We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great TripAdvisor Inspired Find!”
Review of Full Belly Deli

Full Belly Deli
Ranked #15 of 116 Restaurants in Truckee
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great TripAdvisor Inspired Find!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Like others, I would not have seen this place save for its high ranking on TA. And it delivered big. We will not be going to Safeway or other places (to remain nameless) for pre-lake/boat lunch stop again. The Dirka Dirka, the Tri-Tip with Spinach, Bleu Cheese and onions and the Cuban dominate. So the does the Sicilian. It's all delicious here but not easy to find if not looking. If you are in Truckee, they have a truck at Truckee Thursdays which serves the Tri Tip and a braised chicken sandwich. The latter wasn't that great but the former on jalapeno bread was just money. Worth a trip when in North Lake.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seaurchineceviche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best sandwiches in Truckee...period!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a hidden gem that is only hidden by location, not its local following. The sandwiches here are huge and well worth the $9 price. Great cookies. The Sicilian is my favorite sand which by far but all the good is great.

Helpful?
Thank TruckeeTroutTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We had the Food Truck at Truckee Thursday”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We ate the deli food at Truckee Thursday from their truck, but it was great. We had the tip sandwich which had spinach, onions on a Parmesan jalapeño bread. Adding the barbecue sauce made it divine. My wife had the chicken with cole slaw on French bread which was good, but not as great as the tip sandwich. Looking at the menu, seems to have a lot of vegetarian dishes & certainly a California food theme. Really good food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rkvbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Truth in Advertising”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is another of those TripAdvisor finds that paid off as expected. The sandwiches are as described -- huge and delicious.

At first when we walked through the door I was thinking $9 for a deli sandwich seemed a little steep, but when they arrived it was easily the size of two normal deli sandwiches. So I think on a per ounce basis this is a very good deal.

I went with the Cuban on the Jalapeno Cheese bread and it was one of the best I have had. My wife went with the Dirka Dirka and it really was a taste sensation. I never really thought about combining coleslaw and jalapenos, despite liking both, but it works extremely well. A nice, unexpected bite to each mouthful.

We didn't read the board up on the wall until after ordering and discovered they have smaller sandwiches, I'm assuming half, called, I believe, less full belly. We would have went with this for our son. But he did polish off most of his turkey wrap, which he gave a strong thumbs up to.

Since all their sandwiches are wrapped to go, it makes for a perfect stop to pick up a great lunch for a picnic over at Donner Lake. It's well worth looking for. Just keep an eye out for the Sherwin-William's Paint Store.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoyoteIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“We loved this Deli”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We loved this Deli. Best Deli Sandwich ever. We read the reviews on Trip Adviser and decided to go and get a sandwich. We saw how huge the sandwiches were, so we decided to share. It is a good thing we did. Huge servings. We had the Pastrami on the Jalapeno cheese bread. We ate for under 10 dollars for the two of us. Very reasonable price. They warmed it up and the bread was soft and delicious. We took it down the street and sat by the lake and ate our sandwich. I would go back anytime we are in the area. It is a little hard to find. You will probably need GPS. it would not be a place you would just see, but worth the hunt. :) Enjoy!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Full Belly Deli also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Full Belly Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing