We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on par with Other RCs I have stayed at” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not on par with Other RCs I have stayed at”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited in May, which is after ski season but before the summer rush which meant that there were very few guests at the hotel. We had three grandparents visiting for their granddaughter's 5th birthday.

Since it was a special occasion, the hotel OFFERED to give my daughter balloons and a doll on the morning of her birthday. These things never materialized. We had to go to the front desk and then it took a long time for them to get organized and delayed the start of our day by a couple of hours.

Later that day, my wife, daughter and the two grandmothers also booked a manicure at the spa at 1 PM. When they went down there, there was ONE manicurist and they had to each get a manicure 1 at a time rather than all together. This took several hours......

At the same time, the hotel removed a "construction discount" that they had offered us (lots of work was being done during the slow season). I had to ask them to put it back on. I also had to give them my Marriott rewards number several times to get it to stick.

Throughout all of this we dealt with 2 hotel managers. One manager would offer a concession and then you would see the other manager later and he would offer a lesser concession. They were not on the same page and it seemed like we were being "downgraded." In the end, we did get some concessions (a few massages and a manicure), but they were based on us coming back to the hotel for another visit.

This is not likely to happen.

The hotel is very pretty and the rooms are great, but if you are expecting service....look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    118
    54
    27
    14
See reviews for
202
247
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I don't think I have ever received better service and hospitality from a property. The Ritz is famous for their service and this property delivers. This is a well managed, staffed, and maintained operation. Friendly, attentive, helpful staff and amenities galore. The fitness center was very good - what you would expect from a resort. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. The setting in the mountains is beautiful. This was a very relaxing stay. If there is a downside, it is the limited dining options. Still, they earned my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenoBret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is amazing! My husband and I follow a vegan, oil-free diet, and Chef Jeremy and the entire kitchen staff were MORE THAN EAGER to accommodate. The food was creative and delicious! Every member of staff was helpful and truly acted like they appreciated us staying with them. I had a great spa experience, and the hiking around the property couldn't have been better. Not to mention that the views take your breath away! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really one of the best. It's at the top of the hill and you are greeted by valet. During my 4 day stay, I was treated like a queen. I returned home and already miss the friendly atmosphere. Pleass try the spa, gym and whirlpool. The food is wonderful! This was an unforgettable experience and I hope that I can return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ascepti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This property is small, but very beautiful with lots of fireplaces. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by valet, he is an intern from South Africa. He was the nicest staff person that we had encountered during our stay. Then the service went downhill, especially from the front desk (throughout the entire stay and not just one incident). We were surprised because we have stayed in Ritz Carlton before and I was shocked and appalled.

Anyway, do not want to pour the dirt on the hotel but do not set your expectations too high or you will fall fast.

Room Tip: away from Gondola
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aruba2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu, ca
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had 2 lovely nights at the Ritz. The hotel gets 5 stars, impeccable service, attentive and just perfect. The Manzanita Restaurant is the downfall of this property.
The hotel is remote to other eats, and guests are almost a captive audience for the food.
The salmon at dinner was dry, the clams with pasta had the pasta stuck together. It was precooked then heated. Breakfast for 2 mornings, not much better. Pancakes were not edible and French toast was ok. The hotel itsefl is perfect for the location of ski in ski out and walking after ski season is ideal. The food quality and preparation is a major downfall. Guests will choose the Hyatt residence down the hill and go to Starbucks before eating at the hotel restaurant., or the Hyatt at the Lake.
The waiter was embarassed when we complained, and the food and beverage manager agreed something needs to be done sooner than later. The decor of the restaurant was lovely, however the food is poor at best. Such a disappointment for the Ritz which otherwise would be 5+ stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aventuress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

3/13 - The Ritz Carlton Lake Tahoe is located on the mountain of NorthStar - the scenery is amazing and secluded (when you compare it to south shore). When we arrived the bellmen unloaded the car and took our snowboard/skis and boots to the mountain club - so we didnt have to carry any of our equipment.

Our room over looked the outdoor swimming pool/ hot tub and the big easy ski lift of Northstar. The room was extremely nice - and included a private fireplace, a sink-in tub and - my favorite - a nice cozy robe. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were dreamy.

During the turn down service we received note was from the front desk - Kyle Huscher - who checked us in. He provided us with a map of Northstar and a note offering his favorite run at Northstar and if we had any questions to contact him or the staff since we talked to him during check in about snowboarding the next day. The staff a the Ritz Carlton really went above and beyond in the service department to make sure our trip was personalized and relaxing.

The only average part of this trip was the spa service for the price we were paying. The spa amenities however and the receptionists at the spa were so nice and helpful.

This was my first trip to a Ritz Carlton and I hope it isnt my last - my documented trip can be found here: http://goshrooney.blogspot.com/2013/05/lake-tahoe-north-shore.html

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
23.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northstar Lodge
Northstar Lodge
#5 of 14 in Truckee
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing