We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service! Service! Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Service! Service! Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Although we didn't stay in the hotel, (we stayed in a residence on their property) we used many of the amenities of the hotel and were "wow'd" with their service. Spring skiing trip: Cafe restaurant was great for breakfast and lunch. Walk up service and waiters brought you your order wherever you decided to sit (inside in the living room setting, or outside on the deck with a beautiful ski view.) Some of us rented skis from the Ritz and some of us had our own skis. The attendant took ALL of our skis and layed them out on the snow for us ready and waiting for us to pop into them when we were ready to hit the slopes. After skiing, the attendant literally swooped up my ski equipment and asked where I was headed. "to the valet", I answered. After having an apres ski cocktail and snack by the fire, my skis were at the valet waiting for me! You can't beat that!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    122
    55
    27
    14
See reviews for
208
253
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have just spent a couple of nights at this hotel and was very impressed. The service was truly fantastic - from the car valet guys, the ski valet guys, front desk, the serving staff...everyone! Amazingly comfy bed - and the best bath I've ever had! So deep....!

Our room was very well appointed and of a 5* standard. The hotel is truly ski-in ski-out and is connected to the village by a gondola. I guess that would be my only criticism - the food options at the hotel weren't extensive and there is no shop on site and it is a bit of a pain to have to take the (very slow!) gondola down to the village for meals or to stock up on chocolate supplies!! However - that's just a slight niggle and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Frugals, misers, penny-pinchers, value-shoppers, bargain-hunters, coupon clippers and budget minded people would find only misery here. But if you're willing to leave that all behind for just this once, this is the place to do it. And it will feel well worth it. The price to worth ratio is exceptional.

Yesterday we just came home from our second trip to the Ritz Tahoe. I like to think of it as a reality check just in case the first trip was infatuation.

The highlight of our first trip (almost a year ago to the day) was the last day Northstar was open. My 9 year old son and my sister's friend were the last snowboarders on the hill. The Ritz was officially closed an hour ago and we had already checked out of our room. My son fell and busted his lip open on the way down, my husband misplaced his helmet in a men's room, my sister was showering somewhere and not answering her phone, the hotel was nearly empty and felt like "The Shining". The hotel staff was in top form, Ski Concierge sent a ski patrol to pick up my son on the hill, hotel medics took care of his lip tenderly, someone found hubby's helmet, someone else checked all the restrooms and found my sister, someone got me a glass of water.

We had a crazy-rocking amazing room right over the driveway.

This trip. Great room although not crazy-rocking amazing. Still bliss. Highlights were ordering the s'mores kit from the bar in the Living Room and roasting marshmallows in a fire pit, laying in bed and reading, massage in the spa, french fries with spicy mayo dipping sauce, kids mac n cheese and the meatballs for lunch, fireplace in our room, melting snowballs in the hot tub, valet parking guys are the nicest EVER, waiters and waitresses are so very kind, PlayStation Arcade, buying jeans in the Bloom Boutique, Ski Concierge is awesome.

We tipped our way through the hotel not because we are wealthy. We are not. We tipped out of gratitude. The people who work at the Ritz are normal working people just like us, helping us have a good vacation. When they smile at you it was with genuine niceness. Not simpering servitude.

By the way, I hate the cold, wet and snow. We save up to come here for 4 days. They do not disappoint.

The one improvement I would recommend to management is have rooms where dogs have not stayed for people with dander allergies. (And please don't make people who have allergies suffer even more so by giving them the less desirable rooms.)

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Pick the price range you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Member54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Fabulous Service, superb location, great Restaurant, and Pet friendly.
Probably the most Pet friendly property I have ever stayed at.
I am not sure if USD ca. 700 a night in the winter is worthwhile, especially noting that you have to pay EXTRA - Resort fee, parking and if you bring a PET pet fee. The Pet fee is for the stay and hence actually reasonable, the Resort fee and Parking though per night.
The money aside arriving at that mystical location smack mid mountain was amazing. You drive along and have it constantly in view. The environment friendly approach is very much appreciated. Do let them or your travel agent know what your preferences are. They will make it happen.
Having somebody tie your ski boots and having the skis ready to go is a super splurge, and while you think you do not need it, you not only get used to it, it gets to you too. :)
I would highly recommend trying the restaurant. Manzanita is worth every penny.
The summer rates are 1/2 of the winter rates. Do try it out. Call your travel agent today to get you the extra cherry on top of the whipped cream set.
The cleanliness could be much better in the public areas.

Room Tip: Any room is great. There is not really a quieter or better view side. It is personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dandu2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

This place might be a good idea if you get a good rate. At $700/night it is just not worth it. Its a nice hotel on the slopes with a decent pool and hot tub. The club lounge is below average compared with other Ritz Properties, dont expect eggs or bacon for breakfast. The service was nothing special - we had to go inside to order drinks at the end of the day, the staff wouldnt take our order at the firepit. In comparison, Marriott Grand Residence is 1/4 the price, our room is double the size with brand new furtniture and 2 fireplaces. Of course its not as fancy, but its $500/night less so this is where I stay from now on.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
336 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

Nothing but 5 star service and convenience to the slopes. Well appointed rooms and a great pool n spa area. Worth the price to stay here. Upgrade to club level as food is wonderful with ample variety and a good deal if you have a family. Ski in ski out has a new meaning here as you are staying at mid station and they bring you your skis n boots. We stayed at squaw for a few days first on our vacation than decided last minute to stay at the ritz. From the rooms to the service, it made a great end to the trip. We will return. If you eat in the lobby bar, order tha manzanita cheese plate. It was outstanding.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank suzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

There are many wonderful things about this hotel. The best thing about this property is that it's connected to Northstar. Not being a snow bunny but being wife and mom to skier and snowboarders, there is no better place to have to hang around and wait for your loved ones to come off the mountain.

After getting everyone off to the snow, I spent most of my day in the spa. A one-hour massage and then lounging around in the steam room, sauna, whirlpool and the 22-jet shower, I could've spent days at that spa but I had to meet everyone for dinner.

The Manzanita Restaurant is highly recommended. We loved our dinner there (see review).

Since the weather was fabulous, I put on my flip flops and hung out by the fire outside, soaking up some sun and watching the skiers/boarders. Food and drinks are available if you wish. I considered going for a swim in the heated pool or soaking in the hot tub but was too lazy to move from my spot near the fire ring (where we roasted marshmallows at night).

If you get bored and want to get closer to the action or meet your family for a snack at Northstar, a snowmobile will take you there and back.

The mountain concierge is awesome - they set you up with your rentals and help you out of your equipment and check in your stuff when you are done.

The vibe at the hotel is super relaxed. You'll see lots of people roaming around in the lobby in robes and slippers, either coming from the spa or pool area. Lots of families and kids running around. It's a blast. Our kids loved the "PS3 Room" (arcade).

Service here is exactly what you expect at a Ritz/luxury resort. Very accommodating. You don't have to worry about a thing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank triptakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
23.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing