We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Place to Stay in Lake Tahoe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
279 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Stay in Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Top level hotel in the Lake Tahoe area. The hotel seemed very full with a conference, wedding and other events, but the hotel did not seem crowded and service did not suffer. Great lunch and breakfast at Manzanita. Did not personally enjoy the various activities the hotel had to offer – but had guests around me busily enjoying the facilities and hotel activities. We sat poolside with great service enjoying a beautiful day in Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    128
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
218
287
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spa is superb and available to all guests. Food and drink service ordered pool side at spa or at family pool. Adult spa pool immediately adjacent to wonderful; spa with "Experiential" shower room with about 20 nozzles at various places, whirlpool tub with powerful jets, steam room and sauna. Service is impeccable at every level and all the time- very consistent. Kyle at the front desk especially stood out even in a field of such superlative staff. This is the place to stay in winter but it is also good for some pampering in summer even though about 15 mins from Lake. Great hiking and mountain biking right outside the door. Manzanita restaurant was excellent as well with great food and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Mountain and resort view rooms are actually equally nice though listed at different price points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wpm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent a few days at this enormous hotel neslted in the Northstar ski area. We enjoyed exceptionally cordial service, a very hospitable Concierge floor lounge and a spacious well appointed room. We were unfortunately given a room with no view despite being present during a slow period. Most disappointing however, was the ubiquitous whiny country rock music that could not be escaped once outside the room. Dreadful noise which should be banned. Nice pool and spa.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefflz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited in May, which is after ski season but before the summer rush which meant that there were very few guests at the hotel. We had three grandparents visiting for their granddaughter's 5th birthday.

Since it was a special occasion, the hotel OFFERED to give my daughter balloons and a doll on the morning of her birthday. These things never materialized. We had to go to the front desk and then it took a long time for them to get organized and delayed the start of our day by a couple of hours.

Later that day, my wife, daughter and the two grandmothers also booked a manicure at the spa at 1 PM. When they went down there, there was ONE manicurist and they had to each get a manicure 1 at a time rather than all together. This took several hours......

At the same time, the hotel removed a "construction discount" that they had offered us (lots of work was being done during the slow season). I had to ask them to put it back on. I also had to give them my Marriott rewards number several times to get it to stick.

Throughout all of this we dealt with 2 hotel managers. One manager would offer a concession and then you would see the other manager later and he would offer a lesser concession. They were not on the same page and it seemed like we were being "downgraded." In the end, we did get some concessions (a few massages and a manicure), but they were based on us coming back to the hotel for another visit.

This is not likely to happen.

The hotel is very pretty and the rooms are great, but if you are expecting service....look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I don't think I have ever received better service and hospitality from a property. The Ritz is famous for their service and this property delivers. This is a well managed, staffed, and maintained operation. Friendly, attentive, helpful staff and amenities galore. The fitness center was very good - what you would expect from a resort. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. The setting in the mountains is beautiful. This was a very relaxing stay. If there is a downside, it is the limited dining options. Still, they earned my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenoBret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is amazing! My husband and I follow a vegan, oil-free diet, and Chef Jeremy and the entire kitchen staff were MORE THAN EAGER to accommodate. The food was creative and delicious! Every member of staff was helpful and truly acted like they appreciated us staying with them. I had a great spa experience, and the hiking around the property couldn't have been better. Not to mention that the views take your breath away! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really one of the best. It's at the top of the hill and you are greeted by valet. During my 4 day stay, I was treated like a queen. I returned home and already miss the friendly atmosphere. Pleass try the spa, gym and whirlpool. The food is wonderful! This was an unforgettable experience and I hope that I can return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ascepti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
24.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
7.6 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing