We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

After leaving another hotel on my birthday due to construction work above our room, my husband felt bad and booked the remainder of our trip at the Ritz. We felt like royalty the whole time we stayed. On my birthday, there was a tour of the kitchen that we went on. The hour long tour was very impressive. We met Chef Austin and informed him we had reservations that evening. Shortly after arriving, the Chef greeted us at our table and chatted for a bit. They made me a special dessert tray for my big birthday. The following night, we ate at the bar and from a distance the Chef spotted us and waved. He then he personally brought over our food and some staff mentioned that we were his special guests. I hated leaving and want to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cstillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    118
    54
    27
    14
See reviews for
202
246
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for a 1 night getaway in November. The resort wasn't very busy which was to our advantage. We got a great rate and upgraded to a suite when we got there. The room was huge and the view of Martis Valley gorgeous. The decor is sophisticated and the room layout well thought out. Dinner at Manzanita was great (short ribs-perfection) but with wine and dessert turned out to be more expensive than the room! You can take their shuttle down to the village to have a cheaper meal if you want. All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite - they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVRam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a hotel with gorgeous surroundings, vast public spaces and dining area in the living room as they call it, which is really in the lounge and public area and another very good restaurant for breakfast or if you prefer dinner. We were on a American Express Fine Resorts Package which included the breakfast and an upgraded room if available. IT WAS NOT AVAILABLE our first night and the cramped space we were in was not pleasant. It was like an obstacle course getting around and we requested to be moved and they obliged the next day with out incident. If you are not on the plan or at the least one that includes breakfast, you may be spending quite a bit of money for food. Good food, but expensive! The small suite they upgraded us to the second nights and subsequent nights was fine, spacious, but not exactly the quality of furnishings nor standards you would expect for the amount of money you are paying nor the type of property this is. We wanted to see the area. It was a first for us. Gorgeous, but because the Ritz is remote, they depend mostly in summer on conferences to get by. We were told in winter and ski season it is a busy, lively place with good vibes and we do not doubt this. Unfortunately, we felt the service staff at the front were mostly in training, although the head person intervened on our behalf and all was well. We travel alot and knew to get someone else, however, should you be on your own and having to depend on the whim and mercy of the front desk staff, you may be up to your neck in remorse about staying at this particular Ritz. The walking/hikking possibilities and touring features are just lovely and we are happy we went and all in all it was a fine time, but probably one could do better by staying somewhere else, if it is researched and you find a nice hotel. RTD

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtdFirenze_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The architecture is especially interesting; it mimics the towering trees. Go for the rooms that look out over the valley. The view is great. Each room has a fireplace with comfy chairs. The staff is also good. The saline pool is also wonderful. Lots of cozy areas to sit and chat with friends in the lobby, and the firepits are great.
Limited food options. Take the tram down to the ski plaza for more food, but even then, not enough options, and all too pricy.
Notice the floors as you go around the hotel. The hotel is built to feel like the forest, so it gets darker and darker as you descend the stairs, to the spa on the bottom floor. The floor in the spa looks like pine needles, and the light is subdued. As you go higher up, it is brighter and brighter. I appreciated this attention to detail by the architect. It makes it more interesting.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We are long time ritz Carlton fans, having loved them all over the world and even got married in one. Even then this one was very special. Firstly it is breathtakingly gorgeous, from the grounds to the lobby to the bar. The room was wonderful too, so was the service. I am usually a very picky traveller even for five star resorts but this one was just so lovely. The staff was very helpful with our kids as well.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Most of the other reviewers have covered the faults of this hotel and I didn't listen to them... Now I regret it.

-Not enough options for eating (only one restaurant and the "cafe" had very, very few options).
-Spotty service (forgot to collect our room service request for breakfast so waited and waited for no meal to come in the morning)
-Terrible shower (awful shower head and no hot water)
-Clogged toilet
-No in-room refrigerator (especially annoying because traveling with a toddler requires carrying lots of snacks and milk and with the insanely limited eating choices at the hotel it's just absurd that they don't provide a fridge in your room?!)
-An errant wake-up call on a Sunday morning that we hadn't requested.
-In general not very kid-friendly.
-Gondola wasn't running to Northstar

Room Tip: I'm not sure why they charge more for rooms on one side of the hotel versus the other, the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missivygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This hotel is beautifully fit into the surroundings. The lobby is designed like a wonderful living room with gorgous views and multiple fireplaces. Off to one side is a bar with a staff that will entertain you as well and mix whatever you desire. The pool opens at 6:00AM so it was wonderful to watch the sunrise while sitting in the hot tub. The room was specious with wonderful sheets and a comforter. Even though you are in a large resort the feeling is of a small lodge because of the ample space.

Weak points - the restaurant staff were not very attentive. The cost of food is high but the quality did not provide the expected value. The concierge could use some training and be willing to exert some minor effort to at least be interested in assisting. We asked to rent a car and were told to comeback tomorrorow to reserve it since they were closed. Other hotels would get the information and take care of reserving it.

The personal care products (shampoo etc) were poor quality. Each day housekeeping rearranged all our bathroom items which irritated my wife.

Overall a beautiful place that needs to get the staff trained or replaced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phantom_49601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
23.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northstar Lodge
Northstar Lodge
#5 of 14 in Truckee
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing