We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Stella

Stella
Ranked #26 of 116 Restaurants in Truckee
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Excellent contemporary American cuisine. Lots of class. Superb tastes.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Consistently awesome food. After building up what to expect I was afraid it was going to be a let down to my friend. Boy was I wrong ! Once again Stella was fabulous. It's just the best !!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LOCheydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    20
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rough and Ready
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Par Excellent!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Unbelievable meal with wine pairing. From the first pour of champagne with hors d'oeuvres to indescribable desserts and late harvest Sauvignon Blanc, this was perhaps the most delicious meal I have ever experienced. Exceptional service, interesting, innovative fare (cantaloupe caviar was over-the-top!) and perfect wine pairings. We aren't the easiest people to feed-- vegan, gluten-free, face it, we're a challenge-- yet Chef Burton continues to knock it out of the park, for us AND those who prefer meat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb culinary treat”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Food is creative and tasty. Staff is very friendly too. The open kitchen design invites guests to watch their meals be prepared with creative care.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PixelPrincess_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Culinary Experience Not to be Missed”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's easy to think that Stella would be ideal for special occasions. But to deny yourself the experience more than once a year would be short sighted! I have eaten there several times and each time every single mouthful has been to-die-for. Here's an idea, go there for all your friends and family's birthdays, anniversaries, half-birthdays....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sugar_Bowl_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Truckee, California”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

No question - this is the best food in the Lake Tahoe area.
I've eaten at Stellas at least 10 times and I've always had great a great meal.
Head Chef Jacob produces the most amazing flavor combinations.
Equally adept with seafood, veggie, and meat, Jacob's meals are incredible.

Tonight we had all seafood (after the amazing duck house offering): hamachi ceviche, albacore tuna with curry, salmon with Shitake mushrooms and cabbage, and Alaskan halibut (the house specialty). If you are ever on the north shore of Lake Tahoe, you must have dinner at Stellas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing