We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
belmont
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We checked in a little early, I asked if they had a room away from the highway. At the time they did not have one ready so we decided to take our chances and take the room they had available. We were in our room for ten minutes when the phone rang, it was the front desk inquiring about our room, asking if we were satisfied.She then offered a room on the third floor in the back. We decided just to stay put. We were very impressed with the customer service. We weren't there more than a few minutes and they were already making sure we were happy!
We had no problems with noise from the highway, in fact had a great nights sleep. Beds were super comfortable.
The breakfast was good, I brought a few items of my own and fixed them up with goodies from oatmeal condiments.
The staff here is beyond nice, they made us feel welcome.
We will be back to stay at the Hampton Inn next Thanksgiving while visiting family!
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Clean comfortable and very friendly.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitve you may want to request a room in the back of the hotel away from the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzeego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We believe we have a very good team here and they listen and understand our guest needs. But its always nice to hear from those that stay with us.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again before Thanksgiving.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    123
    39
    11
    9
See reviews for
170
163
25
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Go for the King Suite if you are staying for a few nights - the gas log fireplace is great! We loved our 2nd floor room overlooking the pool and pines. Excellent value, super clean, friendly attentive staff - even took a group shot of the family in the spacious breakfast room area. Hot breakfast was delicious. This hotel is a very short drive to Lake Tahoe, without all the traffic congestion. It was so nice to come back after a day of hiking and relax in the peaceful pines! Hear there is a resident bear, but we never got to see him! But we will surely go back and get another chance. This inn is a keeper!

Room Tip: King Suite is beautiful - not your ordinary hotel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestnanaever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and all the wonder things you had to say. Its nice to know that our efforts are appreciated and we have made someone happy.

I've heard that our bear has found a new home so its doubtfull that you will see him/her on your next trip.

Your Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were here for a meeting. The conference room facilities were great and the rooms upstairs were very comfortable. A hot breakfast was included. Staff was very warm and friendly.
Internet was included and nice big TV. Four machines and TV for gym facility. Right off the 80 freeway so very accessible to Tahoe and other travels.

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd floor with a view of the airport and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your nice review.

I have made sure that our staff saw your comment about them being "warm and friendly" and they appreciated the compliment.

Again, Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We get up to Truckee/North Lake Tahoe/Reno several times a year because of our timeshare and occassionally need a place to stay for a night or 2 outside of our little condo. WHY I have never thought to stay here, I don't know, but this will definitely be our go-to place in the future when we need a hotel in the area.

RESERVATIONS: Made online. Easy and received a CSAA discount for a reasonably priced room.

ARRIVAL: We have noticed this hotel every time we drive through the area and thought it looked very pretty on the outside. Driving up, we were struck by how lovely the hotel and grounds were. It looks like a lodge and is appropriately designed for the area. The staff greeted us warmly and were very efficient.

ROOM: Though the room was a little dark (we had a back, corner room) with no view, it was perfect for what we needed. It wasn't very large, but just 2 of us were travelling and we didn't stay in the room except to sleep. It had the typical amenities that all the chain hotels have these days....blow dryer, iron, refrigerator, etc. Great bathtub/shower combo...fabulous water pressure.

The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. We had a peaceful and quiet night's sleep. And my biggest joy...the comfortable bed! I didn't have to use the mattress topper that I carry with me when I travel.

BREAKFAST: They offered a very nice complimentary breakfast that included cereal, make-your-own-waffle station, eggs, breakfast meats, coffee, juice, tea, toast, pastries, etc. The breakfast area had plenty of seating and items were kept well-stocked.

FACILITIES: We didn't use any of the hotel amenities (pool, etc.) so we can't comment on that.

CHECK-OUT: Again, the staff was very warm and friendly and made us feel as if they appreciated the fact that we stayed there. This is always a HUGE plus when I travel.

This is NOT a new hotel, but you would never know it. The facillties are well-maintained. I have stayed at a couple of Hampton Inn's and always been satisfied. However, this is NOT your typical HI...it is quite a few steps above the rest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1happydisneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, at length.

We are happy that everything was to your satisfaction and yes, we do appreciate that you stayed with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel and I was really impressed. It was very clean and well maintained throughout the property. The staff was very professional, attentive and friendly. I would certainly stay here again if in the area and can recommend to others!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODERICKCR, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your great review.

What we stress to our staff, you recognized. We can be many things but if the hotel is not clean and maintain - nothing else matters. Our mature staff realizes each guest is an individual and treats them as such. Most of our guests are on vacation; others travel here for work and we are able to serve both equally.

Thank you again.

Rick Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

clean, comfortable,friendly. Truly enjoyed our stay. Great choices for included breakfast. A little pricey but would stay here again,love the cleanliness and friendliness. Quiet, not much of a view but the rest makes up for lack of view

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmccarley54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights for Tough Mudder and the hotel is clean, convenient and the breakfast was great.

The property is very close to Northstar and it is well maintained. The included breakfast was more than the typical rolls and juice. They have a waffle maker and provide hot eggs and breakfast meats in addition to pastrys, juice, coffee and cereal.

My room was quiet and the houskeeping was prompt.

There is no restaurant or bar on site, but there is a development with a microbrewery, sushi bar and several other places to eat and drink less than a mile up the road. There is also a mini-mart right in front of the hotel for any incidentals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
8.9 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Northstar Lodge
Northstar Lodge
#5 of 14 in Truckee
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
3.2 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 14 in Truckee
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Address: 11951 State Route 267, Truckee, CA 96161-2161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#2 Business Hotel in Truckee
#3 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Tahoe-Truckee hotel is a short car-ride away from Lake Tahoe and its casinos, as well as many skiing, hiking and fishing attractions. Guests enjoy: free WiFi, free breakfast, a seasonal outdoor pool, patio area (with fire pit), fitness room, bike rentals, concierge desk, 24-Hour snack shop, dining/lounge area, business center, and meeting space. We're one mile from the Truckee Tahoe airport and 5.8 miles from the Northstar California Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee Hotel Truckee
Hampton Inn Hotel Tahoe
Hampton Inn Truckee
Truckee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing