We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!! Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place is beautiful!! The rooms are very large and spacious. The appliances are top of line!! The beds are comfortable and sheets are so soft. The view is beautiful with the gondola right outside our window. It snowed here too which was beautiful! You can't go wrong here. Also Welk bought this property so I'm really excited about that!!! All their properties are Top Notch!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have enjoyed numerous hotels throughout Tahoe over the years. This is my favorite. The views from this hotel are incredible! The rooms were very nice and comfortable. They have a rustic,but,modern and comfortable feel. For all the amenities that this hotel offers, the rate was reasonable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I am looking forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just like having a well equipped condo. This place sits literally a 20 foot walk across all the action of downtown. Restaurant none, but there exist a very nice sf serve continental breakfast. StF is sooo friendly and accommodating. Price is what it is, everyone wants to stay there, so there you have it. I loved it more than the Ritz.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suhail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I used to love this place. We have stayed here several times with my family and have enjoyed each time. However, my feelings have been altered. We made plans to stay over Thanksgiving weekend. My daughter, who attends college on the East coast, will not be able to make it home for Thanksgiving. I cancelled our reservations, but I am past the two week deadline by two days. I would have been very happy to have a portion of the trip (pre-paid from September) to be a credit for future use. This is not an option and full payment of the trip will be forfeited. Please be aware of this policy prior to booking your trip so that you will not suffer the same misfortune as us.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
9  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

These apartments are really nice. They are beautiful and don't yet have the trampled and worn feel of a tired ski lodge. We were two families staying in a 3 bedroom - plenty of space. The kitchen was well equipped and the unit had it's own laundry facilities. The gas fireplace on the balcony was a nice touch. There is a large lounge on the first floor that leads out to a patio with gas fire - we spent evenings there roasting marshmellows for s'mores. The lounge looked like a nice place to hangout for apres ski evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tralmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Theresia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
7.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,897 reviews
24.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
24.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts

Address: 970 Northstar Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-4204
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Truckee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
Price Range: $221 - $2,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Northstar and two minute walk to multi-activities Village Core (including live music and skating rink), Northstar Lodge boasts ski-in/ski-out, adjacent to Big Springs gondola and Swim and Fitness Center. Features exclusive exteriors with native materials for a naturally weathered appearance, while luxuriously warm appointments set the mood within creating a high-alpine sensibility. All two and three bedroom residences feature a private deck with in & outdoor fireplaces, hickory and carpeted floors, alder cabinets, spacious fully equipped full-size kitchens, and ranch house design interiors. Other amenities include a spacious lounge, media theater, ski and boot valet (winter) and bike valet (summer). Other Activities include Hiking and Golfing, and 15 minutes to Lake Tahoe, Horseback Riding, and other outdoor sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar Lodge - Hyatt Residence Club Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing