We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't miss this chef and his food and staff's service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella

Stella
Ranked #17 of 113 Restaurants in Truckee
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent contemporary American cuisine. Lots of class. Superb tastes.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this chef and his food and staff's service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

What's not to enjoy at this hidden gem food great for a foodie, the chef's food tastes and presentation well as good as any San Francisco restaurant. Don't miss this place we will be going back and pray that the chef is still there because he could go big in time. The staff service is like watching a professional team all on the same page. The are helpful but also funny at the same time. All for one and one for all a place hidden away in Tahoe Truckie City if in the area don't drive by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Consistently awesome food. After building up what to expect I was afraid it was going to be a let down to my friend. Boy was I wrong ! Once again Stella was fabulous. It's just the best !!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LOCheydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rough and Ready
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Par Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Unbelievable meal with wine pairing. From the first pour of champagne with hors d'oeuvres to indescribable desserts and late harvest Sauvignon Blanc, this was perhaps the most delicious meal I have ever experienced. Exceptional service, interesting, innovative fare (cantaloupe caviar was over-the-top!) and perfect wine pairings. We aren't the easiest people to feed-- vegan, gluten-free, face it, we're a challenge-- yet Chef Burton continues to knock it out of the park, for us AND those who prefer meat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb culinary treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Food is creative and tasty. Staff is very friendly too. The open kitchen design invites guests to watch their meals be prepared with creative care.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PixelPrincess_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Culinary Experience Not to be Missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's easy to think that Stella would be ideal for special occasions. But to deny yourself the experience more than once a year would be short sighted! I have eaten there several times and each time every single mouthful has been to-die-for. Here's an idea, go there for all your friends and family's birthdays, anniversaries, half-birthdays....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sugar_Bowl_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing