We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Resort in Tahoe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Resort in Tahoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have stayed at this property numerous times with our German Shepard, Gabe. The entire staff, from the front door to Manzanita to houskeeping to management is the BEST in California. We highly recommend this property, not just during the winter or summer, but year 'round.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g2tahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    128
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
218
287
23
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Great setting in the mountains with the ability to ski from the hotel at Northstar. Staff service was excellent especially club floor level. Pool and hot tubs were perfect warm temps as you watched skiing around you. Loved the gym as well.
Overall, family had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel management must read its reviews! Housekeeping has stepped it up a notch - rooms were promptly cleaned and stocked, turn down was during dinner. Staff is still stellar. WiFi worked well. Restaurant choices could improve; but found something to make us happy at every meal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWUGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlingame, california
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Ritz Carlton Northstar does not disappoint! The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the Manzanita Restaurant was delicious and the outdoor patio and fire pit provided for great people watching! We stayed for 5 days over New Years and although the mountain had little snow, it was obvious that the Ritz Carlton was the perfect home base for all activities. All 3 of my teens rented their equipment and took private ski lessons. The ski staff at the hotel could not have been more accommodating. They took care of EVERY whim and my boys are all comfortable, knowledgeable skiers, now. The hotel is warm, the service is impeccable and the food is delicious. The bison nachos on the patio were to die for! There is a gondola that whisks you down to the village which was bustling with shops, people and more restaurants. We were always grateful, however, to hop on the gondola and return to the serene and sophisticated Ritz. Yes we brought our dog - EVERYONE LOVED her, yes, we stayed on the Club Floor (great lounge staff), yes I used the Spa (very good but not amazing) and yes, the trip was a fortune. We will definitely stay again....

Room Tip: The rooms facing Martis Valley are arguably the best views, but I loved facing the mountain and watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelswithboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I was visiting friends in Tahoe and we came her for lunch. The experience overall was fantastic as once we entered the front door, the staff was amazing, friendly and acted happy to see us.
We had lunch at Mazanti (spelling?) which the service was excellent and very friendly. The wine list was right on, however, the menu selection was small. I ordered the burger medium and it was brought out more on the rare side. They were apologetic and fixed the order to our satisfaction. The brought out extra french fries which were delicious. Because of the staff, I overlooked the fact that my burger was undercooked. I would definately dine there again.

A hidden secret that I will definately partake in next time is that the lounge area, called the living room, has an exceptional menu with bison and turkey burgers. Much healthier options than the dining room. They have other items not on the restaurant menu including fun cocktails. Be sure to check this out!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmbunl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel is priced to seriously deplete your wealth but does not provide what you would expect. While clean with a good staff we still had to send down for shampoo as housekeeping forgot to restock it. They also were reluctant to empty our waste baskets-why I don't know. The biggest fault for us was the food. While Chef Traci has a James Beard award her kitchen must not. The menu has odd untastefull and pretty much unhealthful dishes. One of us became ill after eating there. Of the other places to eat one was almost always closed and the other served $28.00 hamburgers and $14.00 bottled beer and mostly fried bar food. Really Chef Ramsey needs to visit them and change their menu-or Chef Traci had better do it. I ate elsewhere at great trouble.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rawsco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed at the Ritz Tahoe the first week of January with our two pre-teen kids. We loved the area, the property, the staff, and the access to Northstar mid-mountain ski schools and activities. Three of us were first time skiers. Things were pretty slow because of warm weather/little natural snow and just past the x-mas crowd, so not sure how things would be at busiest times. Here's what we learned...
First, we upgraded to the club level and recommend this. While the food presentations were not extensive, it was sufficient to keep our tummies full, and the food was very high quality and the staff a pleasure. Compared to the high prices for food and drink on the property and limited food options at northstar Village, we found this well worth it. We ate breakfast, dinner, and evening dessert in the club lounge nearly every day.
Second, if you're renting your equipment at the mountain, do it the day before you ski, as the set-up process at the hotel was very time consuming. While Northstar ski resort owners have a shop right at the hotel, they are not 100% coordinated with the Ritz. Push them to outfit you with equipment at the hotel. If you don't push, they will send you down the mountain to northstar village to get your equipment, which is a hassle. If you push for what you want, the staff is accommodating and helpful. The on-site equipment storage and helpful with ski-out at beginning of day was great. If you don't ski well or are feeling lazy, ask them for the "sherpa" large snowmobile that will take you from hotel to mid-mountain where the schools are lifts are located.
Third - the Burton snowboard academy was fantastic way for our kids to learn to snowboard. They loved the instructors and were doing great after two days. It's expensive, both worth it to get the kids started in a great way.
Fourth - we learned what experienced skiers already know - if you ski a lot, come stay at this hotel - but bring your own equipment, and if you come to Northstar/Heavenly more than a few times in a year, buy a season pass by the autumn before the year you come. The hotel has great ski lift/instruction/equipment packages and help - but it's very expensive way to go.
Fifth - Northstar Village was nice, but didn't live up to the marketing hype. There is a very convenient gondola from hotel to village. Only a couple of decent dining options at the Village. Skating rink for those who like that. Otherwise some junk food and over-priced shopping. We did like the Japanese place a lot - extensive menu and fun atmosphere.

Room Tip: Club level if you can splurge. Higher floors would be better. Side facing down the mountain is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NCHKCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
24.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
7.6 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing