We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marty's Cafe and Chef Marty were great”
Review of Marty's Cafe

Marty's Cafe
Ranked #3 of 115 Restaurants in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marty's Cafe and Chef Marty were great”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great lunch. 1st time visit but not my last. Service was outstanding along with wonderful deli sandwich and salad. Potato salad is not to be missed. Chef Marty went out of his way to accommodate us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    52
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bountiful Breakfast”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

we were looking for a nice place for breakfast while traveling thru and happened upon Marty's and boy were we happy. The food was delicious and the service was quick even though it was busy. The fried egg sandwich and their potato side-dish was to die for!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pitbuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fabulous and filling lunch spot”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great atmosphere, service, and food! Though seemingly crowded for midweek lunch, we were seated quickly and provided with mugs of water and two large cups of ice for adding to our water ourselves. The subs were made with fresh ingredients (you could taste the freshness!) and so huge that we could easily have shared them (we did take home several portions). Tasty side dishes complimented our meals. The charming décor opened to the Victorian main street through large windows, providing a fitting sense of place. The waitresses were patient and cheerful as they were kept hopping by the brisk business; we did not feel squeezed in or rushed. Parking is at a premium in this small town, but the efficient service at Marty's did not let us down; we were able to eat and then stroll down the street and back before our time expired. A relaxing and enjoyable visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truckee, california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The food is good so is the service and good value for what you might order. Only problem is having to pay to park close by!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kindy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Glad we found this nice place”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have visited Truckee many, many times and never found this cute place until this most recent visit. It was very busy(Father's Day) but the staff moved people through as quickly as possible. We found the breakfast to be delightful. We look forward to going back another time. You'll take home a doggy bag, for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuLu1945619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marty's Cafe also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Marty's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing