We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We came here with our newborn during the winter time and over the course of the late summer for a weekend away. The room was spectacular (gorgeous and massive) and the hotel was so helpful in making our stay more comfortable with a baby. The room was set up with a cute crib and other amenities for our son.
The location of the hotel is superb and the pool area is great. I also enjoyed great coffee in the morning in the seating area/lobby. Overall, it was a fantastic place for us as new parents. It made travel with a baby seem relatively painless (!) and the stay felt luxurious. There were so many lovely amenities and experiences at the hotel that the expense (relative to other hotels in the region) felt completely worth it for us.

Room Tip: Not sure, but our room was great and we didn't ask for anything in particular.
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 968 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

Valet parking was expensive, but the valets were great. Remembered our name and took great interest in our daily events. Room was cozy with nice fireplace. Would have preferred a mini fridge versus the stocked mini bar. Montbleau restaurant served out by the firepit and the tacos are great. Spa was awesome and so was the heated spa pool. Nice view of snow capped mountains while enjoying the spa pool. Gondola ride was nice way to get down to the Northstar resort area. Nice location which was much quieter than the other areas in South Tahoe. Be sure to tour the Thunderbird Lodge and the Hellman-Erhmann mansion while you are in town...you won't be disappointed. Safara Rose yacht ride was very nice with a very nice meal (shish kabobs) included.

Room Tip: Mountainview rooms have a cozy gas fireplace.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gtownfloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

A beautiful property with a nice staff, I don't give it a higher rating based on the overall value particularly for a Ritz-Carlton. Not a thing was wrong with our stay, however we didn't feel that it rose to the level of an amazing hotel for the price. The great amenities are the convenient ski valet, the lovely spa facilities, the fun game room (for kids) and the large and inviting main floor. The less inviting aspects of the hotel included the mandatory valet parking (with no other parking options available, the $35 daily fee is frustrating), the high price for any food and drinks at the hotel (no matter if you try at the restaurant, bar or the small market), and the remote location of the property (which is fine except that the gondola to the Village stops running before even midnight). The rooms are comfortable but are medium-sized and do not have any unique features or amenities that make them stand out.

Ski trips are never cheap and neither are Ritz-Carltons, but you book different places with certain expectations. We were at this location as a splurge. There were no big disappointments, but it fell short of our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IslaBonita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Lake Tahoe Ritz Carlton is Five Stars! The location, views from the room, dining, swimming pool, etc. are all excellent. I had a resort view, but the view was incredible and looked down into the valley and beyond. You don't want to leave the room. The bathtub is big and deep! Separate shower separate shower and double vanities. Storage is the most I have seen in a hotel room which would be useful during the ski season. The best part are the two leather chairs and ottoman facing the fireplace and flat panel TV. There is a very slender balcony and sliding glass doors. Wish there was a full balcony. Wood everywhere. Very relaxing atmosphore.

There are two pools. Pool service was great, fast, and friendly. I asked for something not on the pool menu and the waitress said no problem! Comfortable lounge chairs with cushions and extra large towels. Views from the pools are awesome.

The hotel design is beautiful. You can see a lot of planning and a lot of expense to build the hotel. The staff from the moment you drive up, to check in, to check our the best. They should be very proud of their staff. In room dining and the main restaruant are excellent.

Beware, food and beverage are expensive but with it comes high quality and great service. This is not a hotel for the budget minded. I will definitely return as much as I can.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikesanfrancisco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

From arrival to departure the experience was remarkable. The Ritz Carlton lives up to its reputation with the attentive service and quality of the property. Granted my partner and I's trip was right after the ski season had ended and not quite the start of summer. We felt as if all of the Ritz's attention was on us. If you just want to escape for a quiet time to relax and re-energize, this is probably the time to go.

A couple things that impressed us was the soft, comforting music that was playing as we entered our room (immaculately clean and the decor was cozy), and the ice already in the ice bucket. These are small things but that is what appears to set the Ritz above the rest. Details, details, details.

Other highlights of our stay was the amazing massages in the spa and the amazing views from our room. Even though the "Mountain View" was considered an upgrade, unless it's ski season or during the height of summer, I think the valley view would have been the true upgrade. The views looking out upon the valley are breathtaking. Fresh and peaceful are the words that come to mind.

The only negatives I would say this property has would be the limited amount of places to eat, the restroom not being close to or inside their restaurant (Manzanita), $35 a night charge for parking, and that there wasn't a sign indicating that the gondola was closed for the down season. Even though the gondola was not in operation, we were able to get a ride in the Ritz's Escalades down to the Village at NorthStar.

Overall, even though it wasn't as pricey as during the peak season, it was still pricey. For two nights, brunch at Manzanita, two 50 min. massages, and miscellaneous fees it cost us a little over $800. Having said that, you definitely get what you pay for if classy service and pristine accommodations is what you seek. The property has left a great impression on us and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apocolypsis775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The resort itself, both location and structure, get very high marks. Mid-mountain, it provides very easy access to skiing - especially with the ski valet. Skied in the morning and swam in one of 2 outdoor heated pools in the afternoon. While the resort is by itself, a 5 minute gondola ride gets you down to the village with more dinning and shopping options and more action. The staff is awesome! In the "living room" (an enormous open lobby with multiple sitting areas both by the fireplace and massive windows that provide amazing views of the mountain), we dined and had desert most nights. Dave and Dezi were exceptional! After 2 nights where my daughter requested Dr. Pepper (which they do not have), Dave anticipated her request and went to the Mountain Blue snack and coffee place to get her a can! The waitstaff at Manzanita were also top notch. What we really liked is that the staff asked how our day was and what we were planning to do the following day. When we came the following day for dinner or desert, they remembered what we said we were planning on doing and asked how it went! This attention to detail was repeated. We felt they took a genuine interest in what we were doing. Pricey yes but well worth the splurge! Would stay here again and would highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMTCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We spent two nights here for my husband's birthday. Because it was the end of the ski season, we got a good deal on the room rate plus lift tickets. We really weren't expecting much more than a typical fancy hotel but we were pleasantly surprised. The service was consistently over-the-top. Literally every employee of the hotel, restaurant and spa were friendly and accommodating. The spa was quite possibly the best I've been to. (I could get addicted to the steam room with the woodsy scent.) The restaurant, Manzanita was wonderful. The waitress was very friendly, down-to-earth and helpful with food and wine suggestions but gave us plenty of time and space to enjoy our birthday celebration.

The only drawback was that the elevation was more significant than we realized it would be. The air in the room was very dry, which made it difficult to sleep. If I ever go back, I would ask for a humidifier for the room to make it more comfortable.

I'm not sure that I would pay the regular room rate for this place (but that's just me and my frugal ways) but if I ever get another deal like we had last weekend, I'd go back in a heartbeat. I would also definitely go back just for the restaurant and/or the spa if staying in another place in the Truckee area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueTiger28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,633 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Truckee
#1 Business Hotel in Truckee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
#2 Family Hotel in Truckee
Price Range: $265 - $1,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing