We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Truckee
Post
Inbox
Search

“Burger Me, Truckee, CA”
Review of Burger Me

Burger Me
Ranked #3 of 8 Quick Bites in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Come experience the Real Fresh difference at Burger Me, where you get the finest, natural food and an extraordinary of choices including beef, chicken, ahi, vegetarian, lamb, pork and so much more! Be sure to check out the sweet potato fries and hand-dipped onion rings.And when in Reno, stop by our location at:Interstate 80 Exit #9, just a few miles west of downtown Reno6280 Sharlands Ave. #101, Reno, NV
Reviewed August 13, 2012

So after seeing Burger Me on Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives, and having Chef Guy Fieri rave about it, we took a drive up to Truckee yesterday to see some friends and give it a try.
I am sad to report we were disappointed. Although having been on DDD has helped business which has created long lines for ordering, the service was slow and the food was only so-so. The food had little flavor and was definitely not worth the wait. The fires were flavorless, the onion rings greasy and the sandwiches lacked much flavor. Nothing memorable.
It's a place where you stand in line to order, then if you are lucky, grab a table and wait for your name to be called to go pick up your food. The place is cramped, getting drinks from the self-serve bar was slow and crowded. There are not enough tables and the ones outside had little or no shade and it was extremely hot.
I will say the staff was friendly and although rushed, they were smiling. And yes, they did clean tables between guests. There were lots of families there and even a group from the Tahoe Fire crew on their way back to Tahoe from Quincy after spending 2 weeks helping on a wildfire. (God bless 'em!)
But, we will not be going back there again.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaisyS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 293 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Saw this place on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives so we had to go. It was ok but not memorable.

Date of visit: June 2012
Thank martinigirlmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Service must depend on what time you visit. Dine here when it's busy 11:30-1:00 on weekends and it's counter service. Dine here on weekdays during non rush hours and it's order at the counter but they'll cheerfully bring your orders to your tables. Burgers are tasty and offer choice of regular or whole wheat buns. Fries should be called strings and can be regular or sweet potato. Grilled onions are an option but they're stingy with them. It is small, half a dozen tables inside and four picnic tables outside. Bring a miner's helmet if you need to use the men's bathroom-----it's dark like a tunnel even with the light on!

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

So Guy's been here, big deal. The burger was overdone, the onion rings massively over battered, but what blew me away was the grime. It's self-serve from a counter. There is no one wiping tables between guests, so the filth just builds up. And everything is covered with a well-aged layer of grease. Toughen up your immune system, I guess.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CA_Bob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great burger joint: Organic meats, "protein style" options, conveniently located near I-80 and old town Truckee. Creative menu, too. Not just beef, but chicken burgers, veggie burgers, buffalo burgers, etc. They have side salads on the menu, and ours was fresh. Highly recommended. It's hard to find good food when you know your are dusty from the trails or damp from the rivers. Burger Me is great under those or any other circumstance. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Innerartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger Me also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Burger Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing