We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
RIchmond, VA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Ritz Carlton, located at the middle of Northstar Ski Resort is a great place to stay. They continually run specials that make it more affordable to stay at this luxury resort.
Everyone was very friendly and we first thought it would be a little "stuffy" but happily the people working plus the guests were very friendly.
The service was great from the ski valet (complimentary) to the stores and restaurants. The rooms were very comfortable with large bathrooms which made it nice coming back from a day of skiing. They have a outdoor pool which is heated to 94 degrees and stays open year round, a large fitness center and a spa which my wife said was excellent.
The food was a little expensive and there is a resort fee of $25 per day but overall it was worth it.

Room Tip: Rent a car, drive 10 minutes to the North shore of Lake Tahoe and experience some great dining with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    122
    55
    27
    14
See reviews for
208
253
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is breathtaking. From the moment you pull up and see the property on the mountain to the views from the rooms! We stayed on the club level and the service was incredible. The concierge was very attentive and personable. We enjoyed sitting with him and listening to stories about his life. He was new and did not have business cards yet but delivered personalized letters to us with his contact information. They knew the named of everyone in our party when we walked into the lounge. The staff was willing to do anything for us- even made fresh iced tea when my daughter asked if they had some. The rooms were incredible. We had two adjoining rooms with a foyer connecting the two. The restaurant was wonderful and the pool area and hot tubs were spectacular with the fire pits and the view. We would live to experience this property in the winter also. This is definitely a Ritz Carlton property

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first visit to the Ritz, and I was admittedly a bit nervous about the stay, after having read that the hotel's ownership transferred hands at a fraction of the building's original construction costs. I questioned whether the Ritz' customer service would be compromised.

But I was pleased to find everyting as it should be ... the room was beautifully appointed; the hotel’s atmosphere was comfortably luxurious but without ostentation; and the staff was friendly and accommodating, without being obsequious or – worst – in any way arrogant.

We had to change rooms shortly after our arrival and the Guest Services (reception staff and bell service) was gracious and helpful. After we relocated rooms, I left an item behind and, again, Housekeeping was able to find and move it back to my new room without fuss.

The best part about the stay (in addition to the service) is the ultimate convenience of being able to ski-in and ski-out of the patio and buy lift tickets or rent from True North, operated by Northstar (which I wasn't pleased with, but that's another review). In addition, for little ones, the area immediately surrounding the outdoor patio (complete with its own firepit) is perfect for building snow things (snowmen, snow forts, you name it). And for those parents, like me, who are just watching the little ones or waiting for family members to return from a day on the slopes, the firepit area was a perfect location for keeping warm while sipping a drink and reading.

We decided to dine in at Manzanita, the hotel's restaurant, on Saturday night to avoid the crowds and chaos down at the Village during the peak of the weekend. I half-expected it to consist of what every parent dreads - an upscale restaurant that catered to childless empty-nesters who frown with every squeal from a delighted child. But I was pleasantly surprised to find it to be filled with the noisy laughter of families (with young ones like mine) having a good time and enjoying wonderfully prepared food.

While we didn't bring our dog, we did see other families with dogs at the hotel - and it was nice to know that they are dog friendly. Next time, our four-legged "first child" will definitely come along.

The only major disappointment was the fact that the Ritz did not offer a buffet-style breakfast for its guests. In past years, we rented at the Hyatt Residence Club down at the Village, and one of the best amenities they offered was a full-spread complimentary breakfast. It took the stress out of the daily need to decide what/how to feed a family without having to worry about getting a table, waiting for food, and paying the bill.

Aside from that and a few minor nits about the size of the in-room refrigerator for storing special juices and the complications of operating a non-integrated DVD-player, we loved our stay and wished we had more time here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJWilliamsDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
207 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the worst Ritz I have ever stayed at. Spend one night there, in a suite. The room was horrible. From the missing covers on the walls for the light switches and outlets. To the bed in the master bedroom that was broken. And if you layed on the right side of the bed, you actually rolled completely out of the bed. Impossible for two people to sleep in the one bed. And then when I asked for a roll away bed, they actually wanted to charge me $100!! After I already paid the rate for a suite! Needless to stay, they didn't do anything to help make the stay enjoyable. Horrible for a Ritz Carlton. Thank god for the club room and complimentary happy hour cocktails!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldTraveler2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Cant say enough about the customer service at the ski rental and ski valet area. Great aspect and deserve to be tipped well. We loved the outdoor fireplace, indoor room fireplaces, and club level.

Eventually, had a room facing slope side after the first room offered was of the backside resort, no issues with changing that. Sad we weren't offered the first one to begin with given the prior contact with concierge, rewards members status, and frequency of stay with the Ritz but again no issues and very little time wasted changing.

We ate lunch at Manzanita and the food was good, the setting great. Other times we just enjoyed Club or went off property. Maybe it's because I'm from the South but the fried chicken wings from room service far exceeded my expectations.

The "magic refrigerator" in Club was always stocked with quality beverages and all our travel companions had to do was ask for Grey Goose and grapefruit, for well drinks. A bit expensive but for the location and the luxury that close to the slopes, harder and harder to find these days.

Spa service and amenities were great, too.

Room Tip: All rooms have fireplaces. We enjoyed slope side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreyMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

While its true this is not a budget-level place to stay, you do get outstanding service and comfort here. Yes, there is a resort fee but wifi is included as well as water, pool towel service etc. $35usd/day valet, and a ski valet by these are inline with other top notch ski resorts. Service from valet, ski valet, baggage,check in, dining, in room dining all were top notch. If the fees mentioned above bother, there are other resorts in the area you can stay. If you want impeccable service, convenience, location... This is the place. We had a 1 room suite which is perfectly set up for a family of 4- two beds, tvs and 2 bathrooms... One of the beds was a sofa bed but very comfy. Would get this type room again... This was our second stay and confirmed this place is expensive but delivers ...

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RMTCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have been going to Lake Tahoe for years. We have been skiing in Utah and Colorado many times as well. We have never had a better experience than staying at this hotel. We have stayed here three times, so this review reflects more than one stay. hotels are difficult to manage and resort hotels, even more complicated. i cannot imagine a more complex operation than a ski mountain hotel, but these folks have perfect execution. Friendly, helpful staff. Perfect location. True ski in, ski out location. Not only ski in/out, but how about 20 steps from elevator to ski valet area. Ski valet puts my wife's boots on and then another 20 steps to skis laid out and ready to snap on for a short downhill to an express lift. Really skiing ten minutes after leaving our room! No effort in getting started at all. We had 10 runs in before stopping for breakfast back at the hotel. I will leave a review of the Northstar Mountain to others, but Vail's ownership really shows and there is plenty to ski here for three days for beginner through advanced intermediate. A beautiful setting.
After a day skiing, the spa awaits and unlike most resorts, you do not have to have a treatment to enjoy a really fantastic , but separate by gender spa services. Hot tub , steam, sauna, 126 jet wave shower etc. Really nice. Rooms are all good and well furnished. You get a mountain or Martis Valley view. We like the more expansive valley view, but personal preference dictates. Lobby areas are mountain dramatic. Hotel has been open probably four years and not showing any age. Manzanita is a good restaurant. It does have a limited menu and is expensive as others have noted. While family friendly,this is an adult hotel. You are located at mid-mountain and getting to the village located down the mountain a bit to skate or alternative and less expensive restaurants is via a slow, but short Ritz gondola or shuttle. We always rented condos with the kids and schepped all the gear to the slopes.Tired before we started skiing. Now we enjoy the luxury and pampering of places such as this. The staff truly are friendly and act like they really enjoy working at the best hotel in Tahoe.
Expensive. Yes , there are many places in Tahoe to stay where you can spend less, but if you want a luxury , no hassle experience consider the Ritz. Do shop the hotel website for prices. many include a $75 credit for breakfast- yes, you can spend that much at Manzanita. Also, resort fee $25, includes spa access, wifi, internet outdoor pools and spas. Parking at $35 is indoor, Close in, outside parking at Northstar Village costs $25 and you still have a long walk to get to the gondola. Luxury well executed.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. Mountain or Martis Valley views. Almost all have fireplaces (gas).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler234280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
23.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing