We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must to Visit in Truckee”

Truckee River Winery
Ranked #33 of 115 Restaurants in Truckee
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: Truckee River Winery was established 25 years ago with the vision of sourcing quality grapes, bringing the fruit to Truckee in order to take advantage of the high elevation and cold temperatures to naturally cool the fermentation and slow down the barrel aging process. Thus becoming the highest and coldest winery. Our focus from the beginning has been to produce handcrafted wines with great structure and finesse. Our award winning Pinot Noir is the winemaker's pride and joy. In 1989, Russ and Joan Jones began making wine in their 2-car garage in Sierra Meadows (a suburb of Truckee). For 9 years they made great wine for their friends and family in the area, and decided to expand. They moved the winery into a two story barn on the Truckee River, where they could make 1,000 cases, with the help of their daughter and friends. Four years ago they opened a tasting facility, so that locals and visitors of Truckee could come and enjoy their wine and hard work. They continue to become a fun, high quality winery dedicated to preserving the local environment and providing a quality product for locals and tourists alike.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must to Visit in Truckee”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A family owned winery definitely worth a visit regardless of the time of year. Just got home from a Wine and Pasta Pairing. A few weeks ago, it was a Wine and Cheese Pairing. Everyone agreed they were both wonderful experiences. In the spring/summer/fall it's Bocci - just show up and play or join one of their teams/put a team together for warm evening fun. Plenty of outdoor seating to just come, enjoy a glass of wine, and watch! They are so welcoming and you can tell they love what they are do. Russ has been working on wines over the decades, and his experience shows when you taste the wine. They also have some beers, assorted cheeses, meats, and crackers to round out a wonderful day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ejtrke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional Wines!!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

No of course there are no vines growing up here at 6000'.
But don't let it fool you into thinking they (Russ) can't make a good wine.
Russ has does an excellent job of sourcing his grapes from different parts of the Nor Cal
area and boy does it pay off. The Pinot is one of our all time favorites, and is by many of our friends. Stop by the tasting room when your here in Truckee!! You'll be glad you did!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHoneyDoTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good wine and mustard”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Bocce ball is great fun. The wines are very good. The Chardonnay is buttery, the port is affordable and the reds even pleased are white only wine drinkers in the crowd.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank baughmanwallcovering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a fantastic find in Truckee!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Heard about this from a friend who said they had a fabulous time here. It was my birthday and we brought chicken to barbecue ,potatoe salad and fruit salad. The winery was nothing short of fabulous to help us make this a special day for me. We Got Court, #3 with the barbecue very close by and a great table to set up. We turned on the barbecue and played our first game of bocce ball. After the first game we put on the chicken and had a nice birthday dinner You do have to buy one bottle of wine, you cannot bring any alcoholic beverages in but they have beer on tap and various food items to purchase. Fee to rent court is $35 an hour. We got a 6:30-8:30 slot but we stayed well after 9! Will definitely make this a must do for years to come!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truckee River Winery also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Truckee River Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing