We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catamount was accesible to everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
Ijamsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Catamount was accesible to everything.”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Catamount was beautiful, right in the center of everthing at Northstar and convenient for skiing. Ski lockers off main lobby made things easy. Staff is friendly. Rooms are beautifully decorated and provide all that is needed. Loved it

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Beautiful new village at Northstar! Great location. Parking included! My husband and I stayed in small studio with fireplace but room was great size. Huge bathroom. Small kitchen area is perfect to make early breakfast/coffee. Bed was huge and comfortable with beautiful bedding. There was no dresser so no drawer space. Plenty of closet space. Ski lockers are great ($100 charge is misplace ski locker key so hold onto it and return it yourself when checking out). Walk right out the door to stores, skiing, restaurants. Village sushi restaurant is fantastic! Go to Ritz for drinks at the bar one evening.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECKValleyForge_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2011

This was the second half of short getaway (San Fran/Tahoe) and we wanted to see snow and experience some winter activities. We booked the Catamount Lodge 1 king bed suite that is advertised for the economically-minded couple. The room was small yes, but clean and modern with warm furnishings and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was much bigger than expected. I was pleased with the price we paid and the accomodations we received. This is a very busy ski resort. We do not ski or snow board but did snow shoe and go tubing. We rode the gondolas and snow mobiled to the Ritz Carlton. Restaurants and markets are somewhat pricey but this is a "resort" and you pay for the comfort of having these things right there for you. The portions at Rubicon Pizza were big and delicious and the triple fudge brownie from the market was huge. We had drinks at the Chocolate Bar. My husband used the steam room and hot tubs and was happy with both. Everything closes down pretty early and were back in the room by 10pm most nights but after an active day outside it was needed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyndihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Loved everything but the bed frame and pillows. Bed is too tall, but worse the wooden frame has sharp corners and I nailed my thigh - leaving huge, deep, very sore bruises. Ouch! Cheap pillows for such a nice place. Walls are thin as paper and I could actually hear conversations in the room next to mine.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Arrived at about 1:30 am on Labor Day weekend because I couldn't stomach the labor day traffic. Late arrival was accomodated by the folks at the Hyatt office at the village, and they were quick and remarkably nice at that hour with my check in.

Stayed in room 103 at Catamount Lodge in the village. The room was immaculate and extremely well appointed compared with other North Tahoe accomodations I've stayed in over the years. Having stayed in village condos at other resorts, I half expected the place to be kinda noisy, not so. The Village at Northstar was pleasant and noise was never a problem.

The reservation system online took five minutes, and I was pleasantly surprised at. How nice the room was. A really pleasant place to stay. The Lift was literally 20 steps away, and my bike and I were up the hill in minutes.

I'm kinda picky. I've spent plenty of time in the Truckee/Squaw/North Lake area over the years and this was, without a doubt, the nicest place I've stayed. I will be coming back.....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCantrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Excellent location, great ski school for kids, VERY child friendly. We can't wait to go back next year!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgiles1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We had a wonderful experience staying in the Catamount Lodge at Northstar. We rented a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo which was very, very comfortable, clean and exceeded our expectations. Every room was very tastefully decorated and the amenities were great. The kitchen was very well organized and stocked. We had a very comfortable ski locker assigned to us and a very convenient underground parking. The location is perfect. Our two teenage boys were able to be completely independent and we were at a two minute walk to the gondola. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. We also had a fitness center, jacuzzi and sauna right under our building. The Village at Norhstar has really been developed into a beautiful resort. Restaurants, coffee shops, shopping, ski rentals and convenience stores are all right there. In the past we have always stayed in one of the Northstar rental single family homes and this was our first experience staying right in the Village. Because of the convenience of the condos and their high quality next time we would rather go back there than rent a home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alepds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
0.7 mi away
Constellation Residences at Northstar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
24.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
8.3 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging

Property: Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging
Address: 4001 Northstar Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-4250
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catamount Lodge, located just steps from the Northstar at Tahoe® gondola, in the Village at Northstar, consists of well appointed, luxury, residences. Suite, studio, one, two, three bedroom and three bedroom villa accommodations provide luxury vacation rental experiences for the most discerning traveler. A residential fitness facility with state of the art exercise equipment, steam rooms, locker rooms and outdoor hot tubs are all features of the Catamount Lodge. A wonderful location for families looking for an incredible vacation experience, winter or summer, while still enjoying all the conveniences of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Catamount Lodge - Tahoe Mountain Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Catamount Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing