We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Colleyville, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

For the people that rated this hotel less than EXCELLENT...You need to stay home. I have traveled extensively and this is one of the best hotels I have ever visited! I loved the Ritz @ Lake Tahoe from check-in to check-out and will definitely return.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Mountain View Room. The view of the fire pit (where the chef does S'mores with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    152
    69
    36
    22
See reviews for
291
334
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a perfect place to indulge if you are planning on skiing. The resort ski valet service is incredible - you can rent equipment and they'll store it for you if you are skiing more than one day. Then, it's just a short distance to hop on the lift at Northstar. The spa is also very nice and relaxing.

The hotel is lovely and comfortable, with luxury trimmings all around. Service is top notch, and it's just a beautiful property. We've been here for the summer as well, and truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpcSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Location and property fantastic. Our rate including parking was about $250 per night. We spent Monday night, Sept 2. Celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. No complaints about anything. Staff was remarkable. Hiked around the property, use of the hotels spa, gym and private outdoor pool and cabana's is included in the room rate. We aren't skiers, but this place would be a skiers heaven. Rates would probably be quite a bit higher at that time too.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views. Personally I would not pay more for a better view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights over Labor Day weekend as part of our 20th anniversary celebration after driving in from Napa. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is friendly and the setting is gorgeous. The room was very comfortable, and we spent time reading in the leather chairs by the fireplace. The dining options could be improved. The hotel has only one full service restaurant, and the menu is the "living room" (lobby) is extremely limited. This is a bit of a problem due to the remote location. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 853kathrynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long Memorial Day Weekend. He were new to Lake Tahoe and visited to sightsee. The Ritz was one of our favorite parts of the trip. We enjoyed the restaurants at the hotel, and the many indoor/outdoor seating options. They also give you marshmellow kits to roast at night, which was fun and nice touch. Our room was also spacious and very comfortable. Service everywhere, of course, was excellent.

I would also like to take the time to complement the food and beverage manager. He took very good care of us over the weekend and took the time to stop and talk with us a few times after we had one small incident. We are vegetarians and had asked our waitress if a certain item on the menu was vegetarian. She said yes, we ate it, we found it was not. We didn't ask for any compensation but he took care of us then, and throughout the trip. That was the only little accident, but the service we received the rest of the trip more than made up for it.

Overall, I highly recommend staying at this Ritz. If we return to Lake Tahoe, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My son chose this place, looking for the very best of California. And I would agree, it is one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed. It is very expensive, but the service is simply outstanding, even amazing. The location is remote, 2 miles above the Northstar Village. The alpine views are scenic from every window! The room was exquisite with a fireplace, walk in shower, separate tub, and cedar paneling. I have not stayed at a finer mountain hotel. The food and wine were very good, but not the best I have ever had. Poolside service was much appreciated. There are many activities there for the family, but the tennis was down the mountain at Northstar. Overall outstanding, but plan to eat and do most everything there, because Northstar is 2 miles away, and any other food is 10-20 minutes away!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FriscoResident1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I have never been to a hotel with so many dogs! Not the Ritz experience we expected. When we pulled up to check in we were told "Sorry we have no carts for your luggage. Letting us know that they had 140 people checking in and out that day! Also the Mountain Blue coffee shop was very unorganized . Selection of grab and go food was terrible. Also took forever to get a coffee seemed to be short staffed. Did have a nice experience at the restaurant bar. Max did a great job of taking care of us and made us feel welcome. My husband was also dissapointed to find out from the Pro at the golf course that the Ritz always dropped off customers from the hotel at the course. When he asked when booking his tee time they said he would have to get his own transportation to the course. Rooms are nice but I don't think it is worth the price paid!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Danndiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
873 reviews
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,754 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
615 reviews
24.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Prestigia, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing