We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome restaurant”
Review of Stella

Stella
Ranked #25 of 116 Restaurants in Truckee
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Excellent contemporary American cuisine. Lots of class. Superb tastes.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is great, very elegant. The wait staff is friendly, and very knowledgable. The stomp sphere is intimate.

The only down side is that there is now bar. We were a bit early for our table, and really had no place to wait.

Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    20
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, disappointing October menu”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I love this restaurant! The menu, which changes monthly, always has something for everyone and the entrees are always supreme. That being said, I was sadly disappointed with Octobers menu. The duck rueben "sandwich" has been on the menu now for several, several months and needs to be retired. There is always a halibut entree that never disappoints until this month. Raviolis with a few pieces of halibut stuffed into them for $30.00 is a let down. The pork ramen is a substantial dish again on this months menu, or you can get a salmon entree. Chef Jacob,"Where's the beef?" I love your creativness and tasty dishes, however, I will not be back in October. Please make November a month to remember!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovegoodfood911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great special occasion dinner”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved this restaurant. The menu changes regularly but is usually Asian inspired using fresh local ingredients. We had the tasting menu and loved everything. In between each course, it seems there's a different amuse bouche such as a cucumber, mint salad with goat cheese garnish, a winter squash soup, or a sorbet. The service was perfect. Not intrusive but our wine and water glasses were never empty and the courses were timed just right.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cpc94118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best meal ever!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Really, there is no way to explain how good Stella's food, service, atmosphere and experience is unless you go and taste, taste, taste. And, you will be as happy as we were with every aspect of a exceptional evening. Be kind to yourself and make your reservation today. I can truly say we were over the moon with each and every dish. High kudos to the chef!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Most excellent!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I took my family of four here mid-August and sat on the patio. Our waiter was very attentive and the four-course tasting menu was definitely the way to go! No one left hungry, nor did any of us have room for dessert. We were all enthralled with the presentation of each dish. To do again, however, I'd skip the dish with the gnocchi in favor of something more interesting (I think it was the halibut I wished I'd ordered instead).

Stella's is not a place I'd go often, unless completely flush with cash. But for a special occasion, I'd definitely return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floydslips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing