We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican in Truckee”
Review of La Bamba

La Bamba
Ranked #54 of 116 Restaurants in Truckee
Restaurant details
Truckee, California
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Truckee”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Used to go to other Mexican restaurants but they have declined in service and food as the prices rise. La Bamba has been here "forever" and is always good. Traditional Tex/Mex.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharon33191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great food, good value”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We eat at La Bamba since years every time we are in the Tahoe / Truckee area. We love the restaurant with the fireplace to warm up in the cold winter and of course the food. We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee
1 review
“The Best in Truckee”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Best Mexican Food in Truckee. Excellent service and Great Food. I eat there 2-3 times a week. Carmen, Louis and Pelar are the best!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank TruckeeCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Slow service, bland food”
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We were looking for a good Mexican restaurant in the Truckee area and checked Trip Advisor for some recommendations. Tacos Jalisco was mostly a take-out place, so we opted for La Bamba, which was right down the street. The place was busy, so we were hoping that was a good sign. No such luck. Very slow service and some of the blandest food of all time. One of the college kids in our group stated, "The food at Taco Bell has a lot more taste than this place." Unfortunately for us, everyone in the group agreed. Very disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
“Truly love they do”
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We have been to La Bamba dozens of times. Carmen, Louis, their children, and staff have made this a very local cozy stop as well an affordable stop for a visiting family, whether they are here for a summer hike or just off the skislopes. Food is good, drinks are genuine and the smiles will welcome you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Truckeegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bamba also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to La Bamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing