We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect location, very personable, thoughtful & supportive proprietors.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Truckee B&B and Inns
san francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, very personable, thoughtful & supportive proprietors.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Beautiful spot overlooking Truckee River from the back decks and main street Truckee and the trains from the front. The inn is an older building with high ceilings, lots of windows, nice wood trim and very clean. The great room (combined living room and open kitchen) has comfy sofa and chairs for reading, visiting with other guests and watching the snow gently falling out the windows and large dining table for coffee and continental breakfast. The proprietors Matt and Wendy were very special, volunteering help with heavy luggage to and from Amtrak station, providing tips for skiing and being safe in the snow, giving info. about Truckee and surroundings and, above and beyond the call of duty, searching through the trash to find our lost Amtrak ticket!!!! The snow was awesome and being car-less and having such easy access to downtown Truckee and the transit center at Amtrak Station was the best. I highly recommend and will return soon...projecting ahead to summer on the back deck overlooking the river.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowysanfrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Although close to train tracks - this is, after all, Truckee - that didn't keep us from having a fabulous time. I came with thirteen family members ranging from 15 to 80 years of age, and all had fun. Some went snowboarding nearby, some went and hung out at a local lodge, some went shopping, some stayed and played in the snow. It was incredible to find a central place that had a little bit of everything for everyone, and the Inn was so incredibly comfortable (not too hot, not too cold) and cozy and convenient that everyone had a great time. And when we all came together back here, we could assemble in the common area and play games or hang out in comfortable furniture. Any time I hear someone's going to Tahoe or nearby, I'll recommend this place again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loll61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We are very happy repeat customers at the River Street Inn. We first stayed a few years ago for a ski weekend, and were so happy with the owners and the location that now we go back 3-4 times a year. The location for skiing is great - Northstar is literally minutes away, with Squaw and Alpine very close as well. And then you can't beat the location for walking into town for dining and having fun!

Wendy and Matt are extremely friendly, very accommodating hosts, and it's always fun to see them on arrival. We plan to continue to staying here as many times as we can each year for skiing, and feels like home to us now!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mundyTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We arrived at the River Street Inn late and the innkeeper was helpful to tell us how to get in, came over to the property to get us checked in and recommended a restaurant. Our room was cozy with a nice bath with a claw foot tub. So far so good. Went out to dinner and came right back. Then the first train went by (around 10:00 pm) on the tracks that are one block away. Let me note that because of the crossing the trains are required to blow their horn and it is loud, even with the window closed.

We went to bed and the next train came by around midnight. Another one at 2:30. There was another one, I think around 5:30 or so. I realize that it is no fault of the innkeeper that trains go by constantly. I just want people to be aware that if noise wakes you up, bring earplugs or stay somewhere else, although Truckee is so little that I imagine that at any place you stay in town you will hear the train.

We got up and went down for the continental breakfast. What to say? I guess when I heard "continental breakfast" I assumed there would be some nice pastries or something freshly baked available. At every other B&B we've stayed in we were served a hot breakfast with the innkeepers present and chatting with us. Let me say that we were aware going in that a continental breakfast was to be served. At The River Street Inn that consisted of English muffins (packaged), raisin bread from Costco, granola, juice, corn flakes, coffee, milk and maybe something else I'm forgetting. Everything was laid out on the counter and it was serve yourself with the innkeeper nowhere to be found. She did show up for about 5 minutes, saw that everyone was talking, and left again.

Checkout consisted of us leaving our room key on the desk.

We were not impressed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slinkedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here many times - since the inn first opened, in fact. Previously we'd stayed at the Truckee Hotel, across the tracks, and used to look longingly at this place, wishing someone would open it as a hotel. When Wendy Smith and Matt Brown did so, we gave it a try - and now never book anywhere else. The hotel is a piece of Truckee history, updated in a way that gives all the comfort of the modern age without sacrificing any of the charm. Location is awesome - right in the heart of shopping and dining and drinking of Old Truckee. You can hear the train when it goes by - but that's one of the reasons I love Truckee. Never been bothered by traffic noise or other guests. And Wendy and Matt treat us like family - they couldn't be nicer or better hosts.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABatesSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

This was our first time staying at The River Street Inn and when we first arrived it was awesome to be welcomed by the friendly owner. Who not only gave us the down low on where to eat, play and sites to see but actually took the time to sit down and chat. It's such a relief to have that small town feel and be welcomed by nice people when you come from a big city. The location of The Inn is perfect, right downtown, a walk to resturants and bars! My husband and I felt the rooms were romantic and very authentic. I can't wait to go back and stay again. Thank you River Street Inn for making our vacation so enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elissophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

TERRIBLE Customer Service (if you can call it that). I suggest you avoid this place if at all possible. The building is literally 25 feet from the train crossing that runs all night and right next to a busy road. BRING EARPLUGS! Although if you were in the front room like we were, earplugs didnt even help. Owners lied about the noise, said it wouldnt be a problem - we woke up all through the night due to busy walkway, front door slamming, people talking all right near our wall. Worst location for a hotel if you want any sleep at all. And to top it off, the owners would not refund ANYTHING for this poor excuse for a night's stay. They offered a gift certificate so we could come back and not get any sleep again! NOT WORTH THE HASSLE. Try the Best Western instead!!

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING ELSE
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank filmboy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
9.5 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Property: River Street Inn
Address: 10009 E River St, Truckee, CA 96161-0334
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
River Street Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing