We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great charming place; a bit steep in price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Street Inn
Save
You added River Street Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Truckee B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great charming place; a bit steep in price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We love this place. Wendy and her husband Matt are great. Location is excellent for us (stone's throw from charming downtown, quick drive to 3 good ski areas, etc.).

The accommodations are nice but not perfect as you would expect for a B&B (torn shower curtain in our room, towels could be replaced/softer (maybe washed with vinegar), smaller room we were in needs alot more storage/shelves for luggage/skis/etc.).

We stayed over the holidays and, despite loving the place, found the $195/night rate steep for the size of the room.

We will definitely return depending on the rate at the time.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Only stayed one night and had no sleep, we were checked in for 3 nights but left after 1 due to noise of trains continuing through the night. This is not just train noise but very loud horns going intermittently all through the night. Shame as the place is quite cute. Oldy worldly sort of charm in keeping with the area, comfy beds and self serve breakfast. No manager on site though, they seem to live elsewhere and turn up to put out breakfast then disappear again! Friendly couple though when you see them. We explained the problem and we got a refund for 2 nights out of the 3.
If you are a deep sleeper I highly recommend however if not stay away from the town centre as Im sure most central accommodation would have the same noise issues.

Room Tip: As far away from the train tracks as possible, and the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Love the location, homey feel and friendliness. Across the street from Jax Diner, featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and a few more steps away from downtown. However, you fall asleep to the sound of the peaceful river and are startled awake by the train. It is incredibly loud.

Room Tip: Room 86 is nicely appointed. Room 88 has the best airflow with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a ski weekend in January and enjoyed it so much that he came back for more, and we have two future stays booked. If you like friendly accommodations that are funky and unique, you will enjoy Truckee's River Street Inn. I am dieting, and it was easy to choose a healthy low fat high fiber breakfast from the food offered. There is an active Union Pacific track 200 feet from the Inn, so if you are very sensitive to night noise, this place may not be for you. We went to bed around 11pm and heard one train as we were falling asleep. There were more in the night, but they did not wake us in our comfortable queen sized four poster bed. It was quite high though, which along with the charming claw foot tub might be trouble for people with mobility limitations. This is where we plan to stay all ski season this year!

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are on the east side in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at The River Inn last night, and to be honest I wished I'd spent more money and stayed at the Hampton Inn just outside town. The train noise was very intrusive throughout the night (and I got very little sleep); my bed was so high I could barely get into it, and the continental breakfast was 'do your own' toast, cereal and muffins (only over-ripe bananas for someone with a wheat intolerance).
If the Inn described itself as a hostel, and had lower prices I wouldn't have been so disappointed. But $130 for do-it-yourself service was less than satisfactory

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunckrCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Went up for a combined family birthday. Thought the train would be a great way to arrive from the Bay Area. Engine broke, so Amtrak put us on a bus. The vaca started the minute we arrived! They were so accommodating and welcoming. Our bus was a bit early, but we were able to check our stuff and head out to town. I loved the train sounds at night, some may not. The place is sooooooo comfy and NOT overstuffed with chintz, love that. I highly recommend this place to stay and Moody's to dine. Fabulous food, great chef!

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is quieter. Less train and street noise, but the proximity to train and town d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2naluckDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Forget frilly and timeworn; chose instead this comfortable bed and breakfast with its relaxed while indulgent atmosphere. A quick walk from the Amtrak station, The River Street Inn provided just the perch from which to explore the wonders of winter.
Innkeepers Wendy and Matt could not have been warmer, more accommodating while effortlessly juggling the demands of a busy season.
More than once each of them went above and beyond to ensure that this traveler could soak up every delight offered by Truckee in high winter.
Rooms were more than comfortable; breakfast was casual but fortifying for the snow days ahead, and Wendy and Matt were full of recommendations and insider information on the area.
A quick plug, too, for the Amtrak service from the Bay Area to the Sierras. Especially if you'll be enjoying the River Street Inn! See you next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank africaonpointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
5.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 14 in Truckee
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
9.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,310 reviews
9.5 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Property: River Street Inn
Address: 10009 E River St, Truckee, CA 96161-0334
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
River Street Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing