby by the main entrance as its the most accessible, appropriate and obvious door to enter when first arriving at the hotel and is the closest to our front desk. Our guests can enter the hotel at 4 portals after they check-in. We keep our doors locked. The security of our guests demands it. The door you mentioned does not open directly to the lobby but rather to a vestibule which by the elevator with access to the higher floors.

Our ADA parking spots are as close to the 3 other entrances as possible and so our ADA rooms are close to these entrances. This was a conscious decision on our part to make them easy to access.

We strive to be an energy efficient hotel. All of our rooms have at least 4 lamps in the bedroom, I am sorry that they did not meet your needs. The desk light bulb is a LED 25 watt 65 watt equivalent. This is something we will address to provide greater lumens or candlepower, that is, more light, while still using an energy efficient bulb. Thank you for the suggestion.

As to not welcoming to the less-abled, a term we use at the Hampton rather than disabled, I must point out that we have challenged students on staff, have hundreds of guests that are less-abled, including golf groups and ski groups. We also support Disabled Sports, and High Fives two local organizations which provide services to the physically challenged.

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. If you are not satisfied then neither are we. Please call me so I can make this right.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights while vacationing in Truckee, Ca. Our room was very comfy and adequately sized for 2. Breakfast was varied enough for us and the staff was friendly and welcoming. The laundry facility came in handy for us. Since we had activities planned all around Lake Tahoe, the location was perfect - minutes from Truckee and not far from Incline village and easy access to the freeway for longer journeys. The setting is beautiful set among the gorgeous trees. Would definitely recommend this hotel, especially at a great price.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaisyRoswell_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Daisey,

Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review.

I'm glad your accomdations were to your liking and our staff took good care of you and your needs. Its also great to hear about the breakfast and the "great price,"

I appreciate the recommendation and look forward to your next visit.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a personal trip to my 30-year High School Class Reunion. The staff were genuinely excited about the event which took place in the lobby and happy to help coordinate the experience. We were able to upgrade our room at check in with no problem and were delighted to find that the room had a kitchenette, fireplace, jetted tub, and an extra 1/2 bathroom. It gave us plenty of room to meet up with friends for cocktails and socialize.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great stay close to all activity, lake golf, shopping and skiing. comfortable, clean and has great views. Staff was helpful and very pleasant. Large rooms well equipped and comfortable. the breakfast could have had a meat product but the waffles were fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Michael-

Thank you for your review of our hotel and the area.

As the interest in golf wains in most areas, its popularity here in the mountains grows every year. With designs by Weiscoff, Nicolous, Fazo and Johnny Miller we are blessed to have some spectacular courses nearby.

We're glad to hear you appreciated the staff and rooms- key elements, indeed. We do offer a meat selection at breakfast most days, let us know when you return and we will ensure that we it available.

Thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed one night during Ironman Lake Tahoe. Hotel was on the bike route for the race so perfect location to watch that portion of race. It was also very close to Squaw Valley. Rooms very very comfortable. Great breakfast assortment in the morning. Would definitely like to go back during ski season!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayleighsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and especially in such a favorable light.

Sounds like you had fun during the Ironman competition. Truckee really embraced the race and we look forward to its continued success.

As importantly, we appreciate your comments about our "very, very comfortable" rooms and the "great breakfast assortment"

We will see you again when the snow flies!

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Loved the location would love to come back in the snow! Lake Tahoe just down the road about 10 minutes a nice scenic route. Right of interstate 80 about 30 mins from Reno! Bed was super comfortable! Loved how the breakfast had green onions sprinkled on top great flavor!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lorena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Lorena-

We would love for you to come back for the snow, too! We sell discounted ticket to Squaw, Northstar and Sugar Bowl.

Having a comfortable bed makes or breaks a hotel. We're glad you liked ours.

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the great review.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
3.3 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
3.7 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
7.4 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Address: 11951 State Route 267, Truckee, CA 96161-2161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
#2 Business Hotel in Truckee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#3 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Tahoe-Truckee hotel is a short car-ride away from Lake Tahoe and its casinos, as well as many skiing, hiking and fishing attractions. Guests enjoy: free WiFi, free breakfast, a seasonal outdoor pool, patio area (with fire pit), fitness room, bike rentals, concierge desk, 24-Hour snack shop, dining/lounge area, business center, and meeting space. We're one mile from the Truckee Tahoe airport and 5.8 miles from the Northstar California Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing