We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“In my Truckee top 5” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottonwood Restaurant

Cottonwood Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 113 Restaurants in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cottonwood has been a fixture of Truckee's vibrant dining scene for 25 years, and was voted North Lake Tahoe's "Best Fine Dining Restaurant." Housed in a historical ski lodge, constructed in 1928 to serve as a warming hut for the town of Truckee's ski and toboggan hill, the restaurant is a virtual museum of historic photos and artifacts. With spectacular views of downtown Truckee from the Dining Room or expansive Deck, Cottonwood is the restaurant of choice for Truckee locals and visitors alike. A diverse menu consists of eclectic menu of steaks, pastas, seafood and vegetarian dishes using fresh organic produce and sustainable meats and seafood whenever possible, complimented by a full bar and adventuresome wine list. Home to a vibrant acoustic music scene, Cottonwood features free live music every Thursday and Friday nights, and features a nightly Happy Hour until 6pm. Groups and special events are welcome.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In my Truckee top 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

6 of us dined at Cottonwood on an unusually rainy June evening. The view over Truckee with the passing storm clouds made the inside of Cottonwood warm and cozy. We had a table next to the window so the ambiance was set for a nice meal. The food was very good. A couple of us started off with a great Caesar salad. I had a delicious fall off the bone pork shank Osso Buco while the other adults in the group enjoyed steaks and seafood all while enjoying a nice Chardonnay and Malbec. The kids menu was perfect the two youngsters in the group (pasta, fries and chicken tenders washed down with a Shirley Temple), they were happy. Our server was helpful and attentive. The portions were large so there was no room left for dessert. I wouldn't say this was a bargain meal but I have paid more for less. We will be back to try some of the other items on the menu soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tfagerskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    88
    32
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Annual Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Cottonwood has become an annual event. The food is consistently good and is matched only by the service and ambience. The portion sizes are quite generous but always save room for the home made desserts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

With a local friend's recommendation, we ate at Cottonwoods last evening. Glad we went early as the happy hour menu was great and the place really started filling up about 6:00. The cheeseburger was excellent. Be sure to order the Caesar, which is big enough for at least four people, and you eat it with your fingers! My wife had the happy hour fish which was excellent. Will definitely return!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Djrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, NY
Level Contributor
216 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A must-eat-here when in Truckee or environs!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The building is historic...old and inviting. The view is of old Truckee down below. Eating on the deck, weather permitting, is fun! There is a large bar, well stocked. Bartenders and waitstaff are friendly and knowledgable.
The menu is eclectic. Appetizers are provocative and delicious! There are a large choice of main courses, varying from fine-dining fare to a burger!
Desserts are amazing!

Although this review is not verbose, don't get me wrong. This is an awesome dining experience. The chef has got it down! Don't miss the Cottonwood!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYBob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my best meals ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had one of the best meals I have ever had at a restaurant here. I was here with 5 friends for appetizers one night. The server was really knowledgeable about wine. We loved the appetizers so much that we came back for dinner another night. I had the Basa fish dish... had never heard of that type of fish but it was mild and prepared just right. My other friends loved their dishes as well. One friend had a filet mignon (sp) that she said was melt in your mouth. We had dessert too which was amazing. Highly recommend! The atmosphere is laid back and fun as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottonwood Restaurant also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Cottonwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing