We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nicest Hampton Inn I have EVER stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nicest Hampton Inn I have EVER stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Looks like a brand new ski lodge inside and out. Beautiful Arts and Crafts furniture and lighting everywhere. Terrific hot breakfast, convenient to everything in Tahoe and Truckee, hot cookies in the lobby, comfy and quiet rooms and unbelievably reasonably priced. We even left a vitamin pill bottle in our room and the manager called our cell while we were on the road about it! Over the top service, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keil38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Keil-

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel most favorably on Tripadvisor.

We have made an effort to fit into the Tahoe enviroment but to stand out among Hamptons- thank you noticing. But that aside we need to provide service that is unique and above what one expects not from a Hampton but from any hotel. I think you experienced that too.

Again, thank you so much and we hope you make it back soon.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    127
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
179
172
25
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Convenient location for our needs (we were on a group golf trip and all three golf courses were less than 10 minutes away.) The complimentary breakfast was a nice step-up from your standard continental breakfast. I would stay there again. Fitness room was a little small and limited to just a couple of machines. Otherwise a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmers Branch, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Many Hampton Inns have undergone upgrades over the past few years. I'm not sure if this one was upgraded or if it's just a brand new place but this particular hotel was top notch. The rooms were nicely appointed. There was little, if any, outside noise. The lobby was very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was as good as any Hampton I've stayed in. Great job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Timothy,

Well, we opened almost 8 years ago, but many guests think we are new. Thank you for the compliment.

We try to make our hotel comfortable and inviting- from hiring the right welcoming staff to making the lobby and breakfast area at great place to relax and feel at home.

"Great Job"- thank you!

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel seemed brand-new, although I was told it is 8 years old. Very clean. I hate pillows that are thick and spongy, which I find at most hotels, but this hotel's pillows were perfect. Also, it was nice to have a night light in the bathroom to help navigate the room in the dark. However, I kept using a single elevator and was never sure whether or not it was the service elevator. The complimentary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Ron-

Thank you for the taking the time to write a review and a great one at that.

We added the night lights in certain rooms because of the navigation issue which was brought up by a guest. I am glad to hear that you liked the pillows and the breakfast- both very important.

But mostly I am glad to hear that you found our Hampton very clean.

Thank You again.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This property is attractive from the outside and from within. It is located 5 minutes from Truckee, a surprisingly attractive small town, just off I-80 in the Sierra Nevada. It is in a quiet spot, surrounded by tall evergreens. For the second time in a week, we have found a Hampton Inn that takes the typical Hampton operating approach and upgrading it to fit a ski area clientele (Jackson Hole was the other).

The public areas are attractive, with furnishing to suit the mountain vibe. We had a large room with a king size bed, sofa and fireplace…all very sophisticated.

Good value for money in the summer.

Restaurants are all really a car ride away. There is a convenience store next door, but most choices will involve a 5 minute journey. We chose to eat at Moody's in Truckee and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Contributor-

Thank you for recognizing the efforts, time and money we have put into our hotel. You are absolutely correct that we use the tested Hampton standards and procedures to operate but go beyond the expected.

Of course we love Truckee and the Sierra and have therefore tried to match the area and environment, we are glad you like it result. That you found our hotel to be a good value is also appreciated.

Thank You.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel had a very rustic exterior appearance. When you walked in you felt as if you were in an alpine environment down to the fire place in the lobby and the room. The service and ammenities were excellent. We would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear George S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and pointing out the features you appreciated.

We are glad that you found our service and ammenities to be excellent and that you would use our hotel again.

We appreciate the great review, thank you.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great place to stay. Beautiful area. Staff and hotel were great. Within walking distance of the airport. Fresh cookies in the evening. Not to far from downtown Truckee and the restaurants. Beware of a delivery driver in a 26ft white truck with a bad attitude. He forced me into the woods and was within inches of hitting my car. He was cursing and calling me names for no reason other that I was in his way even after I backed up 2 times on the left and right side of the driveway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank dixiepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
8.9 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
9.5 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Address: 11951 State Route 267, Truckee, CA 96161-2161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#2 Business Hotel in Truckee
#3 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Tahoe-Truckee hotel is a short car-ride away from Lake Tahoe and its casinos, as well as many skiing, hiking and fishing attractions. Guests enjoy: free WiFi, free breakfast, a seasonal outdoor pool, patio area (with fire pit), fitness room, bike rentals, concierge desk, 24-Hour snack shop, dining/lounge area, business center, and meeting space. We're one mile from the Truckee Tahoe airport and 5.8 miles from the Northstar California Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing