We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Nearby Hotels
Truckee Donner Lodge(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donner Lake Village(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $474/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$309
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $409/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Redlight(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$699
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,289
$1,160
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveler rating
488
161
52
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
161
52
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast staffgreat hotelcomplimentary breakfastgas stationconvenience storestay there againthe breakfast areamountain lodgecookiesclean roomsfresh fruita great stayoatmealfront desk staffnorthstar ski resorteasy accessconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 727 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with a very friendly staff!!!! One of the better hotels I saw in the area. The only downside is the closest restaurant is .7 mile with no easy way to walk. I would certainly stay here again. The hotel is in great condition

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelmorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Advisor-

Thank you for your wonderful review and of course for staying with us.

You are correct, the closet restaurant is not really close. We do have a ToGo's on the same site, which will do in a pinch but is not a sit down restaurant. And I think you are correct that we have a very friendly staff.

Again, thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Great hotel with a very friendly staff!!!! One of the better hotels I saw in the area. The only downside is the closest restaurant is .7 mile with no easy way to walk. I would certainly stay here again. The hotel is in great condition

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hampton in Truckee has the best group of people working there. They take care of everything. They're all very personable and helpful. I have enjoyed my many stays here and will definitely return on vacations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Shirley-

Its always great to see your smiling face and I am glad to hear that we are a little be of the reason.

Its also rewarding to hear that you find our team personable and helpful and the "best group of people." Thank you for your kind words.

Hopefully, you can make it our way with your family soon for a relaxing vacation, so we can take care of them as well.

Thank you again,

Rick Rucker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having read other reviews I am wondering if I stayed in the same hotel! It is true that the location to adjacent ski and tourist facilities is good but this property is definitely not addressing those who come to the area on business trips. The check-in process was efficient but completely void of interaction between the desk person and the customer; no verification of Honors membership, no offer of water for Honors member, no explanation of breakfast hours.
The mattress in the room was perhaps the most lumpy I have ever experienced. As is true for the majority of Hampton properties cookies were available at the desk but in many cases those are gone by the time a 9pm check-in takes place. Here they were available and as soon as bitten into there was ample reason why the plate was till full. The cookies were old and when I checked out in the morning there still were cookies there.

The included breakfast was very late, way past opening hours and was hardly edible. The eggs were granular and tasteless and not much else was available other than cold cereal.

From my experience here I would suggest driving another 35 miles and stay at a Hampton in Reno.
Ram1500

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ram1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Ram-

I am sorry to hear of your experience at our hotel, indeed it as you said is not typical of the guests which stay with us.

Our breakfast always has two hot items, sometimes three. We have oatmeal; cook to order waffles as well has granola, yogurt, cut and whole fruit. Our baked goods include whole wheat bread, muffins, pastries, bagels and English muffins. We buy our eggs from the same company as all other Hampton and add to the mix. Our breakfast hours, are the same as all Hamptons, 6AM to 10AM. I am sorry that we were late to open the day of your checkout.

I apologize that our staff didn’t do a great job at check-in. They should explained breakfast hours, as well as acknowledging you as a Silver HHonors member. Unfortunately, however Hilton doesn’t offer Silver Honor members water, only Diamond and Gold status. We bake our Otis Spunkmeyer cookies, the Hampton standard, daily. I am sorry you found them unsatisfactory.

Please give me a call I would like to apologize and invite you back to our hotel.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
530 587 1197

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the check in to departure the hotel experience was wonderful. We visited during a slow time and they automatically upgraded our room. The rooms were very nice, nice firm bed. Complimentary breakfast was very nice and included a couple of hot dishes. The staff was very nice. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hello Dave-

It's great to hear of your wonderful experience!

We try to keep the transaction aspect of hotel to a minimum, so checking and out is quick and efficient, one is renting a hotel room not buying a house.

Thank you for pointing out that you liked our rooms, breakfast and the staff was very nice. It will be passed on to the staff.

Again, thank you and we can't wait for you to come back as well.

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice place that is close to Squaw Valley and Lake Tahoe. It made a nice base for our daytime hikes and dinners in Truckee. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They give a partially hot breakfast in that there are a limited number of hot items available and all of the ones in the hot tray are precooked from a food source company. It was disappointing to find even the crumbly scrambled eggs this way. They come from the Sioux Falls company Grand Prairie Foods. Perhaps the hot oatmeal was cooked on site. There are also cold cereals, muffins, bagels, self-serve waffles, bananas, apples, a not so fresh fruit mix, etc.
Mostly the room was quiet except that there was a heel walker above us at 4am every morning.
The only real complaint about the room is that, even my wife, found the shower/tub too narrow, especially with a vertical hand bar and a soap tray that are where the shower sprays down making it difficult to not get banged on the shoulder or knocked over. They could easily fix this by replacing the tubs with a wider one as there is room to do this.
There were no hand towels racks near the sink even though there was plenty of wall space for them.

We made use of the free business center room which was never occupied by others even on this Labor Day weekend. It has a desktop computer with internet and a laser printer.

The hot tub jets didn't work two nights in a row but they sent a service man promptly to get them on when asked to do so.

The property has a gas station and a convenience store.

Overall we had a relaxing time there and would return in the future.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a microwave and mini-fridge so look for this in the room description as the price is likely the same.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Bill C.

Thank for staying with and taking the time to write a review of our hotel, we're appreciative.

We're glad to hear that you found our hotel convenient and the staff to be very friendly and helpful. You will happy to know that all Hamptons are rolling out new breakfast items, including eggs, fruit and baked items. We will continue to have varied hot items and made in house oatmeal. We probably will not be replacing the tubs with wider ones,however, we are sorry to say.

We hope you see you again soon.

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews