We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had a great time at this hotel with a lovely well equipped room.

We used Marriott points and still had an upgrade. The staff were all friendly and the weather was perfect.

The location was lovely being part of the North Star Ski resort. Although we did not use them the Gym and Spa facilities looked great also

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    150
    67
    35
    21
See reviews for
287
322
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Beautiful lodge-type hotel. We stayed using Marriott points so our room had no view but we had a large, nicely furnished room with a gas fireplace that was well laid out with lots of closet and drawer space. The bath was huge with separate shower and large soaking tub. In the bath were stacks of quality towels, nice toiletries and plush robes.

High quality food and high prices in all of the dining venues. Room service was the same and really enjoyable - especially in front of the fireplace.

The exercise room was really nice and well maintained with all of the latest in exercise equipment. Loved it!

Typical Ritz staff - Very friendly and extremely helpful - they just could not do enough to make sure we were enjoying ouselves. They were always trying to anticipate our every need. They really pampered us.

Great place to get away from it all and relax.

Room Tip: We had room 429 which had no view. maybe discuss with reservations when booking to make sure your v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smarkow314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

A great hotel, in a great location! Close to the Silicon Valley, with a airport close by.... Excellent if you have kids - playground, kids pool... Excellent if you have a dog as well! Excellent in winter or in summer. We went in May right before the summer season starts on June 6. We stayed over the long weekend, and had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbt_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights. So here’s the good stuff. The food at Manzanita was delicious and the wait staff was really nice and very professional. The room was nice, bed comfy, view OK. Gym clean and well equipped. OK so the not so good… you had your choice of a cafe for breakfast or lunch and just one restaurant, Manzanita for dinner. There were two other restaurants on the premises but neither of them was open (at least for dinner) so you were kind of stuck eating really expensive food for dinner. While the Ritz Carlton isn’t for the budget minded everybody likes a little break from spending $100+ a night on dinner for one. Other stuff… No mini-bar in the room, staff spotty, some super nice some not so. But ya know, here's what really rankled me. I scheduled a facial. They made it clear that they needed 24 hours notice of cancellation. Ok, I'm not a rude person; I'll live by the rules. However, that morning I asked if I could move my 1pm appointment to earlier and I was told it would cost me $50 to do so. Why???? I wasn’t cancelling, just moving the appointment to earlier. Perhaps the real reason was that the staff wasn’t available? So say so. I guess a courteous response has been replaced with just ripping people off. That one thing, plus some staff that seemed to be full of themselves or just out of it pretty much tainted my stay. Sorry folks. No reason to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the mountains, not the slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neatomosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-Carlton_DOSM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good day,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at our resort and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your guest room, the fitness center and your dining experience in Manzanita. We strive to provide every guest exceptional service, facilities and amenities.

I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the experiences at the resort that did not meet your expectations including the number of dining options, honor bar selection and spa reservation policy.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us so we may focus on areas of improvement. If you would like to discuss your visit or your concerns in more detail, please contact me at the resort by calling 530-562-3000.

Sincerely,
Joseph Mattioli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
422 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I have to admit to becoming a wimp skier as I get older. I like comfort, convenience and pampering and the Ritz Carlton hits on all three nicely. I took a small group from my San Francisco office up to the resort as a reward for their great work on a project. Not all were skiers or snowboarders, but everyone, even the non-skiers, loved the Ritz and never got bored.

The hotel itself is marvelous. The lobby is elegant and comfortable without being ostentatious, as behooves a ski resort hotel. The massive fireplace is a great focal point and I enjoyed reading my morning paper and getting on TA in the mornings with the lobby WiFi,

The rooms are very good sized, have gas fireplaces and very nice bathrooms with oversized tubs for soaking, which is welcome after a day on the slopes.

Great touches abound throughout the hotel, like the ski valet who takes care of your boots and skis (snowboard) when you come off the slope and the nightly adventure in 'Smores by the firepit, nothing like feeling you are 12 again and back at camp. I also loved the pool being open. There is just something decadent about swimming with snow and ice around.

The staff was terrific as you would expect them to be. They were uniformly helpful, efficient and more importantly, warm. The concierge was great in arranging transportation for us to one of my favorite Tahoe restaurants, The Pfeifer House, so we could drink and enjoy ourselves and not worry about wine consumption. Other than that we ate onsite or in the Village and I'll get around to reviewing them as well, but suffice to say the restaurants were a great experience as well.

Overall the trip was great and served its purpose of making my co-workers feel truly appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottca075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I remembered seeing this hotel the last time we visited Northstar and thought, wow, this direct access to the lifts and the perfect location right on the slopes really can't be beat. So, when it was time again to find the right accommodations for our Tahoe trip, Ritz-Carlton was the first place I looked into! And it did not disappoint one bit. It was December, the hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays, and the entire lodge level was decked with fresh pines and festive decor. We wanted to stay somewhere that allowed dogs but didn't compromise on the quality and cleanliness of the rooms just because dogs were welcomed-- I usually hate that about dog-friendly hotels, you smell it as soon as you walk in. Well, not the Ritz, thankfully, and your dog will absolutely be pampered well and greeted everywhere he walks!

We (my husband and I, my 5 year old and our pug) received an immediate room upgrade upon arrival and were given a verbal summary of all the kids activities. My son enjoyed the bear hunt, Santa pictures/chat (with no lines, in front of a gorgeous tree and fireplace), gingerbread house building, and of course, the famous marshmallow roasting evenings!! The ambience outside during the marshmallow hour was purely wonderful-- parents sipped on wine, dogs relaxed by the fireplaces, children enjoyed the smores, as we all watched the sunset.

Now, the location! One beautifully scenic onsite lift ride takes you to the Northstar Village where shops, restaurants and ice skating await. Slopes are just a few steps away from the hotel and everything is taken care of for you! For me personally, the convenience justifies the premium you pay for this hotel.

The spa was great. I enjoyed my massage immensely and thought the amenities were sufficient. The resort restaurants were fine, service was wonderful, food was decent, but the view and setting stood out!

I just booked a 3 night stay again-- I will absolutely be a repeat patron here! It's a great family hotel!

Room Tip: Slope/mountain view is gorgeous-- worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sklo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We spent three days with my daughter during spring break and enjoyed the luxury and comfort of this property. The service is impeccable,wether for skis or at their restaurant. The loby is welcoming, and the musical duo saturday night was very talented and kept us singing along past midnight. While my daughters were sking i was exploring Tahoe thanks to the expert recommendations of the hotel concierge. A car is required but the scenery is breathtaking. After a day outdoor the hotel spa is an oasis of serenity . Nice plus , Smores time, around the open fire , delicious flavored marshmallows that guests can roast and eat ! The rooms are spacious, well apointed but the beds too soft for my taste . An expensive getaway but totally worth it.Everyone goes the extra mile to make your stay really unforgettable

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariellemiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
24.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
7.7 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing