We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This is your Italian spot in Truckee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pianeta Ristorante

Pianeta Ristorante
Ranked #2 of 113 Restaurants in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridge Street
Description: Pianeta is a cozy and inviting restaurant located in the heart of historic downtown Truckee, California. Since 1998, we have specialized in creating delicious Italian foods and homemade pastas while offering a stellar dining experience. Our menu features nightly specials inspired by the delicious cuisine of Northern Italy and boasts an impressive wine collection from California vineyards as well as classic Italian wines. At the bar, you will find an inviting atmosphere backed by premium liquor, aperitifs and one of the most popular happy hours in town (5:00-6:30 Monday thru Friday). Finally we pride ourselves on our welcoming friendly staff, warm eclectic old world ambiance and consistently remarkable cuisine. We always recommend reservations and we can accommodate larger parties, please call for more information.
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“This is your Italian spot in Truckee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Homemade pastas in large portions to please anyone craving authentic Italian. The service and atmosphere adds to the overall satisfying experience. The word is out on this place so do make a dinner reservation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blacktieranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    60
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try the chicken cannelloni!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

An overall excellent restaurant, but the chicken cannelloni was outstanding. Too much for my usually big eating husband, they were chocked full of chicken and delicious. I had the chicken marsala which was good as well with the crimini mushrooms! All the pasta was excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LAVA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a group of 6 eating dinner at this restaurant in Truckee. Every dish ordered was excellent and all made with homemade pastas. Not over priced but reasonable for what you get. Portions were large and filling and fresh! Nicely decorated and good service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bienbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Italian jewel in Truckee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wonderful meal and fantastic service! Our table was waiting for us and we were thrilled with the ambiance. The salad starters were really perfect! Loved the additon of pesto on the Caprese salad and the Ceasar was flawless. The main courses were very tasty and dessert perfect! A homerun! ENJOY!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ttj1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistently great even when busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had dinner on July 4th holiday week. As always we had a wonderful meal. The owner seated us early as we were early for our reservations. The waitress was knowledgeable with the wine list and suggested a Nebbiolo wine which was smooth but fruity. The special was a ravioli stuffed with cheese and a fresh corn and basil sauce. To die for good. This is our favorite place on the North Lake and have been returning for years.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pianeta Ristorante also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pianeta Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing