We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A REXALING PLACE IN TRUCKEE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A REXALING PLACE IN TRUCKEE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice place that is close to Squaw Valley and Lake Tahoe. It made a nice base for our daytime hikes and dinners in Truckee. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They give a partially hot breakfast in that there are a limited number of hot items available and all of the ones in the hot tray are precooked from a food source company. It was disappointing to find even the crumbly scrambled eggs this way. They come from the Sioux Falls company Grand Prairie Foods. Perhaps the hot oatmeal was cooked on site. There are also cold cereals, muffins, bagels, self-serve waffles, bananas, apples, a not so fresh fruit mix, etc.
Mostly the room was quiet except that there was a heel walker above us at 4am every morning.
The only real complaint about the room is that, even my wife, found the shower/tub too narrow, especially with a vertical hand bar and a soap tray that are where the shower sprays down making it difficult to not get banged on the shoulder or knocked over. They could easily fix this by replacing the tubs with a wider one as there is room to do this.
There were no hand towels racks near the sink even though there was plenty of wall space for them.

We made use of the free business center room which was never occupied by others even on this Labor Day weekend. It has a desktop computer with internet and a laser printer.

The hot tub jets didn't work two nights in a row but they sent a service man promptly to get them on when asked to do so.

The property has a gas station and a convenience store.

Overall we had a relaxing time there and would return in the future.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a microwave and mini-fridge so look for this in the room description as the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Bill C.

Thank for staying with and taking the time to write a review of our hotel, we're appreciative.

We're glad to hear that you found our hotel convenient and the staff to be very friendly and helpful. You will happy to know that all Hamptons are rolling out new breakfast items, including eggs, fruit and baked items. We will continue to have varied hot items and made in house oatmeal. We probably will not be replacing the tubs with wider ones,however, we are sorry to say.

We hope you see you again soon.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    129
    43
    12
    9
See reviews for
184
178
26
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
268 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is very clean, the morning food is excellent and it is close to I-80 so the location is great. It is very well taken care of, If I am in the area again I will stay there - management happened to be there when I was there and I could tell he is very attentive to detail - Hampton should be pleased with this owner

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubba086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Advisor-

Thank you for the wonderful review.

Yes, we do try to manage every detail. Every guest has a different set of criteria which they judge a hotel, so as managers we must look at every aspect and item critically. But always we must be clean and the food must be as in your words, "excellent".

As Hilton Diamond member we know that you stay in many, many hotels, so your comments are especially well received, thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hampton Inn is a consistent dependable brand. This location is great for the Truckee area. Very close to town, and very quiet. A great breakfast to start your day. Nice pool and hot tub which we enjoyed in the evening. Beds are comfy and the staff is superb! Enjoy beautiful Tahoe!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ProudCalifNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Emily C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad that you found our hotel to be clean as well as handy to the interstate. Yes, we do have some great golf courses in the area; course designers include Johnny Miller, Jack Nicholas, Weiscoff and Tom Fazio. Sounds like you found the restaurants delicious too.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Rick Rucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This particular Hampton Inn had a very handy location just off interstate 80 in Truckee, CA. Hotel has lots of parking, was clean and close to world class restaurants, golf courses and ski areas. Didn't have time to use the pool or fitness center. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Emily,

Thank you for staying with us, and we appreciate the accolades.

You are right, Truckee has a lot to offer. We have a number of great golf courses designed by the likes of Fazo, Nicolas and Miller. And the ball travels further here the mountains. The downtown has great shopping, bars and restaurants, much more than you would expect from a small town.

I'm always glad when I hear that our guest find our rooms clean. Its a priority which we stess all the time. Thank you noticing.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I believe we where taken advantage of and a victim of price gouging. Our group paid almost double everyone else staying the same nights becauseI had mentioned that this hotel was our only option to fit everyone at same hotel. The staff also lied about the price that our colleagues where paying. Honesty and integrity this hotel does not have.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kurt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kurt-

I am sorry that you felt that we took advantage of you, that was not our intent with you and your group or any other individual or group.

It is true that your collegues, who had already checked in and had reservations for 10 nights had a lower rate. The rate you paid was lower than we were charging any one else who called, and had nothing to do with being your only option.

Never the less, I would like to speak with you and make any necessary adjustment to your bill.

Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Rick Rucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a great hotel! I had a great stay here for three nights. It's within 5-10 minutes of everything in Truckee and just 15-20 minutes from the north shore of Lake Tahoe. The room was immaculate and all of the staff members were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Matthew-

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

We always appreciate a great review and you can really hear in your words the sincerity. We especially like to hear that the room was found to be immaculate. Our staff takes pride in their service, thanks for noticing.

Hopefully you get back our way sooner than later.

Rick Rucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We needed a room at the last minute. We had never stayed at this Hampton Inn, but it was close to everything we wanted to do. It is a nice clean place to stay and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is fresh and not all carbs. It has a variety of things to choose from. Very quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for finding us and giving us a great review.

When our guests, like you, comment on the cleanliness and staff being very friendly and helpful and that breakfast is fresh, I know we are doing a good job. Thank you for sharing your experience and letting others know.

Hope to see you again soon,

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
3.3 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
3.7 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
7.4 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Address: 11951 State Route 267, Truckee, CA 96161-2161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Truckee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#3 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Tahoe-Truckee hotel is a short car-ride away from Lake Tahoe and its casinos, as well as many skiing, hiking and fishing attractions. Guests enjoy: free WiFi, free breakfast, a seasonal outdoor pool, patio area (with fire pit), fitness room, bike rentals, concierge desk, 24-Hour snack shop, dining/lounge area, business center, and meeting space. We're one mile from the Truckee Tahoe airport and 5.8 miles from the Northstar California Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing