We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy Mexican”
Review of El Toro Bravo

El Toro Bravo
Ranked #58 of 116 Restaurants in Truckee
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greasy Mexican”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a local favorite. Not my favorite though. It's a little rough on the inside. In the summer they have a good deck for outdoor seating and lots of TV's to watch football, the complimentary chips and salsa is nice. And the bar staff is pretty good, but the food is greasy american-mexican. It's not that well done. It's a good place to go when you just don't want to cook.

A word of caution, check your bill at the end of the meal and make sure they totaled it correctly. This has happened to me twice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kid_Damage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    12
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearlake Oaks, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GREAT DRINKS!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The drinks here are reasonable and very good!! However the food?? Food is ok, good.. over the top? no.. Food is a bit overpriced for what you get..
We had a special at $7.99 Chili Relleno w/rice/beans, not bad.. Lunch menu with a beef taco (size about like taco bell $1 taco) and Chili Relleno $13 plus!!
My advise would be to have the specials.. no tacos as they are super expensive!!
Food was decent..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rippyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Margarita and apps”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stopped by for a drink and some apps on a friday afternoon. We had the ceviche and chips and salsa. We also ordered a couple of margaritas, I can't remember what the name was but I'm pretty sure they cost $9. At first I thought this was a little steep, but this was a seriously potent cocktail. It easily had double to triple the tequila that you would get at other places and they actually used a good tasting tequila (i.e. 100% agave, not jose cuervo). I enjoyed the ceviche and the salsa was great. Good service. I really wanted to back here for dinner but ran out of time. Next time I'm in Truckee I will go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Bartender!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Sit at the bar and enjoy your meal while watching the bartender whip up great margaritas. Try the shrimp chimichanga for a twist and order extra salsa. The food is really good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Unfortunate experience for someone who has eaten here many times”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Service never replenished our chips or salsa, I had to get out 2nd pitcher of water because nobody came back after we ordered. We had 5 people during a non busy Monday evening, they got one of the orders wrong and said it was ready but it took another 10 minutes to bring it out. We asked if we could order margaritas and the waiter said yes and left. He then asked me how many and what kind when I approached the water pitcher table. Then they were slow getting them to us and mine had a hair in it. He did comp our drinks however but it was still a poor experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tthom1587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Bravo also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to El Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing