We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$296
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Truckee Donner Lodge(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts(Truckee)(Great Value!)
$438
$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$664
$619
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveler rating
500
163
52
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
163
52
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast staffgreat hotelgas stationcomplimentary breakfaststay there againthe breakfast areaclean roomssquaw valleycookiesa great stayfresh fruitoatmealfront desk staffconvenient locationeasy accessnorth starhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
635 - 640 of 741 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We checked in a little early, I asked if they had a room away from the highway. At the time they did not have one ready so we decided to take our chances and take the room they had available. We were in our room for ten minutes when the phone rang, it was the front desk inquiring about our room, asking if we were satisfied.She then offered a room on the third floor in the back. We decided just to stay put. We were very impressed with the customer service. We weren't there more than a few minutes and they were already making sure we were happy!
We had no problems with noise from the highway, in fact had a great nights sleep. Beds were super comfortable.
The breakfast was good, I brought a few items of my own and fixed them up with goodies from oatmeal condiments.
The staff here is beyond nice, they made us feel welcome.
We will be back to stay at the Hampton Inn next Thanksgiving while visiting family!
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Clean comfortable and very friendly.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitve you may want to request a room in the back of the hotel away from the highway during the winter months when chains are required on the highway.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzeego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We believe we have a very good team here and they listen and understand our guest needs. But its always nice to hear from those that stay with us.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again before Thanksgiving.

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Go for the King Suite if you are staying for a few nights - the gas log fireplace is great! We loved our 2nd floor room overlooking the pool and pines. Excellent value, super clean, friendly attentive staff - even took a group shot of the family in the spacious breakfast room area. Hot breakfast was delicious. This hotel is a very short drive to Lake Tahoe, without all the traffic congestion. It was so nice to come back after a day of hiking and relax in the peaceful pines! Hear there is a resident bear, but we never got to see him! But we will surely go back and get another chance. This inn is a keeper!

Room Tip: King Suite is beautiful - not your ordinary hotel room!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bestnanaever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and all the wonder things you had to say. Its nice to know that our efforts are appreciated and we have made someone happy.

I've heard that our bear has found a new home so its doubtfull that you will see him/her on your next trip.

Your Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were here for a meeting. The conference room facilities were great and the rooms upstairs were very comfortable. A hot breakfast was included. Staff was very warm and friendly.
Internet was included and nice big TV. Four machines and TV for gym facility. Right off the 80 freeway so very accessible to Tahoe and other travels.

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd floor with a view of the airport and mountains.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your nice review.

I have made sure that our staff saw your comment about them being "warm and friendly" and they appreciated the compliment.

Again, Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We get up to Truckee/North Lake Tahoe/Reno several times a year because of our timeshare and occassionally need a place to stay for a night or 2 outside of our little condo. WHY I have never thought to stay here, I don't know, but this will definitely be our go-to place in the future when we need a hotel in the area.

RESERVATIONS: Made online. Easy and received a CSAA discount for a reasonably priced room.

ARRIVAL: We have noticed this hotel every time we drive through the area and thought it looked very pretty on the outside. Driving up, we were struck by how lovely the hotel and grounds were. It looks like a lodge and is appropriately designed for the area. The staff greeted us warmly and were very efficient.

ROOM: Though the room was a little dark (we had a back, corner room) with no view, it was perfect for what we needed. It wasn't very large, but just 2 of us were travelling and we didn't stay in the room except to sleep. It had the typical amenities that all the chain hotels have these days....blow dryer, iron, refrigerator, etc. Great bathtub/shower combo...fabulous water pressure.

The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. We had a peaceful and quiet night's sleep. And my biggest joy...the comfortable bed! I didn't have to use the mattress topper that I carry with me when I travel.

BREAKFAST: They offered a very nice complimentary breakfast that included cereal, make-your-own-waffle station, eggs, breakfast meats, coffee, juice, tea, toast, pastries, etc. The breakfast area had plenty of seating and items were kept well-stocked.

FACILITIES: We didn't use any of the hotel amenities (pool, etc.) so we can't comment on that.

CHECK-OUT: Again, the staff was very warm and friendly and made us feel as if they appreciated the fact that we stayed there. This is always a HUGE plus when I travel.

This is NOT a new hotel, but you would never know it. The facillties are well-maintained. I have stayed at a couple of Hampton Inn's and always been satisfied. However, this is NOT your typical HI...it is quite a few steps above the rest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1happydisneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, at length.

We are happy that everything was to your satisfaction and yes, we do appreciate that you stayed with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel and I was really impressed. It was very clean and well maintained throughout the property. The staff was very professional, attentive and friendly. I would certainly stay here again if in the area and can recommend to others!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your great review.

What we stress to our staff, you recognized. We can be many things but if the hotel is not clean and maintain - nothing else matters. Our mature staff realizes each guest is an individual and treats them as such. Most of our guests are on vacation; others travel here for work and we are able to serve both equally.

Thank you again.

Rick Rucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews