We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Cozy Delightful Dining!”

Cottonwood Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 115 Restaurants in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cottonwood has been a fixture of Truckee's vibrant dining scene for 25 years, and was voted North Lake Tahoe's "Best Fine Dining Restaurant." Housed in a historical ski lodge, constructed in 1928 to serve as a warming hut for the town of Truckee's ski and toboggan hill, the restaurant is a virtual museum of historic photos and artifacts. With spectacular views of downtown Truckee from the Dining Room or expansive Deck, Cottonwood is the restaurant of choice for Truckee locals and visitors alike. A diverse menu consists of eclectic menu of steaks, pastas, seafood and vegetarian dishes using fresh organic produce and sustainable meats and seafood whenever possible, complimented by a full bar and adventuresome wine list. Home to a vibrant acoustic music scene, Cottonwood features free live music every Thursday and Friday nights, and features a nightly Happy Hour until 6pm. Groups and special events are welcome.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Cozy Delightful Dining!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We've eaten here three times during the busy ski season. Every time our experience has been a delight, with excellent food-- great menu with variety-- and cozy surroundings. I had one of the best fish dishes ever this last visit, and my husband enjoyed his venison, and the kids had great burgers. I highly recommend this lovely restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SacAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    90
    36
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rustic restaurant, good for a snowy evening”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Lovely restaurant with a 1950s ski lodge vibe. Go here for hearty dishes, red meat and nice red wine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cgwonvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A historical building overlooking a historical town - worth eating there.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The Hilltop Cottonwood Inn Restaurant is a mini ski museum, of sorts. The restaurant is very good all around. It is just a bit pricy, but perfect and romantic for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandyB756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journey45
Level Contributor
70 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My family brought me to Cottonwood for my birthday and I wasn't sure what to expect. This was the first time any of us had been there. Fortunately, we all had a great experience. The food was wonderful, the atmosphere was warm and inviting, the service was good, and the view of Truckee was beautiful. I had the Ahi and it was excellent.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank journey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too Nice Not to Share”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This historic location is Truckee at its best, all though it is only fall I am looking forward to the Cottonwood during a snowstorm. The view is so relaxing the food is outstanding. The ceaser salad is the best I have ever eaten and is big enough for several people. The menu is eclectic .
The burger delicious, as is the everything else I have tried. The desserts so yummy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leealyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottonwood Restaurant also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Cottonwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing