We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Truckee”
Review of Pianeta Ristorante

Pianeta Ristorante
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridge Street
Description: Pianeta is a cozy and inviting restaurant located in the heart of historic downtown Truckee, California. Since 1998, we have specialized in creating delicious Italian foods and homemade pastas while offering a stellar dining experience. Our menu features nightly specials inspired by the delicious cuisine of Northern Italy and boasts an impressive wine collection from California vineyards as well as classic Italian wines. At the bar, you will find an inviting atmosphere backed by premium liquor, aperitifs and one of the most popular happy hours in town (5:00-6:30 Monday thru Friday). Finally we pride ourselves on our welcoming friendly staff, warm eclectic old world ambiance and consistently remarkable cuisine. We always recommend reservations and we can accommodate larger parties, please call for more information.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Truckee”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you are looking for a fancy stuffy restaurant this is not the place for you. This restaurant is a
Truckee staple with excellent food and service.The Pasta Bolognese is some of the best we have ever had and it comes on house made pasta. The pork medallions are served on some of the worlds best cheesy polenta. We will definitely be back for the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TruckeeCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    70
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Tiramisu Alone is Worth a Visit”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Such a great place to grab dinner in Truckee. The service can be a little slow, but the food more than makes up for it. Make sure to order the tiramisu -- it's a giant serving, which we sometimes take to-go (since by the time we get to dessert, we're often stuffed full of delicious bread, salad and pasta).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank loprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“BIG Disappointment”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We don't usually write reviews the same day we dine but I feel compelled to tell our disappointment at this restaurant.

Service was ok. Small restaurant. Nothing romantic in our opinion. Our table was so small our plates barely fit and the whole night just felt cramped for a party of 2. We started with martinis, which were great. The house bread had crust so hard it cut our gums. No joke! We had the antipasto misto appetizer. It was ok. We shared the Caesar salad. Presentation was nice but honestly was probably the worst Caesar we ever had. The dressing was overpowered with lemon. I am a big citrus fan but for the first time in my life I didn't want to finish the salad. My husband hates lemon flavor so he disliked the salad.

My husband ordered the lamb without the mint pesto sauce. Best lamp chops we have ever eaten!! Ravioli was undercooked on his plate as a side. I ordered the ravioli bolognese. Very oily and ravioli undercooked and hard : ( I wasn't able to eat my meal. The waitress asked if I wanted to box it but I had to decline.

We were still hungry so we ordered desert. My husband had the chocolate cheesecake, which was the best ever. I had the desert cheese plate....excellent!

Unfortunately we won't be dining here again. We were so looking forward to a nice Italian
meal but our experience was below our expectations. We review all suggestions on Trip Advisor as well as other sites and are really disappointed.


There are other restaurants in town that are more satisfying!

Helpful?
1 Thank JAE2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pianeta's in Old Town Truckee Always Impressive”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great atmosphere for early/late dinner for intimate or groups - Italian/California cuisine dishes that you think about for days afterward! Great selection of wine. Prices moderate considering the A+ grade!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ejtrke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a romantic dinner”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very quaint atmosphere in the heart of downtown Truckee. The restaurant is historic with rock walls and comfortable booths. If you can sit downstairs in a booth by the bar. Very relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hekela73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pianeta Ristorante also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pianeta Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing