We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the wait”
Review of Squeeze In

Squeeze In
Ranked #1 of 115 Restaurants in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Squeeze In specializes in gourmet omelettes. We have over 60 specialty omelettes on our menu. We've got everything from basic cheese, bacon, sausage and veggie combinations to more exotic options like peanut butter, honey and bananas! In fact, we have over 107 quadrillion different possible omelette combinations. Each omelette comes with a large serving of homefried spudz, and bottomless toast and sauce (either homemade creamy mushroom sauce, tomato pesto or cheese sauce).In addition to omelettes, we serve lots of the usual breakfast stuff like eggs, bacon, sausage, ham, toast, potatoes, awesome French Toast, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, and always fresh in-season fruit. We have an extensive lunch menu as well including dozens of creative sandwiches from a classic French Dip to many vegetarian triple-decker classics. We've also got boss burgers, huge burritos, homemade soups and super fresh salads. Oh and did we mention our awesome “flammable” Bloody Marys and huge goblets of champagne and mimosas?!Be sure to join the Squeeze In EggHead Club to earn points and killer hook-ups like a free meal for your birthday and a free bottle of champagne for your anniversary. You'll also get EggHead-only deals in our monthly newsletter, the EggHead EggZaminer.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

No matter how long you have to wait, DO IT!!! You won't regret the time investment. It will possibly be the best breakfast you will ever have. There are so many choices and each is delicious. Staff is friendly and very accommodating. Atmosphere is very funky and will keep you entertained as you wait for your meal. Have been here many times and have never been disappointed. A visit to Truckee is incomplete without a visit to the Squeeze.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    89
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Where the skiers eat”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

OMG best omelets in the world... on a winter weekend this place will be packed and you will have to squeeze in...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhodesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Phenomenal Omelette Selection”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Make no doubt about it, you cannot be one who cannot make up their mind at this place or you'll go crazy here. The Squeeze In has far over 50 types of omelets to choose from, or you can devise your own.

They are all delicious. The four of us each ordered a different omelette and could hardly decide which we liked best. My tri-tip omelette came in last because the beef was pretty dry. But they surely concoct a sumptuous, huge egg dish - fluffy, perfectly cooked and not too soft or firm. You get your choice of cheese for the eggs, and a good choice of toast. The house potatoes were wonderful, flavorful, and grease-less. Didn't even need ketchup.

The service is very friendly, efficient, and fun. We ate outside on a weekday morning, missed the crowds, and had a leisurely meal. The table was very small for 4 folks (yes, you do squeeze in) and we had to place the water pitcher on the floor which I almost immediately accidentally kicked it over. We and our wait lady had a good laugh.

The prices are higher than most other breakfast places, but the quality and quantity of the food makes it a great value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ougeekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
162 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my first trip to the original Squeeze In. Glad we took the time to stop and experience this gem in Truckee. The service was outstanding. This is a well managed operation. The food is of course very good... and yes, it's more than you should pay for breakfast, but the Squeeze In is more than breakfast - it's an experience. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RenoBret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for breakfast!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is super cute and yummy! The best gravy I have ever tasted! Worth the wait. If you get there early like we did we had no wait. They also have great vegetarian and even vegan options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squeeze In also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Squeeze In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing