We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza and Great service!”

Best Pies PIzzeria & Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 115 Restaurants in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Pizza and Great service!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The pizzas are a thin crust perfect pizza. They remind me of the pizza in Italy but with real American toppings. We had "garbage" pizza - that pizza was loaded with everything. We also ordered a pepperoni pizza that wasn't greasy at all! Two pizzas fed 6 adults and 2 children.
Truckee is full of places that have great service, but this place by far takes the cake! We came in from a day of hiking and one of the children in the group was complaining of a headache and then started feeling nauseous. It went from bad to crying and screaming in pain. The staff jumped on it and grabbed food and water before we even got situated at our tables. They asked if we had been hiking and advised that it may be elevation issues considering we hiked up for 2.5 hours then rode a tram down in 20 min. The hostess went into her personal things and brought an electrolyte powder solution to help our ailing little one. They also made room for her at a booth to lay down and came by quite regularly to remind us to push the fluids as that is one of the best remedies. They were so kind to us. I have already written their owner/manager a letter and included a box of the electrolyte solution the hostess shared with us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    42
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun place, great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We got a table right away in this popular pizzeria. There was a table video game next to us (pacman, donkey kong, etc) which was great fun for the guys while we waited for dinner. We ordered the wings (spicy), the carprese salad (great balsamic) and a combo pizza. The food was very good, the service was friendly and they were knowledgeable about the area. Would go back again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pizza and good service”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place has a great location in downtown Truckee.  The setting is casual and comfortable. They could accommodate big groups (8-10 ppl) as there were a few up there while we were there.  They have about 8 beers on tap including a few local beers. Our server was pretty laid back but friendly. We did have to ask for silverware but he was otherwise attentive. We started with a chicken parmesan roll which was like an Italian sushi roll. Think of cut up chicken parm and cheese rolled up in pizza dough, baked and sliced like sushi rolls. It comes with marinara sauce. It was a great appetizer and really tasty.  We had a build your own pizza with sausage, mushrooms, and peperoncinis.  Their crust is thin, but not cracker thin, there is some good chew. It is the type of pizza you can fold in half and pick up with your hands. Overall pretty good experience. Nice place to grab some good pizza and a cold beer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great family dining”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

You can order pizza by the slice for the kids. They also serve pasta and some house specialies.
Decent selection of draught beer. While we were there, several customers came by for take out so it must be pretty popular with the locals...always a good sign.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerSamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
363 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The place is slightly above average for a pizza shop. The service is friendly but not very good. Out of two beers on tap, had to flag down for second beer, etc. Pizza was tasty, but lacking topping - about four pieces of sausage and paper thin pepperoni. With a little work this could become a really good pizza shop. Good location.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Pies PIzzeria & Restaurant also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Best Pies PIzzeria & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing