We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax in luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“relax in luxury”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Catamount is first class. We were impressed with how clean everything was from the room down to the foyer. The location in the village is great. You can just walk out your door to enjoy stores, restaurants , music and an outstanding view. Any staff members we engaged in were very courteous . We found everyone to be professional and friendly. I would recommend Northstar to arrange any type of vacation you are looking for, including a romantic getaway .

Room Tip: We loved the 3rd floor because of the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikingFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much "Hiking Fans" for sharing your review of the Catamount Lodge and Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging! It sounds like you all had a phenomenal visit. I bet you experienced the amazing hiking trails just outside your door as well as throughout the Lake Tahoe area. Our trails and views of the Sierra and Lake Tahoe rival if not exceed any spectacular vistas in the world (of course we may be a bit bias...). We hope you will be back next summer to visit again or even better, for a winter getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Catamount is a first class 5 star experience. The unit we had was beautiful with leather couches plasma TV. We had a small AC problem upon arrival and maintenance came at once and fixed it.
The front desk manned by Chris handled some special needs we had very profesionally and the concierge Kathryn gave us some great ideas for things to do that were off the beat and path.
Location in the center of the village is awesome. We are considering skiing here in the winter. Thanks for a great trip!

Room Tip: High floor will give you a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us at the Catamount Lodge this summer Fredlys! Chris and our guest services staff is always most concerned with exceeding our guest's expectations and will be happy to hear that we were able to accommodate all of your special needs. Please do come visit us this winter and thank you so much for taking the time to provide this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This place was awesome!!! The rooms were clean and large. There was so much to do at the resort - restaurants, shopping, swimming, hiking, make smores, ect. It was a short drive to Kings Beach at Lake Tahoe where we went Kayaking. We were there for a wedding and loved it so much we are going back in a month with our daughter, so we can jet ski, paddle board, and hike. I just wish they had a place like this near South Lake Tahoe because the gambling is so much better there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvlSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of the Catamount Lodge luv2trvlSanFrancisco! It sounds like you've discovered a new favorite getaway in the summertime! Our resort and the village does offer so much and to your point...the quick trip to the lake is so worth an easy little excursion! Yes...the casinos on the North Shore are a bit "funky" compared to their south shore counterparts but hopefully all of our other activities will keep you busy so you're not missing the gambling too much..We look forward to welcoming you back next month! See you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Whether we were going out to get fish tacos, sushi, a cup a joe at Starbucks, shop for my husband's new ski jacket, view "The Hunger Games" at the Village Cinema, or...oh yeah, ski...everything was like a minute's walk away! Literally. Our cool condo was positioned perfectly within the Northstar Village. We merely had to glance out from our terrace to see if there was a line at the Gondola (never was!). The ice skating rink..seconds away. We needed to add on a day to our lift ticket--stone's throw. I cannot highlight how fabulous the Catamount location is for a stay at Northstar. We are from Florida and only go skiing every couple of years. This experience with our two teenage sons was one of the best times we've had, and we have been to many of the best resorts in Colorado and Utah. As blue (and a tad of black) skiers, we enjoyed the beautiful tree-lined terrain of Northstar and felt quite challenged. One morning we skiied for two hours in the morning on fresh powder before we saw more than a handful of people. Now, this was during the week, and I am sure it gets a bit more crowded on the weekend. I'd also like to do a shout out to the folks at Black Tie, a rental service that comes right to you with no waiting in lines. Kathryn, our concierge at Tahoe Lodging recommended them, and they were wonderful! So easy. The people at both Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging and Northstar, in general, are some of the nicest most down to earth people, and we already plan to go back next year!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim34573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Fantastic Kim! It sounds like you and your family truly took advantage of all the incredible amenities and activities you had at your doorstep while staying with Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging in the Village at Northstar! We can't wait to welcome you all back next year! Thank you very much for taking the time to provide this review and we look forward to seeing you next winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Starting with the concierge who was responsive, helpful and did a great job with following through with my questions and requests prior to my arrival, I had a great experience with the resort right from the get-go.

The accommodations were superb! We stayed at a two bedroom at the lodge, and the interior ambience was fantastic. The furnishings were tastefully done, the apartment was well equipped and everything in the apartment seemed new. The Catamount is conveniently located to the rental and retail shops and restaurants. Everything was just a matter of steps away. You really don't have to leave the village as there's pretty much everything you need as far as retail shops and restaurants within the confines of the village.
For the price you're paying, it was definitely worth the splurge.

My only grouse really, was how overpriced things are in the village and the ski lodge cafeteria. A soda was $4, and a simple chicken caesar salad was $11 . If you want a treat and splurge, I would recommend this place hands down. I'd also say, bring your own groceries if you're driving up.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you so much MariaC for taking the time to review your visit with Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging at the Catamount Lodge in December! I am so glad that our concierge was able to assist you with your planning in advance and get you and your familes activities reserved so that once you arrived all you had to do was relax and play. Our owners take pride in their residences and as such we make sure that they look as much like new as possible after each and every guest's departure, unlike some of the other vacation lodging providers in the village, so thank you for noticing! Fantastic idea you had to stop and get groceries before arriving in the village...our gourmet kitchens provide the perfect setting for some fun family gastronomical adventures! I hope to see you all back soon and best wishes to you and your family for a fantastic 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was not our first choice, but it will always be now. The location to places to see, the hiking trails, the weather, the accommodations, the village, everything was wonderful. Also, the concierge was very helpful. I would definitely recommend staying at this resort.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TeriS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of the Catamount Lodge and for visiting us at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging this summer! You are right when you say the Catamount Lodge is a great location in the summer for Lake Tahoe activities. We hear that quite often. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The rooms at Catamount were great and the location was steps from the Gondola. This location can't be beat for skiing Northstar. The village was a little subdued this late in the season (they had extended their season until April 24 and I believe many in the area had had their fill of skiing already). However, the shopping options were very good and the dining options, while limited, were also very good.

The Pool and Hottubs were excellent (we used the hot tub at Catamount as well as the Hyatt).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
0.1 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
7.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
618 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
0.7 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging

Property: Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
Address: 4001 Northstar Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-4250
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catamount Lodge, located just steps from the Northstar at Tahoe® gondola, in the Village at Northstar, consists of well appointed, luxury, residences. Suite, studio, one, two, three bedroom and three bedroom villa accommodations provide luxury vacation rental experiences for the most discerning traveler. A residential fitness facility with state of the art exercise equipment, steam rooms, locker rooms and outdoor hot tubs are all features of the Catamount Lodge. A wonderful location for families looking for an incredible vacation experience, winter or summer, while still enjoying all the conveniences of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Catamount Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing